We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand property, poor rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Bahrain
Ranked #5 of 136 Hotels in Manama
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Very grand hotel (more of a resort really) with great public areas - large lobby, lots of restaurants and a nice pool area. The interior decor is a bit too dark for my taste (lots of black and gold) but nonetheless quite tasteful. The two restaurants I ate at were both very good, and service (including concierge) was great throughout my stay.

My problem was with the room which I found extremely small and the bathroom which was not up to Ritz Carlton standards. The room they allocated me was the smallest I have had at a 5 star hotel. After I protested, the hotel staff showed me some other rooms which were larger but with no view and equally small bathrooms. The bathrooms are a disaster - tiny and poorly designed with a combined bath and shower and cramped WCs. The scale and quality of the public areas makes the size and design of the rooms even more surprising and they are certainly not of 5 star quality.

This is supposed to be the best hotel in Manama and that's perhaps true of the facilities, but I would be amazed if one couldn't find better rooms elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sohilc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,007)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

598 - 604 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had a wonderful stay! The hotel had an Art Deco vibe and the service was extraordinary. Bahrain is nothing to write home about, it's bleak, hot, and in perpetual construction but the hotel completely took us away from all of that. The beach was beautiful! The pool was a great place to relax as well. The property is very well taken care of and the staff was lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kiersten Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Great hotel and with a great beach. There's not many beaches in Bahrain so staying at this hotel you get great service and a great little beach lagoon.
Rooms are like any other RC, though it's great looking down the atrium at the lobby area. Really clean and tidy. Great service. Shisha pipes on the beach.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank RYCP71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here for almost a week during the EID period. The hotel is an Oasis. The property is stunning with an incredible layout. The pools (indoor, outdoor), the sea, the beaches...all beautiful and well maintained. We tried several of the restaurants as well as dining in the room and the food always delivered on expectations. The staff are attentive and very personal. They always seem to know exactly what you need before you ask. We will definately return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DIDMK5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I stayed here for three days while attending a conference in Bahrain. The facilities are excellent, and the staff were helpful beyond expectation. I didn't get a chance to use the beach area, but it was very well groomed and looked beautiful. Highly recommended - a great place to stay for business or for pleasure.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This is our 5th stay here - which just goes to show how well they do it and what an escape this is from life in Saudi. Why do we go here? To be honest it's the wonderful beach where I can happily stay for the duration. Trader Vics restaurant next door (but within the grounds) is good too. Breakfast in the hotel is a bit pricy - but you do get a slap up meal. We've also done breakfast in the room which is perhaps better value and also good. Rooms are good - beds and pillow are divine. Staff always welcoming. Can't wait to go back again. We will!

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kinwafu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Nice beach resort that is only a 4 hour drive from Riyadh but feels like a different world. I could have just stayed at the Ritz the whole time in Bahrain and just enjoyed the beach and lush tropical gardens. It was nice that women could swim on the property in either western or local beach attire. There is a 3km walk that winds around the gardens and lagoon. We had a modern room in the main hotel - my only complaint was that the window was small and narrow so it was hard to fully enjoy the great view of the pool, lagoon, and ocean beyond. The beautifully landscaped private villas, each with private pool, looked more like something from Polynesia. They wound around 2 other beach coves and looked wonderful and exotic - worth a splurge if you can.
There were several restaurants with great food, though a bit expensive. Try to reserve a rate that includes the incredible breakfast buffet. It was probably the best breakfast buffet we've had, but a bit expensive if it is not included in your room rate.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenw2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manama
2.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Bahrain Bay
13.6 mi away
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
2.4 mi away
InterContinental Regency Bahrain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa
4.1 mi away
Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention and Spa
8.2 mi away
ART Rotana
ART Rotana
#1 of 5 in Amwaj Islands
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Bahrain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Bahrain

Address: Bldg. 112, King Mohammed VI Ave | Block 428, Al Seef District, Manama, Bahrain
Phone Number:
Region: Bahrain > Manama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manama
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manama
#3 Spa Hotel in Manama
#4 Business Hotel in Manama
#5 Luxury Hotel in Manama
#6 Family Hotel in Manama
Price Range: £239 - £445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Bahrain 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the North coast of Bahrain, The Ritz Carlton, Bahrain is a seven-story, 264-room luxury resort in Manama, Bahrain, located within a 20-acre urban resort complex built on reclaimed land on the seafront of Manama. Our hotel and spa is only 11kms from the airport, 3kms from the Manama City Center and just across the road from the Bahrain Exhibition Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Bahrain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Bahrain Hotel Manama
Ritz-Carlton Bahrain Hotel And Spa
Ritz Carlton Manama
Ritz Manama
The Ritz-Carlton, Bahrain Manama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing