We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star venue but not service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Kuwait City
Certificate of Excellence
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“5 star venue but not service”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This is the newest hotel in Kuwait and i have stayed in all the others before and this is quite new and different, 5 star rooms and restaurants but i will be fair to give it 3 star rating based on the service and this is a concluded after staying there twice.

1. Rooms are nice and fancy and spacious.
2. Location, not in the city but anywhere in Kuwait is near if there was no traffic.
3. Food is great, room service and breakfast. the stakehouse is amazing.
4.check in and check out: it takes for ever to find your reservation, always plan to spare an hour of your life when you check in and check out.
4. Cleanness: I was given a room with a dirty bath tub, asked them to clean it and no one did even the second day when they cleaned the room anyway! they were claiming to be busy due to the level of occupancy, but they should be staffed to operate at the highest rate of occupancy!

the second stay, there was blood in some of the towels, i did ask the reception to change them, so they brought me bunch of new towels which some were dirty! i gave up eventually after that!

If you can keep up with nice rooms and food but no service, go for it, there will be no other hotel in Kuwait like this.

Good luck!

Room Tip: Any room will be good despite the floor or location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoeBhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMichaelNilsen, Business Excellence Manager at Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review about our hotel on Tripadvisor. We were happy to read, that for the most part, you enjoyed your stay and the products we have to offer.
We were however, concerned about the challenge you faced with reception and housekeeping services. Your comments have been forwarded to the respective management teams so that the standard of their service can be raised. Thank you so much for letting us know and bringing it to our notice.
We hope to offer Kuwait the Best in Class service – both in terms of product and services. We look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you to Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel and offering you the hospitality Jumeirah is renowned for.
Yours sincerely,
Michael Nilsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    80
    27
    10
    10
See reviews for
107
58
16
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ascot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This was our first trip to Kuwait and to the Jumeirah hotel, the room was fab, the food was first class, and the staff are wonderful. The spa treatments we had were fantastic. The pepper steak Resturant was great, the best steak we have had in a hotel or Resturant for a long time.
The gym was very good all thee equipment was 1st class. The swimming pools are wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkGriffiths, General Manager at Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your beautiful comment about Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel and Spa and for recommending us on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to learn you have enjoyed the hotel facilities including our incredible Spa treatments. Thank you for acknowledgment of the dining quality in Pepper restaurant and the recreational facilities, as well as high level of customer service provided by our incredible colleagues.

I have shared your comments with all our staff members and they are equally happy that you had a brilliant holiday with us and looking forward welcoming you back at Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel and Spa.

Yours Sincerely
Mark Griffiths
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Hofuf, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

An admirable 5 star hotel with high level on providing unparalleled luxury and opulence. This hotel is considered the newest at Kuwait city, which is inherited with so many old hotels. The hotel location is excellent and very close to a main ring road that easily connects you to other major shopping/tourist locations inside the Kuwait city. The hotel is right on the front of the beach, and the good thing it has its own private beach, although it is bit a small area. The executive lounge operating hours is very limited, where it closes at 10:30 PM. This is very disappointed and I felt that my money was wasted to pay extra charges for reserving club level room. Also, the food selection in the executive lounge is very limited. Overall, the level of this lounge is giving the wrong message about Jumeirah luxury services. The hotel doses not offered free utilization of the steam/ Jacozi rooms; this is odd and diminish the hotel big name reputation.

Room Tip: Excutive club rooms are very larg
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adnan-Almuslem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkGriffiths, General Manager at Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review about our hotel on Tripadvisor. We were certainly pleased to read that, for the most part, your recent stay at Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel and Spa was a pleasant one.

Thank you for your feedback about the executive lounge. Our Executive Lounge is presented as a comfortable business space, exclusively reserved for executive room guests with complimentary snacks offered throughout the day, to ensure that the guest has no need to visit restaurant during his business meetings or working time. We offer a wide buffet selection at our Garden Café restaurant and various other dining options across the hotel.

With regards to our Spa facilities and experience, we apologize for the inconvenience you faced. As part of our Spa Journey entry charges, in addition to the steam, sauna and hydropool facilities available at most hotels, we also offer unique experiences such as a Himalayan Salt room, color therapy room and snow room at no extra cost. However, we do appreciate your concern and are currently considering changes in the access procedure for our in house guests.

Again thank you very much for your valuable comments. I hope that the other aspects of our service enabled you to have a pleasant and relaxing stay. We would welcome the pleasure of serving you again to restore your confidence in our service.

Yours Sincerely
Mark Griffiths
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Really feel good and excellent service provided by hotel. The view of the hotel was really not so good. Only few room are sea view. Housekeeping team are great. Making animal towel folding we're great.. We feel WOW, when we enter our room elephant was standing on my bed and I feel he is welcoming me. It's really different experience we had in this hotel. Breakfast was really nice.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Khem R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkGriffiths, General Manager at Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review about Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa on Tripadvisor. We were really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and experienced the memorable guest experience that is – “The Stay Different” Promise.
All our teams are committed to ensuring that the guests are well taken care of and enjoy themselves during their stay. We are glad that you were delighted by our services and the unique animal towel folds.
We look forward to welcoming you back at Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel and Spa and offering you our hospitality.
Yours sincerely
Mark Griffiths
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carencro, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We travel to Kuwait twice a year for 10 days to visit my husband's family. We usually stay at Movenpick, but decided to try Jumeirah. We are a party of 7, and and initially stayed on the 1st floor in one of the deluxe rooms. This room was great for the most part, however, the corner wall entering the master bedroom already has structural damage, and the walls were discolored and dirty in some areas. We did not have much of a view, so we requested an upgrade. This was on the 3rd floor, room 3209. We were extremely pleased with this room, as the rooms are large and spacious and extremely comfortable. Cleaning staff did an excellent job, and valet and general wait staff were extremely polite and attentive to our needs. There are many restaurants in this hotel to choose from and they have an excellent buffet. The outside area has many cafe's, and the pool and kid water park area is very clean and well maintained. As you walk onto the beach area, everything is well manicured and the view are spectacular. This is my new hotel of choice going forward for each visit we take.

Room Tip: I would not recommend the 1st floor, as the hotel staff have private offices here, the side we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkGriffiths, General Manager at Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your excellent comments regarding your recent stay with our hotel. I was very pleased to read that your recent stay at Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel was a comfortable one. I have shared your comments regarding attentiveness of the staff with the entire team. My team works really hard at delivering the high level of guest service that Jumeirah is renowned for, and it is always rewarding to know when our efforts have been successful.
I have spoken to the concerned team regarding the challenge you faced and they are working on rectifying the issue so as to not inconvenience any guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel and Spa the next time that you are visiting family in Kuwait. We have just recently opened an Italian restaurant Olio at the beach area with beautiful sea views and we believe you will enjoy it within your coming visit.
Once again thank you for your positive comments and for taking the time to post them on Trip Advisor. They really mean a lot and we hope to meet your expectations every time you stay with us.
Yours sincerely,
Mark Griffiths
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Room rate was very expensive maybe because of EID Season. There are so many security staffs everywhere and every time you are stopped by them to be questioned about your room number before entering and exiting the hotel, using elevator, visiting the pool, while walking in the corridors, the thing which makes it really annoying and feel no privacy. It makes you feel that you are a violator but not a valuable hotel guest. Security is always good and a must but it should be performed correctly and professionally.
Waiters in the lobby are confused and don't know the procedures of taking order and charging it to the room. My wife was asked to pay only in cash while she had gathering with some of her visitors and the waiter refused to charge the bill to the room claiming it was not allowed but only by cash !!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Khalid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkGriffiths, General Manager at Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review about our hotel on Tripadvisor. We value all our guests and were distressed to learn that your stay with Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel and Spa made you feel anything less than valuable. Please let me assure you, that is not case and we look forward to welcoming all our guests.
We would like to extend our apologies for the inconvenience you encountered with our security service. We are concerned that our high standards in this area were not reflected during your stay. Our intentions are to maintain a secure environment for all our guests whilst ensuring a comfortable stay.
We are concerned about the confusion you encountered while being billed in Lobby Lounge and we are actively looking into the case to resolve it. Your comments have been forwarded to the respective management teams so that the standard of their service can be raised. Thank you so much for letting us know and bringing it to our notice.
It is certainly not the intention of Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel to inconvenience its guests, and we hope you will accept our apologies. I believe, we will have another opportunity to welcome you to Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel and let you feel the hospitality Jumeirah is renowned for.

Yours sincerely,
Mark Griffiths
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel is only three months old. Great friendly helpful staff. Rooms very good quality. Pools etc fantastic. 7 different restaurants (highly recommend Peppers). Great kids club to free parents up from the children. Short distance to central Kuwait by taxi (roughly 5 Kuwait Dinar). In short, when in Kuwait stay here!!!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkGriffiths, General Manager at Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for beautiful comment about Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel and Spa and sharing this on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to hear you were delighted with the hotel facilities, the amazing kids club and our ambient restaurants. Thank you very much for recommending our restaurant Pepper.

I have shared your comment with the entire team and we all at Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel and Spa are happy that your stay with us was enjoyable, and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours Sincerely
Mark Griffiths
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuwait City hotels
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Kuwait
3.3 mi away
The Regency Kuwait
The Regency Kuwait
#2 of 13 in Salmiyah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
5.4 mi away
Symphony Style Hotel Kuwait
Symphony Style Hotel Kuwait
#3 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Movenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait
11.8 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
#9 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
9.5 mi away
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
#11 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: Al Ta'awun Street | Messilah, Kuwait City, Kuwait
Region: Kuwait > Kuwait City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kuwait City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuwait City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jumeirah International, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa Kuwait/Kuwait City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing