We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Hotel for a 5-Star Claim”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tehran
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parsian Esteghlal International Hotel
Ranked #47 of 59 Hotels in Tehran
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Terrible Hotel for a 5-Star Claim”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

The only good thing is that the breakfast is great. Here are some points to consider:
- The hotel is extremely dated. Even the newer tower is showing its age.
- The hotel is dirty. As an example, pay attention to red carpet in lobby. It used to be red at one point in distant past. Now it is brown, as if never cleaned. The large Persian rug at the main entrance is old & nasty, not a good initial impression.
- The staff is dirty. The men have dirty collar white shirts. Their uniforms are old & not in good shape. Many don't shave their faces & have offensive body odors.
- The beds & pillows are uncomfortable.
- The outdoor swimming pool has been empty & in bad shape for decades. The view to the south of the newer tower is a half finished but abandoned building, an ugly site.

Room Tip: Get a room in the new tower, & be prepared to pay almost twice as much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ali s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    102
    162
    76
    50
See reviews for
21
25
31
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Wingfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
367 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Usual good quality international hotel, the type to be found in any country. While the food is adequate, it is better to get away. Within walking distance to the north - once you can cross the mental traffic - there are several good local restaurants. I speak not a word of Farsi but food is international. I did prefer the meal we had in one of the old palaces though, courtesy of the Government.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jake1642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

I travel to Iran for business a couple of times a year and I always stay at Esteghlal Hotel when I am in Tehran. The hotel has two towers. East tower is the old part of the hotel. The rooms are large but in general not very comfortable. The west tower is new. I stayed at the Jr Suite in my last stay. There is a separate living room and toilet in the suite. Very comfortable. The rooms are clean but cannot say the same for the balconies. The staff of the hotel is extremely freindly and helpful. I have stopped by the guest relations desk and ask for a suggestion for a decent restaurant. He suggested us to go to Narenjestan Restaurant and moreover he books a table for us with a short notice. The suggestion given to us was great. I appreciate that! I have been to the Lebanese Restaurant in the hotel. The ambiance and the food was not good. The carpet shop has interesting pieces. Worth checking it out.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Toygun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiria, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Parsian Esteghlal International Hotel combines iranian culture, a friendly environment and cozy rooms.
The new tower has new rooms but the old tower is also good. Does not meet 5 star hotel standards but its fair and people are very friendly and helpful, so I do think that it is a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shiraz
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

The hotel is located in north of tehran. Nice & friendly staff around working around . Clean hotel with various restaurants around suitable for any taste.If you decided to reserve room in this hotel , choose east tower.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zizipedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Western Tower of this hotel, as we had booked it through travel agency in Iran, and to transfer to Eastern Tower we had to pay almost double (as travel agencies charge their own fees).
The first room they gave to us had a shaky bed which we were not sure, if it would not collapse, wallpaper pealing off the walls and overall feeling like in 60ies. This room was in 6th floor.
We complained about it, and they moved us to the 12th floor, which there was more stable bed and no peeling wallpaper. Otherwise - same 60ies feel. Certainly, when compared with other Parsian hotels, this is a BIG disappointment. I can not understand how can they give this hotel 5 stars.
Breakfast was just ok - coffee like a water with some coffee fragrance and brown color. Iranian brewed tea was terrible, so we used Ahmad tea bags. The second morning we happened to came down to breakfast at 9ish, and it was hard to find a clean and set-up table, although most of the tables were not occupied.
The Lebanese restaurant - food was awfully salty and fatty, and cost a fortune by Iraninan standards. We paid about 50$ worth for 2 adults and a 2 year old, and it was the worst food we had spent 50$ for. We often attend Lebanese restaurant in Canada, and the food there can not be compared.
The Rose restaurant - "Iranian" - selection of usual kebabs, some "western" food choices of very small portions, and also cost fortune ( by Iranian standards). No option of any Iranian khoresht.
Can not complain of cleanliness, maids really did a good job.

I would call the Western tower rooms a 2 star, and not worth spending more money that truly 4 star hotel not far - Evin Hotel. Unfortunately it was fully booked for those days.
Rather good location, walking distance to Valiasr street and Mellat park.

Room Tip: If you really need to stay in this hotel, then pay more and stay in Eastern Tower. They say its reno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ievuks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duisburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

One of the best hotels in Teheran. Friendly staff and good location, so this hotel is really good. The restaurant has many choices, and food is delicious. Definitley would recomend this hotel and will for sure come back

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Parsian Esteghlal International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parsian Esteghlal International Hotel

Property: Parsian Esteghlal International Hotel
Address: Crossroad of Chamran And Valiasr, Tehran 11369, Iran
Region: Iran > Tehran Province > Tehran
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Tehran
#15 Luxury Hotel in Tehran
Hotel Class:5 star — Parsian Esteghlal International Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 552
Also Known As:
Esteghlal Grand Tehran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing