We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smells Bad” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sakura

Sakura
Ranked #66 of 607 Restaurants in Kuwait City
Price range: US$30 - US$100
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kuwait
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Smells Bad”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I have visited Sakura Alshaib location four days ago on 5 June 2014 Thursday. It was bad experience, as soon as i got in the restaurant smelled like fish or rotten smell. Service slow, i asked for sparkling water different than Perie the waitress said she will go and check never came back. I do Like the Sakura restaurant but not this location

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank behbehani1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    33
    13
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always meet my expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Rich menu , alacart and set menu,nice atmosphere,attractive ,friendly staff,I love Friday buffet ,awesome crab soap ;)
Reasonable price , only don't like when the restaurant have group ! But so far it's fine

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherif76m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait
Level Contributor
227 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Fluctuating quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Sakura started in the Crown Plaza hotel but now has many branches around Kuwait.

Last night, we had dinner at the Mahboola branch. Its located in a restaurant complex in front of the 'Al Fintas towers'. Its small with about 7 tables only but I like that location because its not as crowded as the city restaurants during the weekends.

We have been going there for years and overall Sakura serves high quality food. The quality is not constant but I guess it fluctuates between a 3.5 to 5/5.

I would recommend the Refai (Banzai) Prawns and Negimayaki for appetizer, Spider Roll Makimono, and the scotch salmon & King Prawns Teppanyaki.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Meshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Sakura is my favorite Japanese restaurant in kuwait. I'm in love with their menu. Great, fresh food. Would recommend the volcano makki, tareq makki, khaled makki, salmon only. Though i would like to request to bring the older ginger, the new one is bitter.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daisy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, must go hungry with a healthy appetite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Eaten here far too many times, just keep coming back for the brilliant food, can only be described as superb excellence

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aerotech44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sakura also viewed

 
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Kuwait City, Kuwait
 

Been to Sakura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing