We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Filipino food ”
Review of Swan Lake - CLOSED

Swan Lake
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Filipino food ”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

If you want some Filipino food that is restaurant quality try this place. The price is quite high compare to other Filipino resto in the area but you will be satisfied with the taste. If you like lechon kawali, they serve one of the best in town with big portion its good for sharing for up to four people. Even their sinigang na baboy and dinuguan with their homemade puto will take you back to the Philippines. The good thing about this place is they are open 24 hours so if you want to eat after bar hopping this is the place to go.

Helpful?
1 Thank Anlizcruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    24
    12
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“not my fist choice”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

after having read the reviews I was keen to find this place at the corner of the gold souk just behind the entrance to the souk. tricky to find but we managed. place didn't look very clean but frequented by Philippinos which I always take as a good sign. Food was mixed quality: very good papaya salad, good beef and prok ribs, horrible chicken in sweet and sour sauce. service was fast enough, price ok.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank carmengerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahrain
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very good !”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We had a lunch with my wife in Swan Lake. It was totally empty at 1 PM.
Tasty thai - and philipino - food, good service and reasonably priced.
Also the location is good; near Bab Al Bahrain in Manama Souq.
Recommended !

Helpful?
1 Thank JMKOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not really the best..”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This may be the most famous Fil-Thai restaurant in Bahrain, but for some reason this definitely can't be the best..

The food was nice especially the barbecue and the crispy pata. I also like the thai cuisine. Serving is good for 2-3 so be sure not to order too much. The portion or the cut of the meat is quite big so this will really fill u up. But never ever order the sisig unless you want heart problems because of too much oil, then go.

Location is really not the best. Yes, it is can be easily located but that's just because it is famous. It doesn't have its own parking lot and you have to park your vehicle in the paid lot then walk 10 mins to the restaurant. I was expecting a good deal of a place, but when i got inside, I got disappointed. The entrance looks like a backdoor of a bar. The lighting was too dim, I think they are trying to imitate first class restaurant, but it kind of failed. The restroom is found in the 2nd floor of the building because they don't have their own.

The service is bad. If you're hungry and craving, don't go there. They only have 2-3 people managing the dining area so it takes a long time for them to serve the people. Like the last 3 visits I had in Bahrain (different group of people), they want to try swan lake, but because of the slow service, we ended up eating in other restaurants.

They say that they are the only 1st class filipino restaurant in Bahrain, might as well live up to it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristheta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Let's oriental food.”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Native dishes particularly from the Philippines is their specialty. If you miss home-cooked pork dishes (specially if you're a Filipno) this is the place to be. Better take home some pork asado. The TV is distracting much more if you don't understand Tagalog. Price is not too high.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JakeAlderete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swan Lake also viewed

 
Manama, Bahrain
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing