We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid
Ranked #10 of 371 Hotels in Mecca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2012

This hotel enjoys excellent location. You can be in the holly harm within 3 minutes. The amenities of the rooms are very nice and the upkeep of the rooms is very good. Within in walking distance you have several fastbfoodcresurants and groceries. You don't have to be worried about transporation every tuning is near by. The bottom line this hotel serve the purpose with style.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Toney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2012

Mecca is a chaotic and confusing city as far as the road layout goes so you are better off splurging about $285 for a room here if you are in Mecca for Umrah. We stayed here and were treated very nicely, full breakfast included.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AhmadMasood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Wow, rooms very nice
excellant location
views brilliant

Room Tip: very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hajee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

It is the best hotel in Makkah .. just 5 mins from haram and superb services ...the checkin was fast lets say it took 5 to 10 mins and rooms were spacious and food was very good and there are no negatives with it ... a perfect stay with the family in an excellent hotel ..

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank xADDICTIONx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Before talking about this beautiful hotel, I want to note a point that, some of the reviewers visit Makkah during Hajj and Ramadan and they are very selfish that they expect to be treated extraordinarily unique like a fragile sheet of glass and expect hotels to shine from cleanliness and expect high standard food to be available at anytime; not keeping in mind that there are around 3m ++ worshipers at one time in a small city and it is practically impossible to control the known standards.

Back to Dar Al Tawhid, the word "Tawhid" it self has a beautiful and blessed meaning, it means the belief in the existence of one God only, Allah All Mighty.

With the beauty of its meaning, this hotel is a truly five star luxury hotel in all its aspects, not like the other so called five stars in the same area which are really fake and not up to standards.

Once you enter this hotel, the first thing you will notice is the warm welcoming smiles, beautiful floral smell and lavish luxurious decorations in gold and blue.

My booking was done through intercontinental.com so my check in was done in less than 5 minutes, very professionally and very efficiently with a bright smile.

I was guided to my room (530) which was over looking the city, as Haram view was not available in the website while booking. The room design was luxurious victorian with beige theme and gypsum with antique effect all over the walls, big, very clean, superb bed, very cosy & comfortable with all the amenities you expect.

The room was equipped with:

- Bell and intercom.
- 32" TV with interactive hotel system which allows you to do certain things. (32" TV was very small for the room's size, it should be at least 40")
- Superb air conditioning.
- Mini fridge with snacks. (overpriced)
- Complimentary tea and coffee making facility all over the stay.
- Complimentary newspaper all over the stay.
- IP telephone set.
- Control panel next to the bed which allows you to operate lights, a/c, curtains, TV, door, etc while sitting in one place, it also had a digital clock with alarm and world time.
- Numerous electrical sockets.
- Live Azan from the Haram through a speaker with adjustable volume.
- Dressing room with a big closet, safe box, scale, mirror, laundry service, iron & board, two extra pillows, blanket instead of the duvet already placed on the bed.
- Big bathroom nicely decorated with beige and blue marble which has a bath tub, walk in shower, w/c, bidet, hand shower, luxurious toiletries placed next to the sink, slippers, abundant towels and two bathrobes.

etc. as there is a lot to mention about this masterpiece hotel.

The over all service (room service, concierge,etc.) was excellent, outstanding and very efficient. The room was seriously cleaned everyday, and it was done quiet fast! This thing is really not common in other hotels in Makkah!

The only disappointment was the hot breakfast buffet, with limited and odd choices i.e minced meat with rice, mashed starch (so called potato) ?! etc. while the pastries were excellent, with delicious and buttery taste.

I wish the management could review the quality and taste of the food served to make the experience perfect.

The staff have good attitude, smiling, helping and welcoming except for some locals which showed some rudeness, but this is somewhat normal in most of Makkah's society and not all.

My overall experience was wonderful, and for sure, this hotel will be my choice in the future Inshallah.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank alkooheji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I absolutely love this hotel. It was a perfect hotel for single female traveler who preferred safety, comfort and convenience. The hotel entrance was only only few steps away from the King Fahd gate.

Abundant #s of food vendors and stores within steps away from the hotel's entrances at anytime of the day (except during the prayer times) were a total convenience to grab food, drinks and a bit of shopping in between prayers.

The hotel staff, from the reception, concierge, housekeeping, room services, operators, securities, waiters, bell boys, et al., were excellent. They speak multi languages including English and were always very helpful in providing services or helping answering questions at anytime of the day (trust me, I called after midnight few times for information or simply requested for a wake up call in an hour or so). It was extremely important for me who doesn't speak Arabic or Urdhu.

Room services were excellent for the price and they were delivered within 25 mins.

The room was immaculately cleaned on a daily basis.

Easy access to the room via multiple elevators. The hotel lobby and foyer were gorgeous, clean and slightly ostentious (but not cheap / tacky looking).

My room (1520) had an amazing view to the Masjidil Haram (checkout the pictures). I would wake up to the adzan that I can hear in the room to allow me to wake up (@ Fajr) to clean up to go to the mosque. The room was extremely quiet and away from the noise of the constructions outside the hotel.

I am looking forward to go and stay in the same room again next time. It was worth every penny.

Pros: amazing view, staff, housekeeping, room service, cleanliness, easy access, safe, cafe food.
Slight cons: breakfast buffet (supposed to be warm / hot) meals were cold. Ended up getting boiled eggs and juices instead or opted to get meals at the Cafe for lunch / dinner.

Room Tip: Book high floor room facing Kaaba (not just Haram view). View from room 1520 was totally awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelnuts88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Absolutely the best hotel in Haram in Mecca. Clean and large rooms with a fantastic staff to maintain them. You can walk to the Kabah without your shoes! The elevator system is very convenient and because the hotel is isolated (not above a shopping mall) the elevators are only for hotel guests.
The bathroom is spacious with the best amenities. The bed very relaxing. A pleasure to return to after a tiring day out in the heat.
The check-in and check-out was fast. Excellent front desk staff - very professional.
Don't think twice - this is it!

Room Tip: All rooms are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SQgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mecca hotels
0.2 mi away
Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel
0.2 mi away
Raffles Makkah Palace
Raffles Makkah Palace
#5 of 371 in Mecca
757 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Suites Makkah
Hilton Suites Makkah
#2 of 371 in Mecca
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pullman ZamZam Makkah
0.2 mi away
Hilton Makkah Convention Hotel
0.1 mi away
Conrad Makkah
Conrad Makkah
#1 of 371 in Mecca
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid

Address: Ibrahim Al Khalil Road | P.O. Box 2728, Makkah, Mecca 21955, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Region: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
#26 Best Value Hotel in Mecca
Price Range: £176 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid 5*
Number of rooms: 615
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid Makkah is located in front of the Holy Haram, giving most guests uninterrupted views of the city s religious centre. A number of holy shrines including the Jannat Al Moaalah Graveyard are a short walk or taxi ride away, as are the Touwah Well and the Central Business District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Dar Al Tawhid Hotel Mecca
Intercontinental Hotel Mecca
Dar Al Tawhid Intercontinental
InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid Makkah/Mecca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing