We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh Dear”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Tulip Inn Riyadh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tulip Inn Riyadh
Ranked #90 of 209 Hotels in Riyadh
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Oh Dear”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Arrived for the first time in Riyadh for a one night business trip.
This place was prebooked by our travel agent and that's the last time that's happening!

Taxi driver could not find the hotel (45 mins. from the airport) and it is in a slum area stuck on the first floor of a electronic components market.

Reception was unmanned and they did not have reservation. I had to e-mail it from my own PC to the manager!

The room A/C only works when you insert the key card so everything (including fridge contents) was at 40 Deg for the first hour.

Not tried the food yet as it's Ramadan. I would prefer to go outside for some food but I'm not going out there after dark!

Never again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vince567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    6
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
1
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Where to start? This hotel is not just like a step back in time but is not anything close to a 3 star experience. I can live with average and tired decor and restoration work but the worst things about this hotel are a) the room was not made up in 3 days and 3 nights despite requests b) the water was not replaced at all, i had to purchase extra from outside c) the room card did not work every evening so involved a walk all the way back to reception to have it reset! and d) The chinese restaurant served dry and tasteless food e) our Saudi colleagues told us not to walk around outside as it was a dangerous area f) despite pre paying through hotels.com they claimed to no nothing of this and tried to charge again g) they tried to charge for items from the mini bar which i did not touch h) the nicest looking restaurant

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alan6411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Riyadh hotels

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
155 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

What a difficult hotel to have stayed in - it is old and the rooms are very dated, it needs urgent restoration and nothing really works (not the first time anyway!).

My room is relatively modest in size, but everything in it is old and have been over-used. Old, king-size bed mattress on a queen-sized base, not a single spare electrical plug to use, some plug points are burnt-out and not working, old bathroom, water pressure erratic (dumping cold/hot water on you when showering), dirty chairs, very old style TV with poor reception quality, choppy internet, health centre equipment don't all work correctly, poor business centre, etc., etc.

The Hotel's slogan "International standards, local flavour" is almost an insult - I am just not sure to whom!

Positive things to mention are the central location of the hotel on Olaya street and the restaurant's food, which I found reasonable.

For a three star hotel it is pushing it, but at least it is relatively inexpensive. But what is the saying "You get what you pay for!"?

Don't bother.

Room Tip: Street facing rooms noisy, currently back-facing rooms overlook a new building construction site (no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christiaan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Rooms are large and clean, and the service is generally good. The food is also not too bad. All that, however, is factored into the price, which is pretty cheap. It's not a quiet area, and the traffic is bad even by Riyadh standards, so make sure you leave even longer to make meetings on time. All in all, it's a perfectly reasonable place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ea78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

Rooms are big but have not been renovated in years with paint and wood chipping off. Located on a very busy street and has no guest parking. A very bad choice indeed but probably value for money as it was one of the cheapest in the city. You get what you pay !!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank LeoDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

went there with not much of an expectation but when I arrived in the hotel WOW, huge rooms and good food. The massage and Moroccan bath you want to go back for.
Well, have to admit the traffic around the area is a bit disturbing but once you get over that you will enjoy the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dubai_UAE_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riyadh hotels
12.7 mi away
Menaa Suites
Menaa Suites
#96 of 209 in Riyadh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
10.1 mi away
Ramad East Hotel
Ramad East Hotel
#93 of 209 in Riyadh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
3.8 mi away
Golden Tulip Andalusia Riyadh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gloria Inn
Gloria Inn
#113 of 209 in Riyadh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
5.7 mi away
Millennia Boutique Hotel
Millennia Boutique Hotel
#108 of 209 in Riyadh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
3.3 mi away
Olaya Hotel
Olaya Hotel
#85 of 209 in Riyadh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulip Inn Riyadh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Inn Riyadh

Property: Tulip Inn Riyadh
Address: Al Batha | PO Box 22561, Riyadh 11416, Saudi Arabia
Region: Saudi Arabia > Riyadh Province > Riyadh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 209 Hotels in Riyadh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulip Inn Riyadh 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tulip Inn Riyadh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing