We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine short stay hotel”
Review of Awal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Awal Hotel
Ranked #89 of 131 Hotels in Manama
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fine short stay hotel”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Parking around the hotel can be a bit exasperating, but once you're through the door the staff are friendly and you get to drop your gear off fast enough.

You're over here for freedoms anyhow, and a place to sleep. The rooms are dated, but functional. The TV wasn't really watchable until after a lot of faffing around setting the channels and right signal band. The shower was low pressure but did the job. Getting a room street side could lead to difficulty sleeping as a poor junction just up the road has the usual Arab drivers on their horns honking their anger at everyone at all time of day. This being the Indian sector also there is little reason for westerners to repeatedly go for evening walks. Just ask the desk for help getting you down to Juffair and go enjoying those freedoms.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimbulD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    24
    22
    9
    3
See reviews for
5
5
37
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

I chose the Awal Hotel due to its proximity to the Manama Souk. The streets outside the hotel are full of character and there's plenty of eateries and cold stores nearby.

But I digress. The hotel is pretty old and the room decor is outdated. But it makes for a decent stay if you're not picky and want a cheap room near to the Souk.

Do take note of the water pressure though. I asked for a room on a high floor and the water pressure was terrible. Do yourself a favour and go for something on a lower floor. There isn't much of a view from the hotel anyway.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Six_Stomachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Accommodation is on the expensive side in Manama and the cheaper end of the market appears to be targeting bookings by the hour (if you know what I mean). But Awal Hotel is comfortable, basic, clean and super convenient - highly recommended.

The location in central Manama is hard to beat. The area is full of life and has a great energy with the Gate of Manama and Souk only minutes away. There are also loads of interesting places to eat serving MENA, Indian and Filipino food everywhere.

I walked between Manama's main sites on my first day and hired a car the second (the hotel has a free parking lot a couple of minutes walk from the hotel).

The staff were helpful and friendly (particularly the airport shuttle driver). Free Wifi! And a cheap airport shuttle service for 5 BD.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This hotel is not new or remodeled. What you are getting is a good location in the old city near the souq for a very low price. The quality is pretty good accordingly. 17 BD for a single or about $45 per night incl tax. If you expect 5 star for that price then shame on you! This hotel has decent free internet, large rooms and excellent location. The rooms are dated and worn. The bathrooms are sparsely appointed. The water pressure is low. But trust me I have paid almost double in nearby hotels for less quality. In this price range it presents the best option. If its nightlife you want there are bars nearby, the soug nearby and lots of character on every street,

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I booked in and used the confirmation telephone number and called on Skype for a taxi. The fellow was there waiting for me at 2 am.
I checked in and got the Wi-Fi code. The lift was clean and polished stainless. The corridor told me this place was from the 50s - maybe, but CLEAN. Everything was washed, pressed and clean. No cheap perfume to hide odors - just clean.
The room looked 50-ish, but clean with fresh sheets, and a nice firm king-sized bed. Nice 4- piece bath, but when there was limited hot water in the shower, maintenance took care of it.
I DID NOT notice a single cracked/broken tile anywhere in the hotel. My bathroom was spotless!
I am diabetic and the next day had a hypoglycemic incident so they called the Bahrain ambulance service and the paramedics took care of me FAST.

Am I happy with this hotel that I chose just by chance? YES, of course.

Would I recommend it to friends as a clean comfortable safe place to stay? YES of course.

Is it posh and palatial? Nope. Not advertised as such.

Oh, is it clean? Definitely :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmac100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had a few days off from school and we decided as a family to spend it in Bahrain. We got excellent rates at the hotel - BD 35/- for a two bedroom suite. The rooms were spacious and very clean.
The hotel has a comfortable parking for the car and is in a decent and peaceful locality. There are lots of options to call in for food from hotels that deliver. We went sight seeing during the day and in the evening the kids had a great time in the swimming pool on the terrace.
All in all a great and memorable time!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Syedms25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I stayed for two nights at the Awal Hotel in January 2014, booking via the Internet and paying 34 Bahraini dinars in total (around 55 pounds sterling). Breakfast, costing BD 2.500, was an additional charge. I thought that this represented pretty good value for money.

The hotel is located near the Gold Souq and Bab al Bahrain in the heart of the old city centre. The area is rather run-down but is quite safe. There are plenty of cheap eateries and cafes nearby, as well as a few more upmarket ones. I strongly recommend La Taverna, the Italian restaurant in the City Centre Hotel, a few minutes' walk from the Awal (it is apparently the oldest Italian restaurant in Bahrain). Their 'Businessmen's Lunch' is very reasonably priced (at BD 5.500). They also serve very competitively priced house wine. There are also quite a few bars in the vicinity, but some are rather seedy and unpleasant. I quite liked the relatively civilised one on the 9th floor of the Aradous Hotel.

From the outside, the Awal looks unimpressive and a little dowdy, but it is a bit smarter inside. It used to be quite noisy, due to the fact that there were a couple of bars and a nightclub on various floors. These were closed down, however, four years ago and there is now little noise, except from the street. My room was on the fifth floor and was very spacious, with a huge bed, and an equally spacious bathroom, with a small bath (and plug) as well as a shower. I didn't test the air conditioning, as it was cool outside; nor did I try out the satellite TV. The Internet connection in the room (free of charge) was reliable, with a reasonably fast download speed. The breakfast - which I had brought up to me - was basic but quite edible. The staff on reception were pleasant and helpful and arranged for a taxi to take me to the airport. This saved me the considerable hassle of having to deal with a public taxi driver. They are a rapacious bunch and are notorious for overcharging or for finding excuses not to turn on the meter. I know one shouldn't generalise, but ...

Would I stay at the Awal again? Yes, on balance, as I had a comfortable stay there and my room had everything that I needed, including a small fridge, safe and hairdryer. One minor point: it would be nice if they provided a bath mat and two towels instead of one. Everything else was just fine.

Room Tip: I would recommend the fifth and sixth floors, as rooms on these floors are likely to be the quietest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cosmo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manama hotels
1.9 mi away
Bahrain Carlton Hotel
Bahrain Carlton Hotel
#79 of 131 in Manama
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oriental Palace Hotel
Oriental Palace Hotel
#96 of 131 in Manama
3.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.3 mi away
Monroe Hotel
Monroe Hotel
#77 of 131 in Manama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Frsan Plaza
Frsan Plaza
#64 of 131 in Manama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bahrain International Hotel
2.2 mi away
No photo provided
Moon Plaza Hotel
#92 of 131 in Manama
3.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awal Hotel

Property: Awal Hotel
Address: Al Khalifa Rd, Manama 3252, Bahrain
Region: Bahrain > Manama
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 131 Hotels in Manama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Awal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awal Hotel is ideally and conveniently located in the center of Manama, the main commercial & business district of the Kingdom of Bahrain, only 10 minutes drive from the International Airport and a short walking distance from the Bahrain seashore and the upcoming Financial harbor. The Hotel rooms are newly refurbished & renovated with all comforts and modern amenities of a three star luxury Hotel. The Hotel also has 03 specialty Restaurants with live bands and a Coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Awal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awal Hotel Bahrain/Manama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing