We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most beautiful resort in the Gulf”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
Ranked #2 of 132 Hotels in Manama
Write a Review

1,957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,538
    307
    70
    28
    14
See reviews for
621
550
116
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
122 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

The most beautiful resort I have visited in the Gulf
stay at the resort with my family and kids who liked fun
And various events and swimming in the pool and on the sea
The advantage of the diversity of restaurants and cafes that offer delicious food
I liked the friendly staff and professionalism in the performance and best Department
Housekeeping and I would like to thank Mr. Rodrigo latonio, rooms attendant
As well as Mr. Merwyn Dsouza from restaurant
Recommend it for families
Upon departure from the hotel were not at the level of upscale and excellent

Room Tip: Suite in the hotel better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abdulla199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, 23 April 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our property for your recent stay in the Kingdom of Bahrain and for taking the time to place a review on Trip Advisor. I appreciate the opportunity to receive your feedback and I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed a Magnifique stay with us. We appreciate your comments and I can assure you that we will discuss these within our management team.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,

Samy Boukhaled
General Manager
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
Area General Manager Bahrain & Saudi Arabia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahrain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile


The Saraya restaurant at the Sofitel hosts, without question, one of the finest brunches in Bahrain, not only for the food (which is fabulous) but also for the setting, the ambience and the staff.

We went to eat there for my daughters 16th Birthday with my parents who are visiting Bahrain for the first time since we emigrated. From stepping foot into the restaurant to leaving we were treated with the utmost courtesy and never once had to ask for anything. The staff are wonderful.

Like I've stated, the food is fabulous with many stations offering a whole range from meats to pasta to seafood to Chinese to curries. The dessert and cheese stations are something to behold as is the cocktail station!

As with many brunches on the island, there is entertainment by the form of a band but they play at a pleasant, decent level so you can actually have a conversation without shouting at each other across the table. The band was very good on the day we visited and even the staff even had my mum up dancing!

The Sofitel is on the higher end price wise but you definitely get what you pay for and trust me, you will not be disappointed here.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Karina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, 23 April 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our property for your recent stay in the Kingdom of Bahrain and for taking the time to place a review on Trip Advisor. I appreciate the opportunity to receive your feedback and I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed a Magnifique stay with us. We appreciate your comments and I can assure you that we will discuss these within our management team.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,

Samy Boukhaled
General Manager
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
Area General Manager Bahrain & Saudi Arabia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison, Tennessee
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The service was absolutely amazing ... from the staff by the pool to houskeeping and every staff member we spoke to greeted us and asked us how our stay was. We dined at the Wok on the recommendation of Rajan Cosain and tried the sea bass served in a clay pot- It was wonderful- the noodles with it were disappointing but the fish was outstanding. We met the Vietnamese Chef who was gracious enough to stop at our table.

Bathroom was very plush and the balcony made the room seem more spacious than it really was.

Pros- service, service, service... I can't say enough how wonderful the staff is

Cons- I was disappointed that the balcony didn't offer movable chairs so we could sit and watch the ocean instead of sitting in the permanent banquette and really staring at a wall
The request for ice was answered by "there is usually a charge but we will deliver the first one complimentary" Really a charge for ice? We have stayed all over the world and have never across that before.
What are the hours? Multiple places had an opening time listed that didn't seem to be the correct time. We asked about the pool bar and were told 10am-- it was 10:30. The Wok was listed at 7pm but then it was supposed to be 7:30 but we were told it was "7ish"

We would definitely stay at this Sofitel again, but usually stay at other local hotels because we play the frequent stay point game.

Room Tip: Not a room tip --- but try the bloody Mary's at the pool bar in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodTravelwithSmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, 23 April 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our property for your recent stay in the Kingdom of Bahrain and for taking the time to place a review on Trip Advisor. I appreciate the opportunity to receive your feedback and I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed a Magnifique stay with us. We appreciate your comments and I can assure you that we will discuss these within our management team.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,

Samy Boukhaled
General Manager
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
Area General Manager Bahrain & Saudi Arabia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 4 nights with my family in 2 interconnected rooms in this lovely resort. It is really relaxing place with different activities for the family. The staff was friendly and helpful. However, my only complain is about the untrained swimming pool staff who lack the abilities on how to deal with guests. I really wish if this hotel offer half board, which is really good addition.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank q8wara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, at Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in the Kingdom of Bahrain, I’m delighted to read of your Magnifique stay with us and appreciate the opportunity to receive your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I’m very pleased that you found our hotel relaxing and a positive environment for family stays, I also appreciate you feedback with regards to our Lagoon Pool Ambassadors. I would be very interested in discussing your comments further and invite you to contact us directly on h6722-sl9@sofitel.com, we hope to hear from you soon and look forward to receiving your comments in hope of further improving our property and level of service and quality.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to Sofitel Bahrain again soon and wish you a Magnifique week ahead!

Sincerely,

Samy Boukhaled
General Manager
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
Area General Manager Bahrain & Saudi Arabia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
414 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Had the pleasure of staying many times in this hotel for events at the nearby BIC. Was never disappointed, always a pleasure. It's far from Manana, so it's calmer, less people around, quiet. It's near the gardens of the South, good place. Service is very good, friendly and helpful. Installations are amazing: great pool, private beach, good bars, amazing spa. Rooms also, top score! Recommended.

Room Tip: A room towards the pool and beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fernandorees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, at Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continued support of our hotel, it is a pleasure to welcome you back for your most recent stay and I am delighted to read that we have been able to exceed your expectations once again.

Please do contact us on h6722@sofitel.com if we can assist at any time in the future, we look forward to welcoming you to Sofitel Bahrain again soon!

Sincerely,

Samy Boukhaled
General Manager
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
Area General Manager Bahrain & Saudi Arabia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had great stay at sofitel Bahrain last week, ground suite with great view and direct access to their private beach.

Every things were perfect location, furnitures, privacy, and food.

The only negative point was the housekeeping staff who need more training in customer services . However, they have good management to make their customers satisfied.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, at Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Bahrain. I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay including the time you spent enjoying our beach facilities.

I appreciate your comments with regards to our housekeeping team and will discuss your suggestion with our management team, I would be most interested in speaking with you in person to discuss your review further and invite you to contact us on h6722-sl9@sofitel.com at your convenience.
I’m pleased that you found the general design along with location of our hotel according to your needs and that overall you experienced an enjoyable stay at Sofitel Bahrain.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to Sofitel Bahrain in the future for another Magnifique stay in the Kingdom of Bahrain.

Sincerely,
Samy Boukhaled
General Manager
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
Area General Manager Bahrain & Saudi Arabia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manama
13.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bahrain
13.8 mi away
InterContinental Regency Bahrain
14.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Bahrain Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Novotel Bahrain Al Dana Resort
4.1 mi away
Al Areen Palace & Spa
Al Areen Palace & Spa
#29 of 132 in Manama
211 reviews
19.7 mi away
ART Rotana
ART Rotana
#1 of 3 in Amwaj Islands
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa

Property: Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
Address: 105 Zallaq Highway, Building 2015 | Block 1055, Zallaq, Manama, Bahrain
Phone Number:
Region: Bahrain > Manama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manama
#1 Spa Hotel in Manama
#1 Family Hotel in Manama
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manama
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manama
#5 Business Hotel in Manama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa offers guests a paradise setting to enjoy an idyllic stay with spectacular views over the Arabian Gulf. The hotel is an exclusive resort catering to both leisure and business travelers and offers the uniqueness of a luxurious location amidst views of the crystal clear turquoise waters of the Arabian Gulf. Sofitel Bahrain celebrates the Kingdom’s legendary hospitality with a French flair and is the first hotel within the GCC countries to offer the unique relaxation of Thalassotherapy. The Thalassa Sea & Spa at Sofitel Bahrain covers 2,000 square meters on two floors; the complex features 14 treatment rooms utilizing marine based products to offer a unique series of Thalassotherapy treatments, massages and wellness programmes. Guests of the Thalassa Sea & Spa can also enjoy a seawater hydrotherapy pool, a freshwater pool, saunas, steam rooms, a hairdresser for men and a beauty salon for women, as well as a Yoga & Pilates studio. Sofitel Bahrain offers 262 rooms and suites, combining comfort and elegance and offering lavish furnishings with breathtaking views of the Arabian Gulf. Within the hotel are 28 suites including 21 Prestige Suites, 6 rooftop Opera suites each offering a private terrace and infinity pool and one Royal Suite complete with a Jacuzzi, private terrace, infinity pool and a uniquely regal design and furnishings. The hotel offers a large swimming pool complete with a swim-up pool bar situated adjacent to its private beach and 5 restaurants. Located on Zallaq Beach 5 minutes from the Bahrain International Circuit, 25 minutes from the heart of Manama and 30 minutes from the Bahrain International Airport, Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa offers the perfect location for a relaxed vacation away from the city or a luxurious vacation with convenient access to the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea And Spa
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea Hotel Manama
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa Manama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing