We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention and Spa
Ranked #8 of 131 Hotels in Manama
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The Gulf Hotel is a great place to stay in Bahrain. The staff are friendly and helpful, there is a restaurant for every taste, a good pub and a cocktail bar where you can sample some excellent cocktails. The rooms are modern and comfortable and there is a very good Prestige Club if you stay on the executive floor. The hotel is within easy walking distance to an area full of lively restaurants and clubs.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobsmumanddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    286
    98
    34
    26
See reviews for
124
138
60
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This hotel is a great choice in Manama. It is close to the Al Fateh Mosque and many restaurants. The hotel itself has like 7 restaurants, including an Irish type bar. The rooms are big and clean,bed and pillows are comfortable, turndown service, Bvlgary bathroom amenities... the hotel rocks! They have a free shuttle to Seef mall and downtown Manama. I never used it so I can not comment on its reliability. The only problem I found was that I could hear the next door guests, I'm not sure if this was due to lack of soundproofing in the hotel or that the guests were just too loud. If I had to go back to Manama, I would stay there again, no doubts about it!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3menda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oman
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

I went on a girls weekend/ visa run and decided to splurge so booked a platinum room which was well worth it. It started with our own private check in at the platinum lounge, which was soon followed by free drinks and delicious snacks and then an evening swim in the pool. I was living in Saudi Arabia at the time so really enjoyed little freedoms like being able to drink a cocktail, not having to wear and abaya and being allowed to swim in the pool.

You eat your breakfast in the platinum lounge (which served bacon!!!) and there were snacks available all day. The platinum lounge also has internet available for free.

The platinum rooms were modern in appearance and tastefully decorated, the bath was really big and had jets which was great!

The platinum room is well worth it for the price you pay! I would say it is the best option in Bahrain in terms of location and what you get for your money!

The only downside was the bar downstairs, it was dodgy and we didn't stay there longer than 5 minutes! It was filled with drunk Saudis and men from other places that were just leering at any woman that walked in as if she was a prostitute. Some of the women looked like they could be working girls. Definitly not for an upmarket crowd at all!

Luckily we met a local expat who took us to this great Irish pub called JJ's in downtown Manama! This is the place to go as it is where the expats congregate!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Really nice, modern hotel with a helpful staff and nice rooms. The lounge on the 8th floor (i think) was really nice. You have to pay for entrance but you can eat/drink once you get in there. It was a great place to check e-mails and even meet fellow business travelers. Went to the bar downstairs (Sherlock Holmes) for the World Cup and it was a exciting/fun environment. Very much enjoyed my stay at the Gulf hotel but I'm happy it was on my companies dime and it's not the cheapest!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shenry86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We stayed one night and treated ourselves to a platinum room which wasn't cheap, but having access to the platinum lounge was definitely worth the extra money.
The room itself was just okay, quite small really for what is classed as a platinum room. It had a lovely view of the grand mosque and the surrounding area.

The bathroom was very nice and big, with a large bath tub, television and seperate shower cubicle (with a nice, strong water pressure).

The room itself was VERY dusty, especially over the headboard and side tables.
Breakfast was nice, with pork bacon and sausages for the non-muslims. Unfortunately, the hash brown was totally inedible and my poached eggs were very rubbery. Also, the portion size of the coffee machine was very small. The cups were small anyway, but the actual amount dispensed only filled half the cup!

The fruit basket was a nice touch and the bed was huge.

Platinum lounge : Our first visit was around 3pm and there was a good selection of pastries/cakes, savoury rolls and fruit. There was also red and white wine, and hot/cold drinks. Unfortunately for my husband, all the savoury rolls had mayonaise in them and a request for rolls to be made without mayonaise was a negative (he's allergic to egg, so all the pastries and cakes were ruled out too). Another negative, was the absense of crackers / biscuits for the cheese - again a request for those was a no, we don't have any.
Our second visit back to the lounge was around 6:30pm and there was a good selection of hot and cold finger food. One strong negative was that we weren't told what alocholic drinks were complimentary and trying to get that information from our waiter was very difficult, So, in the end I asked the lady at the platinum lounge reception and she gave me a drinks list which listed all the drinks that were complimentary. This is something which all guests should have been given upon arrival to the lounge. In fact, a gentleman did what we almost did and ordered a drink which we thought was complimentary, but turned out not to be. This error was made entirely by the waiter who gave the wrong information. Who wants to money for a drink when they've already paid a premium for access to the lounge? - Answer : nobody.
Additional note : the platinum lounge temperature was also a little too cold (for me).

We had dinner at the Royal Thai restaurant but that was quite disappointing. We had expected authentic thai food, but what was served didn't taste very authentic. A green chicken curry dish we ordered, turned up as green beef curry so it had to be sent back. We were told it would take 5 minutes which was fine with us, but they didn't bother to take the other main course or accompaniments away (so they could be kept warm whilst waiting). Then, in less than 2 minutes the green chicken curry arrived - which obviously hadn't had enough time to be cooked in the sauce and so the chicken was quite tasteless.

The service was poor and the seating inside was absolutely freezing (it was 30 degrees outside). So, a word of warning : take a jumper if you decide to dine in there!

The pool area seemed quite nice (although I didn't go into the pool myself), but it seemed a bit too small for the number of rooms the hotel has.

Overall, a nice hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eggsy_U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

Lobby is five stars, but that is about it! Rooms are old and beds not comfortable. They have a list of impressive restaurants, but the food quality is so poor that you are far better off going to a food court at a shopping mall. The only descent place was the wine bar (probably because they didn't make it there!). Internet is expensive, and very slow, so even if you pay, you still don't get the basic service they should offer their guests. Would not recommend to anyone and will stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDiplomats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damascus, Syria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Gulf Hotel is the biggest hotel in the kingdom, three towers with an attached conference center. It is advised not to stay in the old tower, not sure though on the value of money of staying there.

I did enjoy my stay at a furnished apartment in the executive wing. The apartment consists of large saloon and dining in facility, open kitchen, 2 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms and the most important of all is the wide view to the sea (the gulf). The apartment has free wired internet connection, but little clattery and toiletries, you may need to ask for some. You may also need to request a safe lock yet hotels in Manama are safe.

The lobby is spacious, a piano and a harp were being played in the meantime without disruption. The checking-in process took longer time than expected. The management is too much keen to sort out guests’ problems.

The hotel is located in a dynamic part in the city of Manama surrounded by nice selection of restaurants, retail shops and wide roads if you fancy walking in fresh air. I did not try the health club but it seems clean and well equipped.

The hotel offers a variety of cousins. The breakfast experience is nice with good quality food, but the rest of meals, as being arranged by the conference, were less than expected.

Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BasselNadim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manama hotels
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Regency Bahrain
13.2 mi away
Sofitel Bahrain Zallaq Thalassa Sea & Spa
4.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bahrain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Diplomat Radisson Blu Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Palace Boutique Hotel
The Palace Boutique Hotel
#11 of 131 in Manama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.8 mi away
Downtown Rotana
Downtown Rotana
#3 of 131 in Manama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention and Spa

Property: Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention and Spa
Address: Al Fateh Avenue | Bldg 11, Road 3801, Block 337 Al Fateh Highway, Manama, Bahrain
Phone Number:
Region: Bahrain > Manama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manama
#8 Luxury Hotel in Manama
#10 Business Hotel in Manama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 468
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious five star hotel offering resort facilities with a modern city location; Enjoy the panoramic views from your newly renovated bedrooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, or stay on our exclusive, discreet Platinum Floor offering some of the best vistas and services on the island. Discover the world and its delights in one of our 16 restaurants and bars, boasting a selection of diverse cuisines such as Iranian, Thai, Lebanese, Chinese, Western-Asian fusion, Japanese and continental. As a Platinum guest, you will enjoy a numerous of complimentary VIP treatments, including: •Private VIP check-in •Chilled towel and refreshing drink on arrival •Shoe-shine and one pressing on arrival •Daily newspaper and a selection of magazines •Luxurious Bvlgari White-tea amenities •Access to the dedicated Platinum Lounge and all its benefits •Buffet breakfast in the intimacy of the Platinum lounge The Platinum Lounge Our exclusive Platinum floor lounge affords our clients with the most discerning taste for excellence our signature customer service and spectacular panoramic views over Manama. Opened from 06.30 To midnight every day, the Platinum lounge not only offers all-day delightful buffets from breakfast till dinner accompanied with a wide selection of beverages, but also all business facilities like private meeting rooms, computer and other IT services access. Platinum Lounge Operating Hours (0630 am to 12 midnight) •A designated elevator and Guest Relations to welcome the guest upon arrival and will escort them from main entrance desk to the 13th floor. •Sit-in check - in while welcome drinks is being served of the guest's choice and to be escorted by a Guest Relations Officer to their room. •Full Breakfast buffet served from 0630 am. Till 1030 am. With live egg cooking. •All day self-service snacks and refreshments with fresh Danish pastries, selected sandwiches and breads. •Special Red/White wine, and selected beers are available for all day self-service consumptions. •Happy hour from 6 pm. Till 9 pm. With free selected beverages and choice of hot and cold canapes to unwind for the long day work. •Newspapers and Magazines available in the Platinum Lounge •A designated area for All day free Internet access in the Platinum Lounge. •Special Guest's Room Amenities in the Platinum Floor Rooms •Butler Services available upon requests. •Secretarial Services available in the Platinum Lounge upon requests. •Private meeting room with complimentary refreshments that can accommodate up to 8 persons. •Kids are allowed until 18:00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulf Hotel Manama
Gulf Hotel Bahrain Convention And Spa Manama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing