We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City
Ranked #8 of 69 Hotels in Kuwait City
Certificate of Excellence
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice comfortable stay”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Kuwait for 21 nights. Overall the hotel was nice and the hotel staff was pleasant and with a very serviceable attitude. The fitness facilities and the pool was just great not to mention the free Internet. Rooms were very comfy and the only downside was that they could have better illuminated. In a nutshell a good hotel and especially for business travelers.

Room Tip: The neighborhood of the hotel seemed a bit rough in the beginning but walking through it we managed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thordersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    163
    27
    6
    11
See reviews for
37
17
23
400
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raipur, India
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed with my family in Crowne Plaza in Novemebr 2012. Wonderful infra with great and lavish rooms, with good facilities. Friendly staff and delicious food is served in cuisine restaurants.

Lobby is beautifully done and it has some memoirs of War also, when the hotel was hit badly. Cafe Shop, Bakery Shop, Chocolate Shop, etc makes this hotel unique. Gym along with Swimming pool, and other amenities add value to hotel.

Pleasant stay in Kuwait!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hakimuddin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Good hotel, comfortable room, staff is polite, but some improvements could be done especially when ordering a taxi as I've had to wait twice 10 minutes even though I booked early enough the taxi!
The breakfast was alright but nothing exceptional.
Same for the gym, nothing exceptional either.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reza F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Reza F,

Thank you for staying with us and providing a review for our property. I am pleased to know that you found your comfortable room commendable.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced regarding your wait time for transportation and the hotel amenities. We have identified the issue in regard to this and are working diligently on training to ensure that our guests do not have the same issue.

Thank you again and we hope to be of service to you should your travel plans bring you to the same area.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Home away from home!! Not really....because the hotel boasts of some very opulent interiors, many restaurants, a well equipeed gym and spa- but definately a place you"d want to be if you are away from home! What makes it comfortable is very friendly and eager to help staff,delicious food and decent rooms! Truly a very good choice! Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iloilo City, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Crown plaza always had a friendly staff.. The place is so outstanding . The service is so excellent. Love to stay here.When visitng kuwait, crown plaza is the best place to stay. If you need something there are alot of shops near the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrla090984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed here when I was in Kuwait for work. Compared to the other places Ive stayed in Kuwait this place probably had the most friendliest staff. Great atmosphere the food was great. Overall this place is outstanding.

Only 15 mins from the Airport and good breakfast and room service.

Spend some time looking at the pictures of how badly it was damaged during the gulf war.

Room Tip: The club rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harsha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We I must say this visit was interesting, four countries five hotels. This was my first time ever in Kuwait and I was kooking forward to seeing this place. I selected the crown because there were no InterContinentals there yet. (NOT UNTIL 2016) the outside was having major construction that they did not advertise. The room was very nice and the young man that took care of my room did a great job. There about 7 different restaurants but if your day started before 6 you are going to be hungry. I love the fact that the gym is 24/7 and on the property. The only negative part was I was not given my embassy rate so I paid almost 700 USD more. But the fixed my rate only after I proved with a 45 min phone call that the government rate was requested. But the greaat thing is they fixed it. So now next week I am headed back there for about 8 days.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuwait City
7.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Kuwait
7.9 mi away
The Regency Kuwait
The Regency Kuwait
#1 of 13 in Salmiyah
532 reviews
9.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Kuwait
Holiday Inn Kuwait
#7 of 69 in Kuwait City
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kuwait Al Thuraya City
7.6 mi away
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
#11 of 69 in Kuwait City
349 reviews
8.8 mi away
Symphony Style Hotel Kuwait
Symphony Style Hotel Kuwait
#3 of 69 in Kuwait City
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City

Property: Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City
Address: P.O. Box 18544 Farwaniya, Kuwait City 81006, Kuwait (Formerly Crowne Plaza Kuwait City)
Phone Number:
Region: Kuwait > Kuwait City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kuwait City
#5 Business Hotel in Kuwait City
#5 Spa Hotel in Kuwait City
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kuwait City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City is the authentic urban resort and business hotel in Kuwait. We are conveniently located within 20 minutes from the major government & corporate offices, and only 5 minutes to The Grand Avenues Mall, and 360 Shopping Mall and Golf Club. Kuwait International Airport is only a 5-minute drive away. Business and leisure travelers alike will appreciate the lush grounds and the prestigious High ways in which you will find many experiences to last a lifetime. Enjoy the largest free-form swimming pool. Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City offers 300 guestrooms with a variety of Pool view, suites and club floor rooms. The Hotel is equipped to host business meetings & social gatherings with eighteen flexible function rooms, and three grand ballrooms that accommodates up to 500 guests. 24-hour business centre with high-speed Internet access and Free Wi-Fi in all the guest rooms and meeting rooms that make doing business a snap. We offer wide choice of restaurants serving International cuisine, Iranian, Japanese, Middle Eastern, Far Eastern, American and seafood specialties. The renowned Spa and health Club invites guests to a variety of marvelous experiences with outstanding recreational facilities including a 24-hour gym, tennis, squash, swimming pools and numerous massage treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Kuwait City
Crowne Plaza Kuwait City
Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City Kuwait City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing