We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le Royal - Kuwait - Arabian Gulf Road”
Review of Le Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Royal Hotel
Ranked #27 of 69 Hotels in Kuwait City
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I am a regular in this Hotel, and i check in each time i visit Kuwait, the area is very convenient to reach any part of the city within a reasonable time. the equipment's are fine and working properly. the only thing that i hate in all hotels is the loud sound coming from decked A/C's. i wish they start using something more like split units instead.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the seaside, the view is nice in the morning.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Le Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

This was a company choice for the hotel in Kuwait - and presumably the booking made economic sense. The hotel has positives. Friendly helpful staff, comfortable bed. But the negatives, for me, would make me look elsewhere in the city. My first room had a connecting door - leading to a 2.30 am wake up call by noisy neighbours. Their smoking (on a non-smoking floor) seeped under the door. The view from the de luxe room - is of a commencing building site … with window sound proofing not cutting out the noise of full-on machinery. Reception did agree to move me to the (recommended) 'sea view' side of the hotel. This view includes a 6 lane highway (in stereo), KFC - as well as a look at the high power ski-machines on the sea - which I still rate as preferable to building sites - if you have the choice (as the adjoining door seem to lead to a quite part of the neighbouring room). Breakfast is nowhere near the standard of good 4 star hotels I've stayed at - and the 'fresh salad/fruit' has a distinctly dried surface…. Locals say it was good in its day (as Le Meridien) …. As of now, I'd check Trip Advisor for a better value, better located place. Oh yes, I forgot to mention the swimming pool closed for a week of 'treatment' - closing half the breakfast room = along with it - leaving it dark, dingy and over crowded.

Room Tip: Avoid a room with a door to the adjoining room. Aim for a sea view room.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deeveedubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

I slept there for only one night (fortunately!). I had a lot of problems at the checkin. First of all they insist for a marriage certificate, otherwise they don't want to give to me and my husband the room. The information taken in booking is uncorrect. I would to rest for a while in my room but it has been impossible because they disturb me every 10 minutes asking me for the newspaper, for the water, for the food, for everything and they don't stop to knock to the door until I did not refuse and thank. They have called a taxi for me agreeded a very very high price (more than double of the normal taxi price). I suppose that they charge a fee for them on their clients. The quality of the breakfast is very low. They add additional fee for services (15%) without any specification for which kind of services, and we can avoid to pay it. At the end, my suggestion is to keep very far from this bad hotel. The 4 stars are only in the paper, these are not real.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank MalenaRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Pleasant hotel - had appearance of a boutique hotel. Check in was very smooth and fast with complimentary pick up from airport. Upgraded to deluxe room. The room and the bathroom were quite large with the bath room having both shower stall and bath tub. The bed was very comfortable with nice soft pillows - four of them but by 5:00 AM had to wake as there were some earth works just outside with a very loud earth mover revving up its engines full blast and the windows were not really sound proof. The fruit basket and welcome letter was a nice touch. Breakfast was OK. Only one dinner option within the hotel and a Lebanese restaurant nearby. All other options required a good long walk or taxi.

Room Tip: Upgrade to deluxe and try for rooms on the seaside for nice view
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Very nice hotel, stayed here for three nights, Lobby area didn't smell good, smoking all over obviously, took me more than 30 minutes to check-in as the only staff at the reception was handling other guests issues and some seemed frustrated as well. They wanted to charge me extra for the extra child bed although it was mentioned in the booking we are coming with a child, but decided later on to give it to me for free "this time". I loved the location of the hotel, very close to many places. For the hotel being ex Le Meridian, you can still feel some of its good standards are there but vanishing obviously as I noticed it being a bit outdated and you can instantly tell by the hotel's big but very old signs. For the price I paid, next time I might consider other better options near by.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohammed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed there for four night on BB basis. It's staff we're very friendly. The room was nicely furnished and clean. The breakfast was very very nice. It is a little bit expensive. It is a little far away from city center and from shopping centers.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
Thank Sherifsoadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

The location is somewhat out of town, on the way to the airport, and rooms in front have a view of the gulf. It is medium-sized (5 stories) and resembles a midrange seaside hotel in the South of France (it was formerly a Meridien). The lobby is nicely appointed.
The hotel staff are well trained. We hosted a business lunch buffet that was beautifully presented.
The facilities are limited -- no shop, gym or spa; a tiny pool; a hairdresser for men only. The regular rooms are extremely small; I was upgraded to a junior suite that was comfortable in size, but dated.

There doesn't seem to be any way to access the beach because across the road is a private officers' club.

Cigarette smoke seeped copiously into my non-smoking room on a non-smoking floor -- perhaps through the ventilation system. This was a major annoyance.

The breakfast was so-so - the buffet was not properly serviced - and and dinner in the restaurant was poor value for money. The restaurant is rather gloomy, being in the basement.

Room Tip: FAcing the Gulf is better, but can hear noise from the main road.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spadina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuwait City hotels
2.7 mi away
Le Royal Tower Hotel
Le Royal Tower Hotel
#19 of 69 in Kuwait City
164 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
#11 of 69 in Kuwait City
364 reviews
4.4 mi away
Marina Royal Hotel Suite
Marina Royal Hotel Suite
#35 of 69 in Kuwait City
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mirage Suites
Mirage Suites
#32 of 69 in Kuwait City
17 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Salmiya
Best Western Plus Salmiya
#5 of 13 in Salmiyah
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Safir International Hotel
Safir International Hotel
#26 of 69 in Kuwait City
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Hotel

Address: Arabian Gulf Road, Bnied Al Gar, Kuwait City 15451, Kuwait
Region: Kuwait > Kuwait City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Kuwait City
Price Range: £98 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Royal Hotel is a splendid retreat in the heart of Kuwait's capital city, ideally located on the Arabian Gulf Road overlooking the famous Kuwait Towers. It is only 5 minutes from the heart of the business district and the Ministry complex, making it an ideal Kuwait hotel for business visitors, and is near to Souq Sharq Mall and the Grand Mosque. A hotel shuttle ensures quick airport transfers. A stay at Le Royal Hotel is characterized by comfort and high quality service. Its facilities include meeting rooms, an outdoor pool and a Fitness center. Guests can dine on a selection of exciting local and international cuisine at the Bonsai and Al Marsa restaurants. Part of the Worldhotels Deluxe Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Dasman
Dasman Le Meridien
Le Royal Hotel Kuwait/Kuwait City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing