We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice looking, decent hotel”
Review of Taj Plaza Hotel

Taj Plaza Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taj Plaza Hotel
Ranked #88 of 136 Hotels in Manama
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Overall, my stay here with friends was pretty good. The rooms are nicely furnished, though all smoking rooms, with nice furniture, comfortable beds. The rooms are all different floor plans, which is interesting but not a downside. Room service is good and fairly well priced.

The only real downside to my visit was the lack of internet service, as it went down the day we checked in, and the staff were not knowledgeable to troubleshoot and fix the connectivity issues.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BlueNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2012

Taj Plaza Hotel is a hotel located not far away from Big Mosque but far away enough to walk to any commercial, business or amusement areas on the city. Car or taxi are required.
I would consider
Taj is a 3 star hotel but with privileged rooms. These are all divided in living and sleeping areas. Bath and furniture are good. Small but nice swimming pool, jacuzzi and grill on top. Also a massage parlour.
Ground floor with with coffee shop/restaurant Small but cosy bar at first floor plus a couple of small discos. One more bigger on the 7th floor.
The restaurant offer a diversity of food from Mediterranean to Indian. Not deserving a Michelin reference is anyway a good place to enjoy a good meal, with diversity and quality.
During my stay, kitchen was supplied with 3 chefs from India, Lebanon and Egypt. In special, the creations of Egyptian chef were very valuable.
For Westerners a turn down is the fact that the traditional Arabic timetable offered, tend to be considered late.
Except the bar were any person will feel good, restaurant and discos are turned to a Middler East clientèle.
To a outsider, the concept of Arabic disco can turn so natural as the concept of Swedish Pizza.
This hotel directs itself to the weekend Arab customer. From Wednesday on, many customers from the neighbouring Arabian countries start to arrive to enjoy a "relaxed rest".
Coffee shop would be crowded till early in the morning and get a good sleep in a 6th floor room can become hard.
Most weekend customers are avid to enjoy the more tolerant way of living in Bahrain.
Apart the hotel crew, almost all feminine presences are made by the dancer working in hotel discos. Even if all runs discretely in public areas, most of dancers and masseuses have the reputation of not just dance or offer a good feet massage.
I wouldn't recommend take a wife, sister or daughter to stay in this hotel. Even if not directly bothered, they would be "trespassed" by so many falcon eyes.
I would recommend this hotel the male tourist or business traveller for allow a over average service and accommodation for an average price, even if the offer is mostly shaped to the Middle East taste.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank VRMGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016
Thank albokhari911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank YAZIDALJEDED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manama hotels
1.3 mi away
Bahrain Carlton Hotel
Bahrain Carlton Hotel
#83 of 136 in Manama
27 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramee Baisan Hotel Bahrain
2.2 mi away
Awal Hotel
Awal Hotel
#89 of 136 in Manama
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Moon Plaza Hotel
Moon Plaza Hotel
#94 of 136 in Manama
7 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Juffair Grand Hotel
The Juffair Grand Hotel
#52 of 136 in Manama
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Frsan Plaza
Frsan Plaza
#85 of 136 in Manama
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Plaza Hotel

Address: P.O Box: 10733, Manama, Bahrain
Region: Bahrain > Manama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Manama
Price Range: £45 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Taj Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Taj Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Plaza Hotel Bahrain/Manama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing