We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not 5*” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Bahrain

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Bahrain
Ranked #5 of 134 Hotels in Manama
Certificate of Excellence
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Not 5*”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

Check in
Parked up at the door to off load our bags but no assistance was offered.The Aston Martin brigade were getting more attention. Onto the desk. All staff were busy but a man asked for my passport while he was talking to somebody on he phone. Waited. He then motioned me to the next girl to sort us out. Hmmm

The room
A bit pokey. TV didn't work. Man came and changed the batteries.A strange thing eveything is in boxes, even the bottled water !! One socket for kettle and coffee maker. Man came with an adaptor.Tried to look out of the window..filthy.Man came with some fruit.Internet wouldn't connect two men came.Two girls came with balloons ( Girl Fridays birthday ).

The breakfast
A trite expensine @ 13BD. I hate it when the plates you have used aren't taken away when you have finished with them.They weren't.

Highlight none in the hotel BUT outside last evening I saw a Ferrari being driven in. It parked up and I said " nice car ". Want to drive it he said.? OMG. I wish I hadn't downed 4 pints.

Would I stay again ? No.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitchsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    171
    37
    24
    22
See reviews for
165
202
56
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Ritz Carlton in Bahrain from April 6-12. I was on business at an event hosted by the hotel and we stayed an extra few days for pleasure.
The hotel is wonderfully appointed with attentive staff, fine dining and great amenities. The pool and gym are open to hotel residents but also operate as a health club from local Bahrainis and apparently there is a 2 year waiting list for a membership.
We attended a number of the exercise classes and they were world class. The facilities staff were even able to let me borrow a pair of running shoes.
We ate at La Mediterranean restaurant and at Trader Vics. The breakfast and lunch buffets in La Med were good, many choices featuring local dishes as well as the standard fare and Trader Vics had great atmosphere and good food and cocktails.

The pool area was being worked on throughout the month of March and the work just finished this week. The pool is huge, with a shaded area for kids and 2 whirlpools. The hotel is situated on its own private beach which is well-groomed and well attended. A lady brought us cold towels and chilled watermelon slices when were were at the beach.

I would definitely return.

Room Tip: The rooms on the city side of the hotel have good views of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

I stay regularly at the Ritz-Carlton in Bahrain. It is, perhaps, my favorite hotel in the Middle East.

Physically, the hotel is an older building. It is designed around an open atrium as was the style in the early 1980s. That said, it has been completely renovated and is very well appointed. The style is definitely traditional and on the formal end of the spectrum. It's tasteful and what you would expect of the Ritz-Carlton brand.

This being an older property, the rooms are pretty standard in size and layout. What sets them apart are the luxurious details from oversized tubs, black marble, tasteful decor and very luxurious beds and linens. The Baroque style including plenty of golds could easily be overdone. They've struck a good balance.

Where the hotel shines is in its common areas. There is a full-service health club with indoor pool. It's very large and open to subscription by locals so is an "actual" gym rather than a hotel gym. The restaurants are very good, among the best I have experienced in the region. The steakhouse is great and the breakfast buffet offers lots of choice.

The hotel pool has been recently refurbished so the outdoor and beach area has a definite modern and trendy feel to it. I'm usually staying on business but the pool and new outdoor lounges look like great places to hang out for the day or evening.

The thing that keeps me coming back to the hotel is the level of service. The staff are extremely professional and engaging. No need is too small or too complicated. Arriving with lost luggage, the Night Team went into action making sure I had everything I needed by 8:00 AM for a day full of business meetings. I may not have had my selection of suits back, but I did have fresh, clean clothes, presentations, directions and shopping suggestions. All of this at 1:30 AM is impressive!

I cannot say enough nice things about the Ritz-Carlton Bahrain. With some hotels, it's all about the rooms or the style. With others, it's all about the facilities and location. With the Ritz-Carlton Bahrain, it's all about the feeling... the feeling that you are in a great hotel with a staff that goes out of their way to make sure you have everything you need and that you are comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask the Concierge to arrange an airport pickup. It's a very luxurious ride and a great way to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrDutchNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yzerfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

The Ritz is certainly the best situated hotel in Bahrain that offers close proximity to City Centre and Business District. The beach and spa facilities are superb and the rooms are excellent even though the hotel has been around for a few years. Good selection of restaurants and the fact that Trader Vic's is on the premises does add for good entertainment.
Only small complaint was that they were renovating the pool area and that did not influence the room rate which is on the high side for bahrain

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
155 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

As a regular visitor of the Ritz Bahrain, I noticed lately an improved check-in for standard rooms, similar to those in boutique hotels or executive floor rooms. Check-in quick, efficient and directly in your room. Amenities were upgraded too recently and they were already very good.
As for the rest, there is a new events room by the pool. Restaurants across the resort are still good too. Airport pick-up is decent and drivers follow traffic rules. Internet connection is OK to Middle East standards (have seen much worse). the Spa, indoor and outdoor pools and the Gym are all very good and very well maintained.

What I like about the Ritz in general, Manama or elsewhere, is the consistency of the service, the infrastructure and the rooms. Can't say the same about most other chains. So you will get what you expect there. It has its price too.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemmayzetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 456 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

My family stayed at the Ritz Carlton Hotel in Bahrain for two nights in October of 2012. Would I recommend this hotel to a friend or stay here again? Yes. Would I stay here again? Maybe. While I loved the hotel, it was very expensive compared to other hotels. If all you’re looking for is a nice clean place to stay in Bahrain, there are other hotels for much less. If you’re looking to stay at a 5-star hotel in Bahrain, there are other 5-star hotels in Bahrain that have better amenities and services for about the same price.
Our room was clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the amenities were great. The hotel does have a couple of draw backs. One was that to our surprise we were not allowed to take a bottle of alcohol that we had purchased in Bahrain into the hotel to drink in our room. The hotel x-rays all bags brought into the hotel to make sure no alcohol is being brought in. Also, the hotel does not allow outside food in. My kids wanted Domino’s pizza one night but the hotel informed us that we could not order it and have it delivered to our hotel room.
The hotel had a very nice outdoor pool and indoor pool. The alcoholic beverages were very reasonably priced for a 5 star hotel pool bar.
Breakfast was good but not on par with other 5-star hotel breakfast buffets. The breakfast buffet even was not on standard to other Ritz Carlton hotels in the Gulf such as the Ritz in Doha.
I have uploaded lots of pictures of the hotel for you to get a better picture of what it is like.

If you found my review helpful, please let me know that by clicking the Helpful Button. Thanks.

Room Tip: Ask for an executive upgrade or a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ToonTowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

I was looking forward to stay in the Ritz Bahrain for a third time this weekend. As we had a business function in the Hotel. It would have been very convenient to stay at the same place where the function will be, but after comparing prices of similar hotels in Bahrain I considered it much overpriced. Yes definitely it is a very nice hotel, perfect service, beautiful facilities and excellent staff. The event was organized with professional support from the hotel, but accommodation much too expensive. I decided to stay at the Sofitel Zallaq which was almost half the price, but very good quality.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gass1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manama hotels
13.6 mi away
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
2.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Bahrain Bay
2.3 mi away
InterContinental Regency Bahrain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Novotel Bahrain Al Dana Resort
2.3 mi away
Downtown Rotana
Downtown Rotana
#3 of 134 in Manama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
4.0 mi away
Gulf Hotel Bahrain
Gulf Hotel Bahrain
#8 of 134 in Manama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Bahrain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Bahrain

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Bahrain
Address: Bldg.112, King Mohammed VI Ave | Block 428, Al Seef District, Manama, Bahrain
Phone Number:
Region: Bahrain > Manama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manama
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manama
#3 Spa Hotel in Manama
#4 Business Hotel in Manama
#5 Luxury Hotel in Manama
#6 Family Hotel in Manama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Bahrain 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the North coast of Bahrain, this seven-story, 264-room luxury resort is located within a 20-acre urban resort complex built on reclaimed land on the seafront of Manama. The Ritz-Carlton, Bahrain Hotel & Spa is only 11kms from the airport, 3kms from the Manama City Center and just across the road from the Bahrain Exhibition Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Bahrain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Bahrain Hotel Manama
Ritz-Carlton Bahrain Hotel And Spa
Ritz Carlton Manama
Ritz Manama
The Ritz-Carlton, Bahrain Manama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing