We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friday brunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Tulip Bahrain
Ranked #43 of 132 Hotels in Manama
Bahrain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friday brunch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

I booked the brunch for Fri, June 29, 2012, for my birthday.
Me and my husband as well as our friends, we are big fans of Movempick brunch but, because we heard a lot about Golden Tulip we said to give it a try.
Very very dissapointing!!! The money we paid (BD 99) is not worse it at all!
The quality of food is bad, the buffet was never refilled therefore, if you didnt take the food in the beginning you get the leftovers!
It looks so cheap and there is no staff to take care of the buffet cleanliness!
The Mojitos was the worse I ever had in my life!
The waitress assigned for our table was always standing behind the table, which made me feel very uncomfortable.
When clearing the table, she will ask if she can remove the plates, even she will see the way the cutleries were arranged on the plate! When she will remove the dirty plate, she will not notice the other plates that were dirty or needed to be removed. I had a plate with cucumber and another one with another dish that were never removed until I asked the waitress to do so.
I didnt have any main dish coz everything had sauce and didnt look good at all!
The quality of service was poor. There was an argument between a waitress and a supervisor, right inside the restaurant, while clients were having lunch.
There were 2 private parties, one for a bride to be and the other one for somebody who was leaving Bahrain! We were very disturbed by these 2 events, coz the people were making speaches, singing, and even walking around to collect money for the bride to be!
I cant imagine that the management will allow something like to happen but, there was no manager around!
When we wanted to pay, we were told from the cashier that we have to pay for 3 people! But we were 4 at the table! If my husband would've not call their attention, you will loose revenue.
On top of everything, the main door is under renovation and there is no indoor place to smoke!

All in all, a very bad experience! I will not recommend to anybody to go to this brunch, not only because there is no food quality and the food selection is not there but also, there is no proper service and everything is very poor!

Thank you and good luck.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OanaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    86
    81
    32
    36
See reviews for
35
39
43
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

Visited the Golden Tulip for Friday Brunch on Friday, 6 April 2012 with my wife and another couple. For those who do not know the 'Friday Brunch' is very popular with ex-pats working in the Middle East and most good hotels and restaurants have one.
I have been to the Brunch at this hotel before (Feb 2011) and I rate it as probably the best value v quality in Bahrain (though my wife claims the Movenpick is as good/better value, but I have not been there yet).
The hotel is undergoing some major refurbishments within it fron of house and the last time I went the brunch was in the reception area looking over the pool. This time it was in the ballroom but the quality of food, drink and entertainment was just as high. From 12.00 to 15.00 you can eat and drink as much as you want with a full menu selection (self serve) and a fresh bar-b-q (cooked on demand). Excellent quality steaks and a wide selection of fish as well as lobster. There are normally three roast meats available including ham and pork and an excellent international offering. Drinks are either soft drinks, beer, wine (red, white or sparkling) and Mojitos. There are activities for children (face painting, balloon man etc)and a Filipino band who initially play background music but once guests have finished eating it quickly becomes dance music with lots of people dancing and offering a really nice atmosphere. The cost for all of this is BD23.00 (in taxes) which in Bahrain is good value for money!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Located in the business district, the location is near the shopping outlets too.

Hotel is well equipped and comfortable, and has a fairly wide selection of food for meal times.

I would rate it as a 3 star facility.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bhavin69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed there last night and the experience was awful. Firstly we were given an extremelly noisy room (not sure where those noises came from, but it was impossible to sleep in there). We called the Front Desk to move to another room and said they would send someone. No one came. After calling 3 times and chasing them several times, someone came with the new keys. However, the rooms are old, dirty and the staff is not helpful at all. The food at the restaurant is not up to a 4 star hotel standards and staff is not trained accordingly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terengganu
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Location was great, just the opposite of Moda Mall and quite near to the city centre. Food was okay. Service wise was average. Our stay was just a ahort one so probably inadequate time to really evaluate the service as a whole.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherryazie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Labuan Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
205 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

My family was allocated this hotel while on transit during our return flight to Kuala Lumpur from Jeddah on Gulf Air. Check in was fast and efficient. Room was average though we had to walk quite a distance outdoor to get to the room, which made us shiver since the temperature outside was about 16C and we were only dressed in clothing appropriate for tropical climate since we came from 35C Jeddah. We don't mind the change actually! Furnishing in the room was very basic, adequate for few hours stay, but no drinking water placed in the room which is what every traveller will need. The complimentary dinner was quite good. Even though we were transit guests, the F& B did not cut corners. We had salads, soup, rice with 4 side dishes, desserts and soft drink. In fact better than what were served to us at a 5 star hotel we stayed in Makkah! Upon check out, the management sent a staff to knock on every door to ensure that no guests were left behind by the airport shuttle to catch our next flight

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank june1970_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Arrived here to find renovations going on. The front door was boarded up, and access to the rooms was via a goods lift by the kitchen. I've stayed here before, but won't do so again. The exorbitant charge for internet access is just another irritant in a hotel that is clearly well past the stage where it should either be completely closed for a complete renovation, or knocked down and a new one built. The rooms are tired, the bathrooms shabby and the whole place terribly outdated. The Sports Bar has willing staff, but a group of very drunk Saudis did not improve the atmosphere of this relic from the 1970s. No wonder this place is known to locals as the 'Golden Toilet.' Avoid - there are better places nearby for similar prices.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moratin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manama hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Bahrain Hotel
Sheraton Bahrain Hotel
#27 of 132 in Manama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tulip Inn Bahrain Suites and Residences
0.4 mi away
The Domain Bahrain
The Domain Bahrain
#18 of 132 in Manama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Bahrain
Crowne Plaza Bahrain
#17 of 132 in Manama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.4 mi away
Fraser Suites Diplomatic Area Bahrain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Bahrain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Bahrain

Property: Golden Tulip Bahrain
Address: Old Palace Rd, Manama 1090, Bahrain
Region: Bahrain > Manama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Manama
#40 Luxury Hotel in Manama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Tulip Bahrain 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip Bahrain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Bahrain Hotel Manama
Golden Tulip Hotel Bahrain
Manama Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Manama
Golden Tulip Bahrain Manama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing