We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Bahrain
Ranked #15 of 132 Hotels in Manama
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Old hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Friendly staff but way old hotel..food and room service are very expensive.i have asked for a room in the new sector and when I checked in I was disappointed with the room. Not 5 star for sure. Spa is outside the hotel so when you are done u have to walk all the way back in the sun!! Meaningless.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Bahrain, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Loai H,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns. We apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    189
    46
    23
    15
See reviews for
29
50
48
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I first stayed at this hotel in 2002, and have been back a few times since then mainly for business meetings or dinners but not for accommodation. I was pleasantly surprised during my current stay that they have upgraded their rooms and amenities recently.

The hotel is welcoming and the staff very helpful and dependable. The food is good and they can definitely improve on both their buffet and a la carte offerings.

The fitness center is well equipped, yet the treadmills are limited to 3 and can be replaced by more modern ones.

Internet connection is excellent and almost covers all the hotel facilities.

All in all it is a very good choice for accommodation if you have business in Bahrain in the diplomatic area or around the center.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LB1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_CPB, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Bahrain, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

Greetings from Crowne Plaza Bahrain!

On behalf of the management and the whole team of Crowne Plaza Bahrain, I would like to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your good review that you experienced during your stay.

We are pleased to share that being located in the Diplomatic area of Manama, close to the main business district, the old souq, the shopping malls and Bahrain’s International Airport, Crowne Plaza Bahrain has earned itself an international reputation for being centrally located and having easy access to both business and leisure locations.
We are also pleased to announce that we recently underwent a refurbishment in our health club (Bfit) to ensure that we maintain our high standard for our guests. One of the recent upgrades included a massage treatment room and upgrades in the locker and wash rooms.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to having the pleasure of receiving you once again during your next visit to Bahrain and make it even more memorable.

Should you require any assistance, please do not hesitate to email us on cp@cp-bahrain.com. Alternatively, you may email reservations@cp-bahrain.com for your booking requirements


Best regards,

Priya Shankar
Marketing/PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

As I am Platinum 75 on Starwood and Diamond on HH I don't often stay at ICH Group properties, but on this occasion I did. I have nothing against ICH, in fact in the past I have used many of their properties, but the upgrades and free stuff associated with the top levels of other loyalty schemes (and perhaps with ICH too) make it hard to justify staying outside your chains of choice.

I booked the cheapest room (75 Dinars), but was given a renovated room at no extra cost. This included free internet. The room was well done, a decent size and nicely furnished. Bathroom was a bit small, and may not have had a bath, but they couldn't really move the walls with the renovation. Rooms have a minibar and tea and coffee making facilities (aka a kettle).

The hotel does have a number of places to eat and drink. There is a fish restaurant featuring fresh fish on ice, which was pretty good and would cook the fish in many international styles. The generic restaurant had a different theme every night and there was an Indian place with an interesting menu. In only tried the fish place out of the three but it was good. There is a night club with an arabic themed cabaret which I didn't try.

There are two other bars, but more about them in a sec. The place has a decent pool, nothing special but prefectly decent and a gym. There seems to be a sort of pool bar, and also a sports bar in the gym building featuring pool and darts etc.

The highlight of the place is Havestor's however, a sort of British Pub gone international expat. Sells a wide variety of beers and cocktails and even some affordable wine. The main bar is smoking, but it wasn't really smoky, and there is an outside area as well. Sports TV is on a number of screens and I must thank the staff for spending about 20 mins researching how to get the England Sri Lanka T20 cricket on. They succeeded! (we lost lol.....). Food is sort of a mixture of pub, US sports bar and room service, but was very edible. Entertainment was provided by a large Pinoy band with some very cute dancers who try and drag the poor suffering customers up for a dance later in the evening. Actually the band can play some pretty good jazz funk.......but only manage to for the first couple of numbers before popular stuff takes over. They have talent though.

For the single male there is some rental company to be had in the bar, which seems to be hotel approved. The bar also seems to have no problem with arabs in national dress (presumably no Muslim ones.......presumably......) drinking in the bar.

The property has an exec. lounge but I cannot comment on that.

Overall I would stay again. The staff were very nice as well. I gave it 4 Stars and I think that is a decent rating. Was above a 3, but not close to a 5.......

Thank you for reading.

T.

Room Tip: Renovated rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyGWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_CPB, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Bahrain, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Mr. Tony,

On behalf of the management and the whole team of Crowne Plaza Bahrain, I would like to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your very detailed review on the entire services and facilities of the hotel. It was almost like reading an article on the hotel and was quite impressed with the thoroughness of the review.
We greatly appreciate that you took the time to share your opinion about us and your stay here in TripAdvisor as it is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared, especially on the newly renovated rooms and our Seafood restaurant’s specialty – The seafood market, where we serve the freshest seafood every day.
We are also pleased to share that we have recently refurbished our Bfit (health club) and added a new massage room. Perhaps on your next visit to Bahrain you would be able to include that in you stay experience as well.
Once again, thank you again for your comments and we hope that you will give us another chance to serve you on your next visit to Bahrain so that we can give you the level of satisfaction that you are looking for and make sure you will have the best stay experience with us to give us a five star. :)

Should you require any assistance, please do not hesitate to email us on cp@cp-bahrain.com. Alternatively, you may email reservations@cp-bahrain.com for your booking requirements.

Best regards,
PR/Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
185 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in this property.. surely recommendable one. Check in/out was quick. Concierge are helpful and efficient. Breakfast is also good enough. Free wifi is available in rooms and the hotel area. Hotel have free shuttle to Manama souq which is only 2 miles away. Its just normal souq.

They have Indian restaurant and pub in the hotel. We had booked renovated Deluxe room which we got and no complains, only I feel light is less in the bathroom, its quiet dark. We had few problem with our air con on 1st night but it was fixed right away on 2nd day after we informed the room service.
The minus point of all the hotels in Middle east, if their housekeeping is Indian, that they don't know how to wait, they expect us to fly and open the room in 1 bell. They will ring 1 bell and then not a pause of 2-3 second and then 2,3 and on on within 1 min. They don't even allow a gap which is some time very irritating. I had this same experience in Crown Plaza Muscat too.. Can really say, that they really need to improve on this.
Its not something major..but if they can improve it will be good for people in house.
If we will get chance to visit Bahrain again then will surely stay with them again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ta8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_CPB, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Bahrain, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Valued guest,

Warm greetings from Crowne Plaza Bahrain team!

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Bahrain on Trip Advisor.

We greatly appreciate that you took the time to share your opinion about your stay and experiences with us. We take all your comments seriously as these are vital for us to continue improving our accommodation, facilities and services in order to provide our guests the most enjoyable, comfortable and pleasant stay with us.

Thank you for your comment related to housekeeping, we would definitely rectify this in order to develop our ongoing commitment to the provision of exemplary personalized service. Our goal is to excel at exceeding our guests’ expectations and deliver a truly differentiated brand experience.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope that you will give us another chance to serve you on your next visit to Bahrain so that we can give you the level of satisfaction that you are looking for and make sure you will have the best stay experience with us.

Best regards,
Marketing/PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I've used this for years, originally moving from both the Sheraton and Intercon' Regency.
The staff are friendly, the rooms are great, the breakfast is second to none and the gym / swimming pool are under utilised so great to use.
I really love this place.

Room Tip: They don't have an elevator but with only three floors (currently) it's no big deal. Bellboy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myshelbyford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_CPB, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Bahrain, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the management and the whole team of Crowne Plaza Bahrain, I would like to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your good review on our quality room and services especially on bfit (health club) facilities.

We greatly appreciate the time you took to share your opinion about your stay and experiences with us as these are very vital for us to continue improving our guest’s experiences and to provide our guests the most enjoyable, comfortable and pleasant stay with us.

We look forward to having the pleasure of receiving you once again during your next visit to Bahrain and make it even more memorable.

Should you require any assistance, please do not hesitate to email us on cp@cp-bahrain.com. Alternatively, you may email reservations@cp-bahrain.com for your booking requirements.

Best regards,
Marketing/PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Need to have a Business or Pleasure filled week end. Visit Crowne Plaza.s Mosaique restuarant. The restaurant gives theme foods every day of the week and Thursdays and Friday Bruch are my favorites for a fantastic seafood bash. The price is affordable and drinks are included. I choose it invariably to have business or family meetings. Try once a find out for yourself. on Fridays it is better to reserve your table in advance.

Room Tip: I visited only the restuarants
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sethu95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_CPB, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Bahrain, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Valued guest,

Greetings from Crowne Plaza Bahrain!

On behalf of the management and the whole team of Crowne Plaza Bahrain, I would like to thank you for sharing your great review on our quality food and services that you have experienced at our restaurants. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to share your opinion about us and our restaurants here in TripAdvisor as it is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared.
We are pleased to share we have special business lunches for those who are pressed for time but would like to have great value for money.
Once again thank you very much and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to Bahrain.

Should you require any assistance, please do not hesitate to email us on cp@cp-bahrain.com. Alternatively, you may email reservations@cp-bahrain.com for your booking requirements.

Best regards,
PR/Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed one night, pick-up at the airport, the way they welcomed me, the upgrade and the no-hassle yet again shows why I choose Crowne Plaza. Their honest intention of taking care of you as a guest is obvious and everything simply works. True Hoteliers as I have written several times on other Crowne Plaza experiences. Something or in fact a lot of things reveals they share a common view on how Crowne Plaza shall be perceived, I guess that's what all the business travellers rely on when choosing them to accommodate you. Trusted brand that must have chosen the right hotel managers not by chance but through a solid check its managers and staff.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room in the right wing, their newest section. A room facing the pool isn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterGustafssonDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_CPB, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Bahrain, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Mr. Gustafsson,

Warm greetings from Crowne Plaza Bahrain!

We have read your comments about the hotel and the Crowne Plaza brand per se. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them and as you rightly pointed out; our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority. We are truly glad to know that you had a great stay experience.

Once again thank you very much and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back on your next trip to Bahrain.

Should you require any assistance, please do not hesitate to email us on cp@cp-bahrain.com. Alternatively, you may email reservations@cp-bahrain.com for your booking requirements.

Best Regards,
Marketing/PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manama hotels
0.1 mi away
The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa
1.2 mi away
InterContinental Regency Bahrain
14.7 mi away
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Bahrain Al Dana Resort
0.2 mi away
The Domain Bahrain
The Domain Bahrain
#16 of 132 in Manama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.2 mi away
Downtown Rotana
Downtown Rotana
#3 of 132 in Manama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Bahrain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Bahrain

Property: Crowne Plaza Bahrain
Address: Diplomatic Area P.O. Box 5831, Manama 5831, Bahrain
Phone Number:
Region: Bahrain > Manama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Manama
#13 Business Hotel in Manama
#15 Luxury Hotel in Manama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Bahrain 5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Bahrain with its 246 well appointed rooms and suites all with high speed internet access is the perfect location for the business traveler as it is within the diplomatic area where most of the banks and embassies are located and conveniently situated within 10 minutes of the airport. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Bahrain has a large business, conference and banqueting venue experienced in catering for all events and occasions. The Bahrain Conference Centre, conveniently adjoining the hotel is a purpose built venue that is undoubtedly one of the most versatile centers imaginable in Bahrain, whatever your requirements the Crowne Plaza Bahrain Hotel will ensure that your event will be a success. The Crowne Plaza Bahrain Hotel has a true understanding of taste. Our hotel guests are offered an array of dining delights from the elegant Waves Seafood Restaurant, an authentic and distinct flavours of India from Spice Indian Restaurant, Harvesters typical British pub with draught beer and pub food featuring live entertainment nightly, the La Mosaique All day dining restaurant with specialty evenings and Tracks Sports Bar where all the latest sports are broadcasted live on a large screen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Bahrain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Bahrain Hotel Manama
Crowne Plaza Manama
Crowne Plaza Hotel Bahrain
Crowne Plaza Bahrain Manama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing