We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“maybe the worst Mercure hotel in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Manazel Al Ain Mercure
Ranked #154 of 344 Hotels in Mecca
Al Ahsa, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“maybe the worst Mercure hotel in the world”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

The location is not good. It is located on a high hill. If you drive a car, it is not easy to get to main entrance. If you walk, you must be in good health or you blood pressure will be high and you might get heart attack.
It is located in Al Azizia district. So if you want to get to the Holy Mosque, you must do two things. First, you must get in the bus of the hotel. Second, the bus will drive you to SAPTCO bus station to get in another bus and it will drive you to the mosque. It is annoying and disgusting.
The room was good and clean. I had a problem in the toilet. It did not flush and the water came out from its chair. When I had a shower, the water took some time to run because of some dirt in sewage.
The only best thing in the hotel is the food.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bmulhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    0
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
5
1
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

We went for Umrah during Ramadan. Unfortunately, the hotel is not what is described on the website. It is for sure not 5 stars as claimed. Neither the furniture, the style of the rooms, the facilities, breakfast, nor the service is 5 stars.
1.The hotel is on a steep hill, it is not easy access. It is not known to Taxi drivers. It is not easy access to and from the hotel; it is not on the main street of Azeeziya.
2.Swimming Pool: nice swimming pool but not large.
3.Breakfast (Sahoor or Fatoor) is ok – but not 5 stars hotel level.
4.If you book a room with breakfast then it is Sahoor not Fatoor. To use Fatoor you have to pay extra 25 Riyal per person.
5.Bus Transfer to Harem is free but it is not direct trip in Ramadan. The hotel bus reaches up to the public transport station then public bus must be taken for Haram. The public buses are crowded and may be not suitable for ladies to be squeezed in crowds. The hotel provides the public bus ticket (2 Riyal).
6.The hotel seems not respecting the non-smoking policy for some of rooms. The smoking rooms are very bad strong smoking smell that sticks to the clothes for long time. Imagine you go to Haram with smoking smell coming from your clothes. I had been given smoking room. I had to talk to the Manager to be able to change the room to non-smoking one.
7.In the first room I Stayed the shower floor is not properly leveled, the water does not completely drained.
8.The Wi-Fi is free in the reception areas in the first and second floors.
9.The hotel Do NOT has Taxi service. You must arrange your Taxi for the airport. You must go down the hill (7-10 min walk) to the main street of Azeeziyah to take taxi. There is a small grocery shop down hill near the main street of Azeeziyah.
10.The electricity went out several times during the stay. Some periods of no electricity lasts for more than 2 hours.
11.The reception although are polite but not professional. The check-in was very slow and waste to much unnecessary time.
12.When I want to change the room to non smoking about 11 am in the morning, I asked for the manager – I have been given FALSE answer that: “The manager has a meeting in Riyad”. When I talked with the manager in the afternoon he indicated that he was not in Riyad and he will take an action towards the false information.

Unless you do not have another option, why do waste time effort and money with this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PANAM-Air
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mecca hotels

Kuwait
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

It is definitely not a 5* venue. Not even 4*. We had chosen this hotel because it was the cheapest 5* hotel in alaziziah. But we were very shocked and disappointed on the hotel in general. Rooms are very small and lacks day light as windows are shaded. Staff were helpful but confusing sometimes. I am trying to remember anything positive but really having hard time to find any. Hotel fatoor boufet was good though. I would never go back again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmad_KUW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level Contributor
83 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

This hotel is good if you want to visit friends or if you are going to Makkah for business, but I don’t recommend it if you are going for Umrah.
The hotel is clean and nice.
The only disadvantage is the location. It’s located in Azizia, which is too far from Haram, if you need to go to Haram, you have to take their shuttle.
The shuttle is too bad, because it’s not 24 hours (which they said), and you can’t find it any time when you want to go back to hotel. So probably you will need to take a taxi every time.
And even though, most of the taxis don’t know the hotel, because it’s in the back of the main azizia street, usually I call the hotel from the taxi and let the hotel operator talk to the taxi driver.

Simply, I wouldn’t recommend it, only because the location.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khalid606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2008

Rooms are not spacious.
bathrooms are small, Website says wireless connection available, but it was not available. Hotel staff donot answer clearly. Front Office Hotel staff needs thorough training. Though it was 4.5 kms away from Haram, Hotel busses were available every half hour.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fasi100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mecca hotels
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Mobark Al-Khalil
#112 of 344 in Mecca
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barakat Burhan Hotel
Barakat Burhan Hotel
#81 of 344 in Mecca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Makkah Grand Coral
Makkah Grand Coral
#95 of 344 in Mecca
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Badr Hotel
#127 of 344 in Mecca
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Al Thuria Hotel
Al Thuria Hotel
#86 of 344 in Mecca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bakkah ARAC Hotel
Bakkah ARAC Hotel
#59 of 344 in Mecca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manazel Al Ain Mercure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manazel Al Ain Mercure

Property: Manazel Al Ain Mercure
Address: Makkah Rd | Al Azizia, Mecca 21955, Saudi Arabia
Region: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Manazel Al Ain Mercure 4*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The leading leisure hotel in Makkah is ideally located in the premier residential and commercial district of Al Azizia, only 4.5 km from the Holy Mosque. This is the first 5 star hotel in Azizia and features a swimming pool, ballroom and sports and entrtainment facilities. All rooms are fully airconditioned and offer direct dial phones, LCD TV with satellite channels, wireless internet service, mini fridge and private safe. Enjoy all the comfort and service of a genuine 5 star hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Manazel Al Ain Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manazel Al Ain Mercure Hotel Mecca
Manazel Al Ain Mercure Makkah/Mecca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing