We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tehran
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parsian Esteghlal International Hotel
Ranked #44 of 58 Hotels in Tehran
mashhad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

i've stayed in this hotel several times (not my choice) in different rooms and i always became disappointed by the staff and room . very dirty and burned carpets , too noise from outside and air conditioner and rude staff . while i was entering the restaurant , one of the staff came to me and reminded of the prices! and it happened 3 times to me and my other friends.

Helpful?
1 Thank aminjoon
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    100
    161
    75
    50
See reviews for
20
25
31
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brechin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Extremely good check in. Nice lobby, coffee area. Efficient, but not smiling staff! I found out later that the staff are government employees! There is one guy in reception, Avad I think is his name, who really needs to get an attitude change course, He speaks to customers as if they were peasants!So no wonder they cannot smile!

The rooms are a disgrace. Beds and linen no problem, Large bathroom with a good selection of toiletries,

Carpet absolutely filthy, with burn marks and God knows whatever marks,I don't know if this hotel owns a vaccum cleaner! Certainly my room was never vacummed! in 5 days! I came back from a medical congress at 5-30 pm and had to phone housekeeping to make up my room. Disgraceful!

The road noise from outside was horrendous. So much so that I had to put on the noisy heating system to drown it out,

This hotel claims to be 5 star, I would rate it 3+ as the only saving grace are the restaurants! Even then it seems the Thai restaurant is permanently closed!

Find somewhere other than this place!

Room Tip: Avoid West wing Room 1316 is horrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

I last stayed at this hotel in 1967, so was interested to see the changes after 46 years. The view of the Elborz Mountains remains superb. Access from the airport is good via Chamran Expressway. Check-in was prompt and helpful. There is the original west tower, a newer east tower and a never finished third tower. Rooms are comfortable, warm and very quiet. The breakfast buffet has a range of foods, but could be better presented. Staff are helpful. If heading downtown, it is cheaper to get a taxi than hotel car - but get advice on acceptable fares (quoted in tomani - 10 rials each). Facilities are excellent, with on site tennis and an indoor pool. Perhaps one day the outdoor pool will be usable again! Nearby in Vali Asr Ave are excellent shops. Be sure to visit the Niyavaran Palace and Darakeh. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Mountain view is more interesting
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FrequentFrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
162 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

we chose hotel Esteghlal for our stay in tehran just for what we had heared about it in tv or etc. for hosting great people and international ones like professors,etc., but really really it was a complete disappointment. we called the hotel and reserved a room before arriving at tehran,but when arrived in the midnight,(for driving about 6 hours our look may not seemed very well) the reception woman with great shock asked us if we know anything about the prices,as if she thought us for our tired look , not to be able to afford it!!!!!!!!(the prices are very high but does not worth at all) her behaviour was veryyyy impolite and fa away from the supposed behavior of a 5 star hotel staff!!!! even you can find better behaviour in inns or 1 star hotels!!!. anyhow,we chose a room in old wing of the hotel and entering the room was another shock for us.the room was not at all a 5 star romm,not even a 3 star one. the bath was very old and not very clean. it was very noisy at night and all the time of our stay,some noise was coming from above as if some repairment is doing in above stairs,but when called the reception said nothing existed!!!! any how,the 3rd shock was the breakfast which was veryyyyyyyyyyyy normal without any special or great warm food,again with staffs much more polite and at service for foreign guests!!! because we were in hurry and just want to stay 1 or 2 days in tehran,we didnt want to search around the town for another htel and so we had to toleate the condition.the forth and the last shock was the dinner we ordered for our room.it was pasta with soup.the pasta was awfull and make me vomitting, but the soup was just edible(but not good at all).it didntworth even a penny despite its highexpense!!! anyhow,after our stay i just wonder how this hotel hosts many important men and conferences as it is shown ssome time in tv.it's service is much less than a 1 star hotel and the impolite behavior of staffs are disgusting. just a recomendation ,i.e. if you like a stay with a lot of shock and bad surprises , so hotel Esteghlal is the best chice!!! :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mr_mrs_alaeddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

I want to give it 2 1/2 stars. And the 1/2 star is only because there is a great breakfast arrangement. The hotel is old. The lobby is nice and clean but the rooms are not. The rooms are old, dark and not very well kept. They are spacious so that is a plus. The pool and gym for the last 5 years has been "under renovation". So... there is no pool or work out facility. The 4 and 5 star reviews are certainly from local residents who may be use to poor hotel accommodations and do not know what a real 5 star hotel is. Which is very surprising, since this hotel is not cheap, so most people who can afford to stay here or travel to Tehran have certainly stayed in a nice hotel. I know many Iranians that travel to Dubai and Europe frequently, where they experience REAL 5 star accommodations so I don't know why there are so many good reviews on this hotel. Its fine for a couple nights. I had 3 weeks booked here and left after 5 days. I couldn't take it. The staff is friendly... maybe a little too friendly. Very pushy tour guides that made me a little uncomfortable. You give in to a tour, pay to be shown around, and then they don't leave you alone even after the tour. This hotel is WAY too expensive for a real 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wellmiefam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

The reviews that you'll find on this site are mostly true. This place is ok, the staff is fine, the rooms are big and clean, breakfast is great...but it's a bit old and needs to be renovated. WI-Fi connection is a story for itself..sometimes it works, sometimes not. Ladies-no real spa in this hotel, but you'll get a large bathroom!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeilahZagreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

The only good thing is that the breakfast is great. Here are some points to consider:
- The hotel is extremely dated. Even the newer tower is showing its age.
- The hotel is dirty. As an example, pay attention to red carpet in lobby. It used to be red at one point in distant past. Now it is brown, as if never cleaned. The large Persian rug at the main entrance is old & nasty, not a good initial impression.
- The staff is dirty. The men have dirty collar white shirts. Their uniforms are old & not in good shape. Many don't shave their faces & have offensive body odors.
- The beds & pillows are uncomfortable.
- The outdoor swimming pool has been empty & in bad shape for decades. The view to the south of the newer tower is a half finished but abandoned building, an ugly site.

Room Tip: Get a room in the new tower, & be prepared to pay almost twice as much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ali s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Parsian Esteghlal International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parsian Esteghlal International Hotel

Property: Parsian Esteghlal International Hotel
Address: Crossroad of Chamran And Valiasr, Tehran 11369, Iran
Region: Iran > Tehran Province > Tehran
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Tehran
#15 Luxury Hotel in Tehran
Hotel Class:5 star — Parsian Esteghlal International Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 552
Also Known As:
Esteghlal Grand Tehran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing