We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Sharq Kuwait

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
Ranked #11 of 69 Hotels in Kuwait City
1 review
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed 3 times in this hotel and I love the environment soo much,, the staff where helpful and smiley all the time .. Clean room and comfortable bed ..
Small hotel but contains what a client need ..
I'll be in kuwait this weekend and definitly I'll choose it again ..
Wish you all the luck .....

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tagreed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Sharq Kuwait, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review posted on Tripadvisor website.
The best reward for us, is that you are pleased with our service.
We very much appreciate your comments.
Looking forward to welcome you again soon.
Yours sincerely
Bruno Debray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    174
    53
    5
    4
See reviews for
28
29
51
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Having lived in Kuwait for some years, I have eaten at most of the other hotels in the country and know that while they may be five star, the service often leaves a lot to be desired and overall, hotels are very expensive for what you get. This is because Kuwait is not on the list of great holiday destinations and holiday makers mostly come from Saudi Arabia or from within Kuwait itself where stateless Bedouins, overseas workers and Kuwaitis go for a weekend. The Ibis hotel is relatively new and is exactly like all the other Ibis hotels I have stayed in, right down to the brown and red stripish Austin Powers carpet! Rooms are standard small. But the bed is comfy, although it tends to move a bit on the platform, and the water is hot. There is tea making facilities in the room, and the blackout curtains go all the way across the window. Pay TV is supplied and there is a full length mirror and safe in the room. Air con can be adjusted. The hotel is ideally located behind the 90 floor Al Hamra mall and office block and close to Kuwait business and financial district. It is a short taxi ride or good half hour walk slowly to Souq Shark - which is a nice little shopping centre on the water. The restaurant is fine, although nothing to write home about- good solid menu and breakfast is fine. Waitress Evelyn is very good in the restaurant and knowledgeable about the menu. Free wifi which works in the room is good. Rooms are clean and the reception staff, are very good. As it was a quite time for visiting Kuwait, I was allowed to enter my room early - very good after a 14 hour flight. I really appreciated this. Taxi fare from the airport is now 8kd and unless you have friends picking you up you have to use the airport taxi.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Finneasfogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Sharq Kuwait, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review and for your effort to share your feedback on Tripadvisor website.
It is genuinely appreciated.
We all look very much forward to welcome you again soon.
Yours sincerely
Bruno Debray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Helpful polite staff. Typical Ibis with very cramped & badly laid out room & alas, very damaged walls in the most cramped spaces. And someone had the bright idea to paint some of the bedroom walls red which gives the impression that the room is even smaller than it actually is. Housekeeping would need to be a little more thorough as there was lots of dust in the corners etc. Shower-room an acceptable size & acceptably clean. Breakfast poor value for money & desperately needs to be improved - foul tasting orange squash & lousy croissants etc. (what a major failing for a French hotel chain!).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelerParisFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Sharq Kuwait, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your thorough review posted on Tripadvisor website.
I am pleased to hear that you are satisfied with our service.
I also took note of your remark with regard to breakfast and it is a point that I take,
However, for your information, our croissant and danish are made with pur butter and are coming from France as per ibis brand standard.
Thank you once again for your effort to share the feedback.
We all are looking forward to welcome you again soon.
Yours sincerely
Bruno Debray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mecca, Saudi Arabia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

every time i come to Kuwait stay in Ibis i like to book there because i feel always not guest but feel member from Ibis family,the filipina receptionist smile in my face saying welcome to me ,i really feel happy. The service is excellent, rooms is very clean, the bed is comfortable.Thanks Thanks Ibis stuff always on head step

Room Tip: high floor seaview and non smoking room is very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fahad a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Sharq Kuwait, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your positive review posted on Tripadvisor website.
It is very appreciated and it will be shared with the team indeed.
We all are looking forward to welcome you again soon.
Yours sincerely
Bruno Debray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights on a recent business trip to kuwait. Very clean hotel, room has everything you need & a very comfy bed & fast free wifi. Very good value compared to other chains when staying in Kuwait. Would use again on a business trip.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob_Robinson1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Sharq Kuwait, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your efforts to share your feedback on Tripadvisor website.
It is truly rewarding for us to know that you had a pleasant stay at Ibis Sharq.
We all look very much forward to welcome you again soon.
Yours sincerely
Bruno Debray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed here for five nights during November 2013 while visiting Kuwait as tourists.

The hotel is, as you can expect from a hotel from the Ibis chain, not very cosy, but it is very clean and up to date. In the vicinity there is the Alhamra tower with luxury shopping mall, several fastfood chains and a cinema. Just around the corner there is also the Green Apple restaurant, which I also recommend. If you want a cheap snack or water bottles, there are two small Indian shops where you can buy these. A taxi from the airport to the hotel costs 8 KD and the ride takes about 15 minutes.

We got a standard double room on the 19th floor. The room is small, but adequate. Everything you need is there. The beds are comfortable. Minibar was empty, but personally that doesn't bother me, because I take anything from a minibar anyway...

Having a room on the 19th floor offers a great view, but in retrospect I would recommend getting a room on the 16th or 17th floor. During two nights the wind was blowing quite hard and apparently the Ibis sign on top of the building isn't mounted sufficiently, which caused it to bang against the wall of our room constantly.

Bathroom also small, but adequate. There were no complimentary toiletries, but there is a handsoap dispenser next to the sink and a shower gel dispenser in the shower. Towels are changed every day. It did take quite a while before there was any hot water every time I wanted to shower.

The hotel offers free Wifi, but there isn't any signal on the half of the room that's furthest away from the door when using my iphone. With my macbook I didn't have any problems.

One evening we ate at the restaurant (OOPEN Pasta & Grill), which is open 24/7 and reasonably priced. Atmosphere is quite sterile, not very cozy.

The service desk is open 24/7 and the staff is quite friendly, although seriously lacking knowledge when it comes to tourist information. Tourism is seriously small in Kuwait, and as a tourist you are basically forced to stay at a business hotel, but even the simplest questions regarding tourist highlights such as the Kuwait Towers (turned out to be closed for renovation), the Tareq Rajab Museum or the National Museum, can not be answered.

As we wanted to send a few holiday cards, we asked the staff at the service desk if they could post these for us, since it is hard to find a mailbox. They said this would not be a problem, so we gave our holiday cards properly stamped. Unfortunately, up to now one month later, none of the five cards we sent were ever delivered. So I would advise against having the staff post any mail for you.

In short, Ibis Sharq hotel is an affordable business hotel in a city full of very expensive alternatives. When on a business trip, not caring about any ambiance etc, it offers everything you need. For the tourist the service is somewhat lacking. Compared to the alternatives (which are either more expensive or run-down) however, I would still recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tatjana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Sharq Kuwait, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive and constructive comments posted on Tripadvisor website.
They are very much appreciated.
We all look forward to welcome you again in near future.
Yours sincerely
Bruno Debray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level Contributor
6,246 reviews
261 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9,725 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

l have visited this hotel on an occasion of visiting some of my old customer fm India staying at this hotel as l was also staying at nearby Ritz Sharq Hotel.Very cosy lobby with very kind reception staff.Checked the room with my friend and it was quite ok with this chain's standarts.Room rate starting at about KWD.30.- was very reasonable for this kind of quality hotel in this part of the city.If you are here for business and do not spend too much time at yr hotel room,just for sleeping,then this is one of the best choices in its category at this good price level for Kuwait.Very clean hotel.
There is a shopping Mall close to hotel where you can eat at some nice and overpriced restaurants like Bice/Italian or Le Sushi/Japanese.There are also Pİzza Hut and Mc Donalds around the hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank junior1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Sharq Kuwait, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your effort to share the feedback on Tripadvisor website.
It is truly appreciated and your comments will be pass onto the team indeed.
We all look forward to welcome you again soon.
Yours sincerely
Bruno Debray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuwait City hotels
1.2 mi away
Mirage Suites
Mirage Suites
#30 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ibis Salmiya
Ibis Salmiya
#14 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Royal Hotel
Le Royal Hotel
#27 of 69 in Kuwait City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
#9 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Tower Hotel Sharq
City Tower Hotel Sharq
#23 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
7.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Kuwait
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Sharq Kuwait? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sharq Kuwait

Property: Ibis Sharq Kuwait
Address: Jaber Al Mubarak Street Sharq, Kuwait City, Kuwait
Phone Number:
Region: Kuwait > Kuwait City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kuwait City
#14 Business Hotel in Kuwait City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Sharq Kuwait 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located down town, in the business district of Sharq, near banks and government offices. Walking distance from Souk Sharq and Kuwait Towers. Next to the Hamra Mall and business Tower. Free WiFi, Free Coffee & Tea making facilities and Mini-fridge in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and ACCOR so you can book your Ibis Sharq Kuwait reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Sharq Kuwait Hotel Kuwait City
Ibis Sharq Kuwait Kuwait City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing