We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.


National Museum of Iran
Ranked #20 of 168 things to do in Tehran
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This museum proudly celebrates the rich heritage of Iran with a spectacular collection of sculptures, ceramics and seals that date back to the 4th and 5th centuries BC.
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Very interesting to see the history of the country and the progress of how things have changed. Worth a visit.

Thank mizztravellettee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
All reviews
"ancient history"
in 8 reviews
"stone age"
in 6 reviews
"thousands years"
in 4 reviews
"prehistoric times"
in 4 reviews
"visit persepolis"
in 4 reviews
"french architect"
in 6 reviews
"on display"
in 18 reviews
"foreign affairs"
in 4 reviews
"love history"
in 4 reviews
"persian empire"
in 8 reviews
"upper floor"
in 5 reviews
"interesting pieces"
in 4 reviews
"great history"
in 4 reviews
"impressive collection"
in 4 reviews
"imam khomeini"
in 5 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 4 reviews
"metro station"
in 4 reviews

249 - 253 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

It's located near to Melli Garden Gate, in fact museum is a treasury of Iran's's ancient history,
building was constructed and designed by famous french architect in 1930's.
Everything there was interesting but their employees there are not polite specially that woman who sales tickets who was so rude.
They also charge about 10 times more to the foreigners, that was shameful.

Thank Hessamirza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

it was my second visit of this museum. i can tell you it's a great place for those who are interested in archaeology and ancient history of Iran. the gate of the museum is also reminded me pre-islamic palace of Sassanian kings.

Thank Mahmoud m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

natinal museum or old persia museum of tehran is as the peak of a nation's museums as it holds many old national objects of a country as it's past culture informer.anyhow,after visiting the glass and ceramic museum(1bout 10 min far of national museum walking) , i went to national museum with my heart beating to see whatever i wished to see before. at yhe entrance you should deliver your bag and additional objects,but camera or mobiles are allowed. unfortunately there was any informing papers at the entrance because for some architectural repairs,the publishing part for informing papers was closed.there were many many things there like those brilliantly creative clay or glass handmade objects of 500-600 years ago,to paleolithic found teeth of a human being at that time.also,many things from the great achaeomanid dynasty,some decorated coffins from many years before entrance of islam in iran,many stony handmade jewelrys of milleniums b.c, and the salt man!!!! the salt man was unbelievably great!!! salt man is the remainings of the body of a man in about 1700 years ago found in zanjan province in north west of iran,one of which is hold here in national museum and some( 4-5) more complete ones found there are holding in museum in zanjan as well. you can see the head of salt man with earings and parts of cloth,his leg in leather boot,his nut,and some other things.as archaeologists have found , from his belongings,he was a man of royalty about 1700 years befroe who had fallen in a salt mine in zanjan suddenly and so buried there,so for the preserving character of salt,some parts of his body has remained in a good position.it was breathtaking , as i wished to be buried in salt mine to be preserved:) !!! anyhow,the museum has many many great things to see and be shocked from the artistry and creativity of people at those days.
1-i suggest for tourists to have a leader or a book at least ro give some info to them.
2- photography is allowed only WITHOUT any flash/talking with phone is NOT allowed IN the museum.
3- if like payinf attention to details,it can even take you 3 hours or a little more to see,as it was for me!!!
4- a shop for buying cd or books is available at the far end of museum's yard.

1  Thank mr_mrs_alaeddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The entrance of the museum was 150.000 rials during my visit in Dec 2013.
Even though only the ground floor is open, and the layout of the space seems a bit cluttered at first, I was not familiar with this level of creativity/detail of clay and bronze work in 1/2nd mil bc.
My favourite items were:
—Amazing clay toys with moving wheels from 1st mil bc.
—A vase with what looks like the first animation of a horse jumping up to eat from a tree.
—The audience hall scene: a mural of possibly xerxes.
—A magnificent dog statue from Persepolis.
After exiting the museum be sure to go left to see some really nice architecture, the Islamic art museum is there, (which is closed nov/dec 2013) and in the distance you can see the snowy mountains. I also met a number of students who were very welcoming and curious as to where I was from, we ended up going for coffee.

Thank zanea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Museum of Iran also viewed

Tehran, Tehran Province
Tehran, Tehran Province

Been to National Museum of Iran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing