We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant looking resort in Bahrain, but watch out for the extra costs!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Bahrain Al Dana Resort
Ranked #16 of 132 Hotels in Manama
Certificate of Excellence
York, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very pleasant looking resort in Bahrain, but watch out for the extra costs!”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We booked this location for the beach access, but found the waterfront less than inviting, with bottles in the water, and the water being less than clean.
But the biggest letdown was the extra costs. Although we booked with the hotel chain with breakfast included, we were told that breakfast would be extra, and my daughter who was supposed to be free (children free) needed to pay full price. There was a pool, beach, fitness charge that amounted to $100 a day, and room service was in packages, so you could not just order what you wanted. This a la carte approach is a great money maker for the hotel, but it is really rough on the budget. Coupled with what was not available because it was Ramadan, I feel that I will go elsewhere, and steer clear of Accor for a while.

Our room smelled musky like there was a problem with the air conditioning. Pool was excellent!
Breakfast was sensational! Staff should have stayed home!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randall I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    228
    87
    42
    32
See reviews for
197
112
58
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2012

They upgraded my room to suite for free when they know that I'm a silver member and that we are celebrating our anniversary. The service was excellent and the food was delicious, and the staff were friendly.

My family enjoyed heir stay and highly recommend this hotel to others ...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Majed2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM N, General Manager at Novotel Bahrain Al Dana Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to answer our questionnaire.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Al Dana Bahrain

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Pierre Gaudou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed at the Novotel for 2 nights. The check in was okay, but took 25 mins even though there was only 1 other individual checking in at the time. The rooms are nice, but ours was at the back of the hotel which basically overlooked very noisy jet skiers and a construction site across the water-disappointing! Room service was fine-only about a 20 min wait. The service at the pool was awful-there weren't any staff around to request towels (their towel bin was empty on both days), or to request drinks and snacks. Having said that, staff were very attentive once we did get their attention and you didn't feel that there was a stuffy atmosphere at the hotel, as we have often found at many of the 5 star hotels. The atmosphere at the pool was ruined by a large group of very vocal men playing their own music really loudly. We ate at the seafood restaurant twice-that was lovely. The buffet breakfast was also great, but on the Friday the place was packed and lots of people were waiting for tables and staff were more or less clearing plates from under our noses so we felt that we were being rushed to finish. Overall, our stay was ok. Would I stay there again? Probably not, to be honest. it's not that much more expensive to stay at a five star hotel and the service would no doubt be better.

Room Tip: Request a balcony room overlooking either the pool area (although that could be noisy) or overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Novotel Bahrain Al Dana Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel.

At Novotel al Dana, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; we do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get, therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We have shared your comments with the front desk team concerning your long check-in, I can understand that it might be boring to go thru the check-in process which could seem to be 25 min but in fact, based on our computerized CCTV records it took 4 min 25 seconds.

With regards to the atmosphere at the pool, we immediately set up policy to avoid private music devices either around the pool or at the private beach.

Moreover, we will request the Royal coast guard to increase their patrols around the hotel, in order to avoid such disturbance of outsiders Jet-skiing.

Would you be willing to speak to us further about your experience at Novotel Al Dana?
I am available by e-mail at pierre.gaudou@accor.com

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.
Pierre Gaudou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I have stayed at the Al Dana resort several times now and always enjoy my time there. It is a short drive from my home in Saudi, so has become a regular weekend stay.

The rooms are traditional in style, big and generally comfortable - although I think the mattresses are ready for an upgrade! Some of the rooms have a balcony that literally sit over the water and have beautiful views. The bathrooms are good too.

Check-in staff are always generally good - with one exception, but I have noticed she has improved recently too! The duty managers are always very attentive and really make me feel welcome.

Excellent breakfast which is included int the room rate i paid - and they serve bacon and sausage, which is very rare in the region. This is really a big bonus!

The hotel has a great pool area - although it can be very busy at weekends and also a little rowdy when the American navy are in town! There is also a very small beach, which is also a bonus. I have spotted security taking discreet pictures of women sunbathing - so management, please take note - this is not acceptable, please be aware.

I rated the hotel 4 stars - i nearly rated it 3, but based on the excellent value and all round good facilities and service, it is well deserved. I will certainly be back for many more relaxing weekends...

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room with a balcony over the water - great for a sundowner at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badger36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM N, General Manager at Novotel Bahrain Al Dana Resort, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Al Dana Bahrain

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Pierre Gaudou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I arrived mid week and the place was dead! It was somewhat bizarre as I am used to hotels being busy all week round. Having said that, it picked up rather dramatically towards the weekend.
Staff were mostly friendly and helpful although perhaps not as obliging as other hotels I have stayed at. I was in a hurry to go out at one point and it took 1.5 hours to deliver an iron despite four phones calls.

My shower was leaking, cabinets were dusty but the room was comfortable. The sea view was only because I am 6'3-shorter people would not be able to see over the roof immediately outside my window.
It was centrally located which was helpful. Have stayed at better, and worse.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manama hotels
15.1 mi away
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
0.1 mi away
Elite Resort & Spa
Elite Resort & Spa
#10 of 132 in Manama
450 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bahrain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Regency Bahrain
2.0 mi away
Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bahrain Al Dana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bahrain Al Dana Resort

Property: Novotel Bahrain Al Dana Resort
Address: 121 Sheikh Hamad Causeway, Manama, Bahrain
Phone Number:
Region: Bahrain > Manama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Manama
#9 Family Hotel in Manama
#16 Luxury Hotel in Manama
#16 Business Hotel in Manama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bahrain Al Dana Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachside luxury 4-star hotel, combining leisure facilities and business district convenience. Hotel features an outdoor temperature controlled swimming pool with a hot tub set, a private beach, a fitness center and spa and a free business center. Seafood and catch-of-the day fish specialties are served at La Perle Restaurant, while Zytoun Grill offers international delights buffet with Arabic touch. Live sport and cocktails at Bellevue panoramic bar overlooking the Arabian Gulf, open until late in the evening. Novotel Al Dana Bahrain is 5 minutes drive from airport, Diplomatic and financial areas and City Center; the largest mall in Bahrain, one minute walking distance from Bahrain national museum and theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Bahrain Al Dana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Al Dana Resort Bahrain Hotel Manama
Novotel Al Dana Hotel Bahrain
Novotel Manama
Manama Novotel
Novotel Bahrain Al Dana Resort Manama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing