We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gate Restaurant Friday Brunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 70 Hotels in Kuwait City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We decided to try this restaurant for Friday buffet lunch as there was a voucher in the Entertainer Book. We have been to a few Friday Brunches in Dubai and were keen to see how the Kuwait version compared. We were not disappointed. Lovely location in this beautiful hotel. Wonderful selection of food- Italian, seafood, Arabic and Asian mainly but also a children's section. The quality of the food was excellent as were the fresh juices, sodas and coffees ( all included in the price). The staff were excellent, very attentive, happy and helpful. Excellent value for money and a perfect way to spend a Friday.
The inside of the hotel and it's inner courtyard are so more more attractive than the external appearance of the hotel suggests.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank bravo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMichaelNilsen, Business Excellence Manager at Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review about our hotel on Tripadvisor. We were really happy to read that you enjoyed dining with us and experienced the memorable guest experience that is – “The Stay Different” Promise.

We are pleased with your recognition of the Friday brunch as well as the picturesque scenery of the hotel garden and your evaluation of the service team.

I shared your comments with the entire team and they are equally happy that they could make your stay so enjoyable and looking forward to welcome you back at Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel and Spa and offering you our hospitality.

Yours Sincerely
Michael Nilsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 386 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

Fantastic in all respects and great value for money.

The service and customer care were excellent.

The setting inside the austere outside is just exceptional.

Mr room had only a bath...the design is bad as when you use a shower the water is drained in channels around the bath to fall on the floorvat two points. Pity ! The floor of the bathroom becomes soaking wet...but there are plenty of towels to mop up. Cannot see an easy solution to this problem


Please leave me a room for my next visit !!

Only drawback was, as always, the terrible Kuwait traffic circulation !

Room Tip: Views to the sea are good but rooms a little noisy. Suggest rooms with internal view. Take a room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PiratesofStMalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMichaelNilsen, Business Excellence Manager at Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent feedback from your recent stay at the Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel and Spa. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, it is always a pleasure to learn that we are delivering the high level of customer service that Jumeirah is renowned for.

I appreciate your comments on experience with shower as well as your understanding of it. We are currently looking for alternatives how to neatly and efficiently fix this project lapse.

Once again, thank you for taking the time and sharing your review on the TripAdvisor. I have shared your comments with the entire team, and they are all equally happy and looking forward welcoming you back at Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel and Spa within your next Kuwait visit.

Yours sincerely
Michael Nilsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed for 2 nights during last week of march,2014. The property standards are less then 2 star. The worst experience was their 'Garden cafe' restaurant, where the staff is rude, hardly trained and the overall condition was very unhygienic. The waiters didn't bother cleaning the table or remove the used plates. Upon escalation to their F&B director he hardly bothered nor seemed to understand. The place is a disgrace to jumeirah standards, don't be fooled by the name. There r much better and superior places and hotels with excellent customer service in Kuwait. Will never visit again nor recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali_maryam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMichaelNilsen, Business Excellence Manager at Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your comments posted on the Tripadvisor. We are sorry we did not have the opportunity to discuss all your concerns during your stay.

As a company we greatly value our guests feedback as we constantly strive to maintain the highest level of service at all the times. We were therefore concerned to read that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you. We would like to assure you that we have taken corrective action where required so that we exceed your expectations in during the next visit.

Kindly please advise us, what will be the most convenient way to contact you and discuss the details of your stay. Having more information is important for us and we believe we can restore your confidence in Jumeirah within your next visit.

Once again thank you very much for taking your time to post the comments on Tripadvisor. We look forward welcoming you back in Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel and Spa.

Yours Sincerely
Michael Nilsen
Michael.nilsen@jumeirah.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

As residents of Kuwait, we just wanted to try one of the hotels for one night. This hotel is recently opened after long time of complete building design and new managemen. From the outside, the hotel looks great and inside it has a huge lobby. The most amazing thing was the garden with the attached swimming pools and fountains. It was so lovely to walk along this garden and reach the beautiful seashore connected to it. The room was spacious and beautifully furnished with all amenities. The bathroom was big and had shower and tub. We enjoyed the breakfast in the garden restaurant where you have a choice of sitting inside or outside overlooking the garden. They had great choice of food, arabic and international with delicious taste . The hotel had shuttle transport to the airport and other places in the city. You have to use a car to go around to shopping areas and this is easily provided in the hotel. The hotel have a choice of chalets which you can rent instead of having an ordinary room and most of the rooms and chalets have a nice view of the garden and the sea.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the garden and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NanaMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMichaelNilsen, Business Excellence Manager at Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your excellent comments regarding your recent stay with our hotel. We were very pleased to read that your recent stay at Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel was a comfortable one.
Our team works really hard at delivering the high level of guest service that Jumeirah is renowned for, and it is always rewarding to know when our efforts have been successful.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and very shortly we will have Salt (Seafood specialty restaurant) opening its doors to guests. It offers delicious food in the excellent design concept.

Once again thank you for your positive comments and for taking the time to post them on Trip Advisor. They really mean a lot and we hope to meet your expectations every time you stay with us.

Yours sincerely,
Michael Nilsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Jumeirah's customer service started at Kuwait Airport, we were met by a staff member who whisked us through passport control, customs and sorted our visa's out. A short car journey to the hotel where we were met with a refreshing fruit juice and given our rooms (even though it was only 9.00am). My room was on the fifth floor overlooking the water park, sadly it did play host to some party which was a little noisy - no fault of the hotel. Every staff member was courteous and was a credit to the hotel. The breakfast menu was very extensive and was always fresh, I also ate in the Mint, the prices seemed very reasonable and the food was nice. My colleagues and I attended a function in the Badriah Ballroom on the Saturday night (also attended by the Crown Prince) and the food was excellent.

My room was marvellous with a king size bed, 50+ channel television, minibar and electric blinds. I benefited from free wifi and access to the business centre.

I would recommend this hotel as the place to stay when visiting Kuwait

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Andywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMichaelNilsen, Business Excellence Manager at Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review about our hotel on Tripadvisor. We were really happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and experienced the memorable guest experience that is – “The Stay Different” Promise.

All our colleagues are committed to ensuring that the guests are well taken care of and enjoy themselves during their stay. We are glad that we were able to delight you and are very thankful for your recommendation.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel and Spa and offering you our hospitality.

Yours sincerely
Michael Nilsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We just left Kuwait and booked Jumeirah on 3/1. Very pleased once again with this hotel. We are often quick to complain, but never compliment. This hotel is absolutely beautiful from the inside all the way to the perfectly manicured gardens outside. The views are breathtaking. I feel very secure inside this hotel, with all the staff around. Valet is very prompt and courteous. They constantly offer to unload everything in your car any time you have bags, always with a smile on their face. Cleaning staff is there every day and cleans the room well. I am a stickler for cleanliness, especially bedding and bathrooms. I have never had an issue here. The bedrooms all come with Dvd players. This is wonderful for those traveling with children. There are many channels to choose from. Free wi-fi, never had an issue with losing a connection, etc., speed of internet is great.

The only negative is minor. I wish they would leave towels in the kitchen. If you wash dishes, or wash your hands, you have nothing to dry off on. The rooms should come with convertors for international travelers or guests should be asked upon check in if any needed. Water should be stocked accorded to the # of guests in the room. We only received 3 to 6 bottles per day, and we are a family of 8. These go very fast, and my kids are crazy for Jumeirah's water.

Regardless, we will continue to book again and again. Such a great hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMichaelNilsen, Business Excellence Manager at Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kindness and sharing your review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. We were really happy to welcome you to our hotel and offer you our hospitality.

The fact that we could meet your expectations and provide you with the best that Jumeirah is renowned for – itself is a reward for us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the services at the hotel.

We have forwarded your feedback about the extra kitchen towel and the bottles of water to the appropriate team for their consideration and action.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel and Spa and exceeding your expectations as always.

Yours sincerely
Michael Nilsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Jumeirah Beach Hotel March 2-6. Overall the stay was excellent. The staff make every effort to be friendly and helpful. The pools and outside area are very beautiful (the pool is heated the perfect temperature). The gym is very nice and the trainers very friendly. I didn't use the tennis courts but they looked great as well.

Our room included buffet breakfast which had a great selection and was delicious. We didn't try many other food options in the resort as we found them very pricey.

The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. I'm looking to find the same mattress and duvet for my own bed.

We took advantage of the airport pickup service. We were picked up from the airport in a Cadillac Escalade and returned to the aiport in an Audi. The drivers were great and extremely helpful.

I do have a couple minor areas for improvement.

1. Upon check in we were offered juice which was very nice. We took the two glasses to our room to finish the juice. The cleaning staff left the 2 dirty glasses in our room for all 4 days our of stay. That seems to be a strange oversight.

2. The room lights, heat, etc are all controlled electronically. There were a couple of times where the controls were not working for whatever reason and we couldn't change anything in our room. Eventually the system just started working again.

3. This isn't the resorts failure but there are very few amenities near the hotel but outside of the resort. There is a gas station and a burger king but that is all I saw within walking distance.

Overall our stay was great and I will return any time I am in Kuwait.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oc64Edmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMichaelNilsen, Business Excellence Manager at Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. Your encouraging compliments are certainly appreciated and will be passed on to our staff to let them know that their efforts do not go unnoticed by our guests.

We take enormous pride in our service and facilities, and it is always rewarding to know when our efforts have been successful.

With regards to your suggestions for improvement, we are actually in the process of testing out a revised and updated room comfort control system which will make the guest experience a much better experience overall. However, we want to thank you for the feedback.

Finally, thank you again for your positive comments. We at Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel and Spa are happy that your stay with us was enjoyable, and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely
Michael Nilsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuwait City hotels
3.3 mi away
The Regency Hotel Kuwait
The Regency Hotel Kuwait
#1 of 14 in Salmiyah
580 reviews
3.5 mi away
Movenpick Hotel & Resort Al Bida'a Kuwait
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Kuwait
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Symphony Style Hotel Kuwait
Symphony Style Hotel Kuwait
#3 of 70 in Kuwait City
580 reviews
9.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Kuwait at Burj Alshaya
6.0 mi away
Safir Hotel and Residences Kuwait
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Al Ta'awun Street | Messilah, Kuwait City, Kuwait
Region: Kuwait > Kuwait City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kuwait City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuwait City
Price Range: £240 - £449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jumeirah International, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa Kuwait/Kuwait City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing