We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hotel”
Review of Ibis Sharq Kuwait

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
Ranked #11 of 69 Hotels in Kuwait City
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    185
    55
    5
    4
See reviews for
33
29
52
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
357 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I will give credit where it is due and Ibis Sharq was perfect.
It is the first time I have stayed in an Ibis Hotel.
The staff are friendly, the hotel and room I stayed in was very clean. Very quiet; no traffic noise, no noise from adjoining rooms or outside of room.
Breakfast was good with a good selection that you would want for a breakfast. I'm sure some previous reviews may have been expecting a full array of foods, but it is only breakfast. Hot dishes, cereals, fruit, bread, cheese was available.
Thanks to all staff involved and thanks to housekeeping staff for doing a perfect job in having the room very clean and tidy.

Room Tip: I was in room 605.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiCzech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Sharq Kuwait, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comment posted on Tripadvisor website.

It is really appreciated.

We all look very much forward to welcome you again soon

Yours sincerely

Bruno Debray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Although that you will handle your luggage by your self but the hotel is new and clean with WIFI connection. the breakfast open buffet is changing some items everyday.
The bad thing is that rooms have only 2 electrical outlet on the desk one for the Cattle and other is the only one.. no more outlets beside the bed for example.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTawfik007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Sharq Kuwait, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback posted on Tripadvisor website.

It is truly appreciated.

Looking forward to welcome you again in near future.

Yours sincerely

Bruno Debray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This is basically like an Ibis you'd find anywhere else. The rooms are a good size, there is good air conditioning (for which the controller was buggy to use, but passable). The included breakfast was pretty abysmal. It was an attempt to simulate a western menu I suppose, but it really didn't succeed. At least there is food...
Staff were friendly thought we did not really tax them with requests.
Like everywhere else in Kuwait it feels like it's located in the middle of a building site, but that isn't really their fault.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenParsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Sharq Kuwait, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment posted on Tripadvisor website.

It is truly appreciated.

With regard to breakfast, we do have a brand standard in the region that we strictly follow, however, your feedback on the menu / selection will be taken into consideration next time we review the same.

Once again, thank you for your positive review overall.

Yours sincerely

Bruno Debray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013

1. Refrigerator was not working
2. child bed is not Comfortable
3. my bed was not Comfortable
4. Hot water was taking 5 min to come (room 501)
5. I was having problem with contolling the air condition (but it is fix).
6. The Battery in the remote control was weak

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank waleedkso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Sharq Kuwait, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and comment posted on Tripadvisor website.

In order to answer to your "complaint", in the most professional manner, I have sent you a message on your email with my contact details, hoping you will get in touch with me soon.

Once again, thank you for your interest and loyalty to the ibis family.

Yours sincerely

Bruno Debray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The hotel is not fancy, but the small room was clean , the bed was comfortable and the staff were very helpful with a wake up call, taxis and bringing me water, (after I had pumped my money into the machine that was out of order). I didnt have breakfast, so I cant comment on that, but I can recommend the hotel for a stay of a few nights, if you're on a business trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aus-wonderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Sharq Kuwait, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment posted on Tripadvisor website.

It is very appreciated.

Be assured that your constructive and positive feedback is a source of improvement for our service.

We are all looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Bruno Debray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
146 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

standardization of Ibis makes it very boring, there is no personalization or different taste for different Ibis in different cities, its becoming like McDonald.

And the service is getting lousier and lousier, I found a small bottle of water in my room,when finished, I called and asked for a large bottle, they said sure, and then nothing.
After 15 minutes, I called again and asked for the water again, they said they will send it but I must pay in cash. I shouted why should I pay in cash if they already blocked the value of my entire stay plus an extra night from my credit card???
And the amazing thing, is that it is not cheap, I paid USD 145 per night ??

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ehab_Heikal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Sharq Kuwait, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

If you feel that you have been left down by our service, I would like to apologize by all mean for any inconvience caused.

At ibis, it is our goal to apply the same quality procedures, ensuring ongoing improvement and consistent service.

In this regard, I am pleased to inform you that we have been certified ISO 9001 and 14001 after a successful audit conducted on 14th of May 2013.

We all are looking forward to welcome you again in near future.

Yours sincerely

Bruno Debray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuwait City hotels
1.2 mi away
Mirage Suites
Mirage Suites
#31 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Royal Hotel
Le Royal Hotel
#27 of 69 in Kuwait City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ibis Salmiya
Ibis Salmiya
#14 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
#9 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Tower Hotel Sharq
City Tower Hotel Sharq
#23 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gulf Rose Hotel
Gulf Rose Hotel
#33 of 69 in Kuwait City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Sharq Kuwait? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sharq Kuwait

Property: Ibis Sharq Kuwait
Address: Jaber Al Mubarak Street Sharq, Kuwait City, Kuwait
Phone Number:
Region: Kuwait > Kuwait City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kuwait City
#14 Business Hotel in Kuwait City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Sharq Kuwait 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located down town, in the business district of Sharq, near banks and government offices. Walking distance from Souk Sharq and Kuwait Towers. Next to the Hamra Mall and business Tower. Free WiFi, Free Coffee & Tea making facilities and Mini-fridge in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Sharq Kuwait reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Sharq Kuwait Hotel Kuwait City
Ibis Sharq Kuwait Kuwait City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing