We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for economy stays in Bahrain”
Review of Awal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Awal Hotel
Ranked #84 of 132 Hotels in Manama
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for economy stays in Bahrain”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed for 2 days but wasn't in the hotel all the time. Staffs are friendly and helpful. Most facilities are in good condition. Good breakfasts. Convenient airport transfers. Very near to tourist attractions and delicious asian cuisine. But one thing I dislike, that my friend and I had to sit near the doorway to get internet connections. I purposely choose this hotel for the internet connectivity but it fail to satisfy me.

Room Tip: Take the 6th floor maybe because the hotel staff said the internet connection is better there and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinisans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    25
    22
    9
    3
See reviews for
5
6
37
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Hotel Awal is centrally located in the traditional part of Manama. Friendly and helpful staff, fast check-in, spacious rooms, and a certain old world charm make the hotel a great and comfortable base from which to explore the nearby souq, the waterfront, restaurants and several large malls. The hotel provides a pick up service from the airport (minimal charge), as well as wifi in the rooms (decent speed). I have used the Awal on several occasions and its good standards have been maintained over the years.

Room Tip: I suggest the fifth floor, quiet, no noise at all from adjoining rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulf U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2013

At the heart of the city with low price and good service. I advice you to stay in awal hotel , business hubs around we can enjoy shopping with less travel . I wish you a pleasant stay in awal hotel and have a nice time in bahrain .

Room Tip: I stayed in room 510 and was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank narayan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This was actually a nice experience. Hotel was clean, bedroom a very good size for two people. The location in Manama centre was extremely practical to get to the Souq and to get taxis from. Reception and staff were very friendly, and enjoyed the fact that they could organise transport to/from the airport for you in their hotel van. 2 things: AC can be cold or not working, pressure in the shower was very low.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sag79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Hotel Awal is located in the center of everything that I needed, for a very small fee I was picked-up from the airport and did not have to worry about taxi cabs. I was so impressed by the hotel's employees and management, the hotel is very clean and located near everything that anyone could need, this is a family oriented hotel, from my experience I will recommend AWAL Hotel to any one that is going to Manama, Bahrain.

Thank you to all the staff and the management at AWAL Hotel

A. Briki

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I've been visiting Bahrain twice annually for the last three years. Each visit is an overnight visit and as such has been at the Awal Hotel. Firstly, the location is strategic. A round-trip walk from the hotel to my place of business is 40 minutes. Also, there are stores and restaurants EVERYWHERE to satisfy even the most difficult shopper and/or appetite. Secondly, the staff is incredibly pleasant, accommodating, sincere, fair, knowledgeable, and most importantly... incredibly professional and courteous. The rooms are a fair size and very clean including all amenities, a super air-conditioner, and comfortable beds (and pillows). The elevator is very clean and efficient. In the morning, you have the choice of enjoying three quality breakfasts either in the privacy of your room or in the dining-room in the main foyer. The hotel offers a personal shuttle service to and from the airport at an extra cost. The drivers are courteous with a smile and will accommodate you for any unexpected stops you may need to and from the hotel. Finally, with a daily rate of 20 BHD / 40 EURO / 52 USD, the cost is more than fair making the hotel a commonsensical choice. With all the current unrest in Bahrain, the Awal Hotel gives you a secure feeling and peace of mind. Thank you.

Room Tip: Personally, choose to stay on the fifth floor. Better water pressure when you're showering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samara
Level 6 Contributor
904 reviews
200 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,140 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Great location in the heart of souq (Market place). A lot of places to eat national or indian food as well as McDonalds and Burger King in 10 minutes walk. 3 minutes walk from the Gates of Bahrein, 30 minutes walk to National Museum and Theatre. Excellent price.
Sly staff on reception. Trying to get money for everything.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alexander_Kudrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manama hotels
1.4 mi away
Monroe Hotel
Monroe Hotel
#75 of 132 in Manama
65 reviews
2.2 mi away
No photo provided
Moon Plaza Hotel
#90 of 132 in Manama
7 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bahrain Carlton Hotel
Bahrain Carlton Hotel
#78 of 132 in Manama
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oriental Palace Hotel
Oriental Palace Hotel
#97 of 132 in Manama
55 reviews
2.3 mi away
Frsan Plaza
Frsan Plaza
#79 of 132 in Manama
20 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramee Baisan Hotel Bahrain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awal Hotel

Property: Awal Hotel
Address: Al Khalifa Rd, Manama 3252, Bahrain
Region: Bahrain > Manama
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 132 Hotels in Manama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Awal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awal Hotel is ideally and conveniently located in the center of Manama, the main commercial & business district of the Kingdom of Bahrain, only 10 minutes drive from the International Airport and a short walking distance from the Bahrain seashore and the upcoming Financial harbor. The Hotel rooms are newly refurbished & renovated with all comforts and modern amenities of a three star luxury Hotel. The Hotel also has 03 specialty Restaurants with live bands and a Coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Awal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awal Hotel Bahrain/Manama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing