We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, A great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Kuwait City
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, A great Hotel”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed here when I was in Kuwait for work. Compared to the other places Ive stayed in Kuwait this place probably had the most friendliest staff. Great atmosphere the food was great. Overall this place is outstanding.

Only 15 mins from the Airport and good breakfast and room service.

Spend some time looking at the pictures of how badly it was damaged during the gulf war.

Room Tip: The club rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harsha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    161
    27
    6
    11
See reviews for
37
17
23
394
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We I must say this visit was interesting, four countries five hotels. This was my first time ever in Kuwait and I was kooking forward to seeing this place. I selected the crown because there were no InterContinentals there yet. (NOT UNTIL 2016) the outside was having major construction that they did not advertise. The room was very nice and the young man that took care of my room did a great job. There about 7 different restaurants but if your day started before 6 you are going to be hungry. I love the fact that the gym is 24/7 and on the property. The only negative part was I was not given my embassy rate so I paid almost 700 USD more. But the fixed my rate only after I proved with a 45 min phone call that the government rate was requested. But the greaat thing is they fixed it. So now next week I am headed back there for about 8 days.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

I had my first and only bad Crowne Plaza experience a some weeks ago in Dubai. I was surprised since I've always had good experiences staying with them.
However, Crowne Plaza Kuwait reestablished their reputation in my book. This hotel really show an honest intention to serve its clients. You can tell when there's a business card in the room saying;
You've got my number, Ramy Haykal General Manager.
The layout of the hotel offers some really nice hideout restaurants. I truly recommend the Lebanese restaurant on the second floor for Shisha and soccer on the big screens.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterGustafssonDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Very nice hotel. Rooms are clean and well taken care of. Staff is very polite, helpful, and friendly. Excellent wifi. Health club is large and open 24 hrs which is wonderful! I was greeted by name this morning when I went down to get my car. Pool is beautiful. Food is excellent. Will be looking forward to staying again on the next trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jstrahler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
144 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

You feel bad after having spent 4 nights in this good hotel not to have enjoyed your stay really. While the hotel is not responsible for its noisy guests, the rooms are not sound proof enough and you feel that people are in your room! The many restaurants in its lobby makes it impossible to sleep before 12 especially when the music is playing. Otherwise, staff is great, nice pool, good for a business trip for its vicinity to the airport

Room Tip: Aim for rooms not facing lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cew00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This is my 3rd Time in the Hotel, and although traveling on Business previously with colleges, I decided to take my wife with me this time knowing that she would be looked after during my absence in the day. As usual the hotel offered Luxury and a high quality of service. The room was spacious and of a very good and clean standard, after a day working the Jacuzzi was welcome relaxation. Breakfast catered for all nationalities with cooking station offering Eggs in every format, freshly squeezed fruit was also offered. The pool and poolside mostly used by my wife was clean and spacious, the poolside bar offered drinks and snacks.
Small minor distraction was on arrival from airport which was in the early hours (3am) the courtesy car from the hotel was not available, the Crown plaza stand in the airport was unmanned and we had to wait for service, which provided a normal taxi (however apologies were made and costs covered by the Hotel for the Taxi fare). Will return on my next visit to Kuwait.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

One of the renowned hotel's in Kuwait, just about the closest to the airport. Spacious ballroom, pretty interiors, great restaurant options. I had a worthwhile experience dining at the Japanese Sakura!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuwait City hotels
6.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
#9 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
9.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Kuwait
Holiday Inn Kuwait
#5 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
7.6 mi away
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
#11 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Kuwait
7.3 mi away
Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa
7.9 mi away
The Regency Kuwait
The Regency Kuwait
#2 of 13 in Salmiyah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City

Property: Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City
Address: P.O. Box 18544 Farwaniya, Kuwait City 81006, Kuwait (Formerly Crowne Plaza Kuwait City)
Phone Number:
Region: Kuwait > Kuwait City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kuwait City
#4 Spa Hotel in Kuwait City
#5 Business Hotel in Kuwait City
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kuwait City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City is the authentic urban resort and business hotel in Kuwait. We are conveniently located within 20 minutes from the major government & corporate offices, and only 5 minutes to The Grand Avenues Mall, and 360 Shopping Mall and Golf Club. Kuwait International Airport is only a 5-minute drive away. Business and leisure travelers alike will appreciate the lush grounds and the prestigious High ways in which you will find many experiences to last a lifetime. Enjoy the largest free-form swimming pool. Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City offers 300 guestrooms with a variety of Pool view, suites and club floor rooms. The Hotel is equipped to host business meetings & social gatherings with eighteen flexible function rooms, and three grand ballrooms that accommodates up to 500 guests. 24-hour business centre with high-speed Internet access and Free Wi-Fi in all the guest rooms and meeting rooms that make doing business a snap. We offer wide choice of restaurants serving International cuisine, Iranian, Japanese, Middle Eastern, Far Eastern, American and seafood specialties. The renowned Spa and health Club invites guests to a variety of marvelous experiences with outstanding recreational facilities including a 24-hour gym, tennis, squash, swimming pools and numerous massage treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kuwait City
Crowne Plaza Kuwait City
Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City Kuwait City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing