We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sex tourism”
Review of Gulf Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gulf Gate Hotel
Ranked #109 of 131 Hotels in Manama
allingis@hotmail.com
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Sex tourism”
Reviewed 15 February 2011

GulfAir sent me to the Gulf Gate after their plane was delayed. Arrived at 3:30 AM. Ont the floor a chick propositioned me in the hall when I got out of the elevator, two others knocked on my door once I got into my room. (I just went to sleep.) This may interest some travelors.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
75 Thank Allingis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    25
    18
    15
    18
See reviews for
7
9
26
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
aTH
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

I would rather sleep on a couch at the airport. Disgusting!!!!!!!!!!!
I was obliged to stay there coz my flight was scheduled for the next morning. Dirty bed covers, dirty curtains, full of cockroaches balcony!!! The personnel was really helpful and nice but they were sleeping at their own homes!!!

DON'T GO THERE!!! EVEN IF THEY OFFER IT TO YOU FOR FREE!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank gorgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manama hotels

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Nice Hotel, nice ambiance, Gud good quality, courtious Hotel staff,
Love to stay again in Hotel. There is good night life too. Hotel is in the heart of city.
One can enjoy different varieties of food in and around Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank InderSAurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

I was in Bahrain for a business meeting during April, while returning home, all flights to Europe were canceled due to the Iceland Volcano chaos... at that time most hotels were full with stranded passengers. Luckily a friend of mine recommended this hotel, the staff was extremely polite, the rooms were fine with excellent F&B services. Another plus point was the its location, placed in central Manama - the business district of Bahrain.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank worldbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

Gulf gate will surely make you feel happy and makes your trip enjoyable and all you to do is enjoy the trip and relax in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jaivanth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2010

The Gulf Gate Hotel is a great place to stay, located in downtown Manama, near to malls and tourist sights. I've got good deals whenever i stay here; I recommend this place for singles & couples. Looking forward to be at this hotel during the Bahrain Formula One Grand Prix.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expat
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2010

Clean friendly. Room 103 worth a visit, [--] the number to call

Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank CharlieExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manama hotels
0.0 mi away
Delmon International Hotel
Delmon International Hotel
#53 of 131 in Manama
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bahrain International Hotel
0.3 mi away
Awal Hotel
Awal Hotel
#89 of 131 in Manama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Pars International Hotel
Pars International Hotel
#43 of 131 in Manama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oriental Palace Hotel
Oriental Palace Hotel
#96 of 131 in Manama
3.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ewa Hotel Apartments
Ewa Hotel Apartments
#83 of 131 in Manama
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Gate Hotel

Property: Gulf Gate Hotel
Address: Salah Al Deen Al Youbi Avenue | P.O. Box 2825, Manama 2825, Bahrain
Region: Bahrain > Manama
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Luxury Hotel in Manama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gulf Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gulf Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulf Gate Hotel Bahrain/Manama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing