We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“former Sheraton is the best hotel in Tehran”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tehran Homa Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tehran
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tehran Homa Hotel
Ranked #30 of 58 Hotels in Tehran
tehran
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“former Sheraton is the best hotel in Tehran”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Comapring with other 5 star hotels in Tehran, like Esteghlal, espinas, Azadi, etc.Homa is the best. The location is excellent and the ambience is warm. I have already been to Espinas hotel: the location is terrible and the staff are not educated.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mreka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    49
    57
    18
    8
See reviews for
8
4
14
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Homa in Tehran on more than one occasion. The staff there are extremely helpful, friendly and accommodating. They remember you, always have a smile, and are always at the ready to help with any request.

The rooms are comfortable, with small refrigerators, and complimentary coffee and tea with a hot water carafe. There are also balconies in many rooms which offer a pleasant open air space, overlooking the courtyard and pool and mountains. The spectacular mountain view we enjoyed during one stay is attached. The bathrooms are always kept clean and replenished with amenities without fail. The lighting there is somewhat harsh for applying cosmetics, but there is always the main room and natural light. There is adequate counter space at the sink, which is not the case in many fine hotels. The rooms are not overwhelmingly luxuriant, but they provide a very convenient and comfortable living area with a roomy closet, sitting places, and plenty of counter space where needed. The beds are comfortable.

The lobby is exceptionally large and well appointed, and is a perfect place to receive visitors for a cup of tea. There is wifi as well. There are also some lovely shops selling Persian trinkets, books and other items.

There is a beautifully kept courtyard and pool, and this provides a lovely area to walk or sit, and there is also an outdoor section of restaurant.

The food is quite good. We particularly enjoyed the Aash Jo soup.

The location of this hotel is ideal. Because both the location and the rooms provide an extremely convenient stay, this is our hotel of choice in Tehran.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyGaladriel17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
477 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

At first sight, the Homa hotel is quite nice. There is a large lobby where guests can have some tea or coffee (good espresso!), staff is very attentive and the garden outside must be pretty in summer (its large swimming pool probably attracts lots of people in summer). And the couple of meeting rooms can accommodate business or private parties. The hotel is in addition very well located, something important in congested Tehran.

The Homa hotel belonging to Iran Air worried me. So I was initially reinsured. Until I arrived to my room. I have posted some photos. But in short it dates back from the time the Homa was a Sheraton (i.e. before the 1979 revolution). Almost no decoration, basic furniture, old carpet with holes, ... The bed as someone previously mentioned is quite hard and the pillows huge. Very difficult to sleep well. In addition, my window was not closing properly and workers are building a new tower just in front of the hotel even during the night!

On the other side the bathroom was OK (renovated) and nice although I could have done without the dead cockroach I found on the first night.

On the good side, there is free Internet (as good as it can get in Iran, i.e. slow and restricted) and a couple of restaurants (I tried only one - on the top floor - and it was OK). Beware however of the hotel taxi (old cars and very expensive in Iran standards).

Now I understand the choice of quality hotels in Tehran is limited. I am sure however better lodging options exist...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Swissdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town is home
Level Contributor
215 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

There is a shortage of quality accommodation in Tehran and the Homa is probably as good as it gets. The staff are lovely, as indeed was almost everybody with whom I had contact during two weeks in Tehran, and go out of their way to ensure that guests are looked after and made to feel special.

The lobby is a comfortable place to sit and drink tea and enjoy their cakes and salads, and watch people. My room was spotlessly clean, large and well equipped and had adequate working space and free wifi which was acceptably fast, although many western websites (newspapers and so on) are blocked, but that presumably is at government level. My only criticism is that the water in the bathroom was dangerously hot, and the fittings are showing their age.

I spent one entire day working in my room as it was snowing hard, and I had several calls from staff to check if I was alright and needed anything brought to the room.

The hotel food was nothing special, but I enjoyed the couple of meals I had there.

There is not much in the area around the hotel, a small shopping centre a block away, and Vanak Square five minutes walk.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

As part of a celebration event organised by a customer my boss and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in September.

I was told that the options in Tehran were limited, and that is why my review is not as bad as it would have been in other cities.
On international business standards, I must admit that the hotel is lacking the right infrastructure and setup: internet in the room is extremely slow and basically not adequate to work on, the breakfast has limited choice, although the quality of the food was not bad, the rooms are not redecorated in probably 20 years and are still in the '80's style.

That being said, we had a general good feeling with the service that was offered to us. People seem to be genuinely helpful and do their best to offer good service. This does not include the bellboys however who make it no secret they are doing everything for a nice tip, preferably in dollars or euros.

In general the hotel was allright, although one should adjust its expectations.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Limshang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

This hotel is OK to do business. The rooms are just OK. Breakfast is really lacking choices and quality of food. Internet is really slow and quite an issue if you need to work. The prices are tottally overprice versus the quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LionelDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
141 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2010

Stayed in this hotel for the 2nd time in a business trip. I have not stayed elsewhere in Iran so far so I cannot judge if this is a standard 5 hotel stars in Iran or not, but realistically this hotel would not deserve more than 3 stars in any other country with a certain hotel culture.

Homa hotel needs a hige renovation, sound insulation is a joke, pillows weigh 2 kilos each, mattress is way too hard (and I don't dislike hard mattresses, but this one was like a wood), they do not take credit cards so watch out. Breakfast is in the minimum acceptable levels, offer is limited and all in all, a 3 stars hotel. The good side is that internet (wired) is free at least in my room although the speed will not allow to listen to any radio station, use skype (other than chat) and no phone on IP either. There might be other better choices for Tehran. When one pays 170 Euros a night, one expects something else, not this rip off.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carlos_Barcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tehran Homa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tehran Homa Hotel

Property: Tehran Homa Hotel
Address: 51 Khodami Street | Vanak Square, Tehran 11369, Iran
Region: Iran > Tehran Province > Tehran
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 58 Hotels in Tehran
Hotel Class:5 star — Tehran Homa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 143

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing