We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommendable”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kuwait City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Safir Airport Hotel
Ranked #54 of 69 Hotels in Kuwait City
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Recommendable”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

It is Recommendable. Together with some Colleagues,we spend one Night there (Airline paid) and Service and Comfort was fully sufficient there. Friendly CheckIn and CheckOut. Large and nice decorated Breakfast

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedandBlueSwimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    7
    8
    11
    16
See reviews for
10
8
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

the location is its PLUS and we went there for one night, due we had a night at kuwait airport. very friendly service at checkin and at checkout. standard room was pretty large and comfortable. although close to airport, it was very calm in room and no large noise from planes.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aradsportman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

If you want to stay within the airport security, the Safir is a good place... basic bed and TV, internet is good, and the bathroom is decent. I've stayed here a couple of times, and the value is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I was forced to stay in this garbage dump type of Hotel and almost felt like i was blackmailed into paying $120 for it.

Story: Had booked Kuwait Airways flight ( worst decision ever, stay away from this airlines) to fly from Cairo to Mumbai from trip. Booked online and there was stop over in Kuwait City with next flight to Mumbai after 18 hours. At Cairo, the flight attendant blackmailed me by saying, since youre layover is more than 6 hours, i need to stay in this stupid place, they asked me to pay otherwise no boarding passes. I had no choice but to comply.

KA flight was 8 hours delayed to leave from Cairo. When at Airport in Kuwait, they took 3 hours to bring me to this hotel which is inside the airport. The hotel look like old run down hotel, it worse than Mumbai slum. The hotel staff is even more rude, they dont care about anything and cant speak English. The room was alright , but for $120 it was total ripoff. The lunch buffet food was so stale and hard that i ran away from there by just eating bananas and fresh fruits.
At night when my flight was there they called me down at brought at terminal.

Overall. dont stay there, but you might be forced to in that case, just take the room and go to sleep cursing yourself for flying Kuwait Airways.

Room Tip: Well no tips just deal with this like you have to pass this time. No choices here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nmutyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuwait City hotels

Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Stuck here by force. I will give kudos to the United Airlines employee who helped us figure out the process when you are stuck in Kuwait. There is absolutely no way I could have figured out what I needed to do or where to go to find a place to stay. At 1:30am we were stranded and had to go to the National Aviation Services desk to get an escort to take us to the airport hotel. A misnomer because the hotel is in the middle of a runway and you cannot walk or get there without an escort and a bus. We waited over an hour for our escort and then were dragged all over the airport looking for an open gate to get outside for bus pickup. The hotel rooms are incredibly small with 2 twin size beds and more akin to a dorm room. We did not have any views as we were looking out at an adjacent building. There are no vending machines so no way to get anything to drink without going thru room service. DO NOT EAT AT THE BUFFET. Horrible food, incredibly overpriced. Oh, I forgot to mention they take yr passport and keep it in an open cubby behind the reception desk. The business center has 2 computers with keyboards so old the letters have worn off and no available printer. Everything about this place is dirty, smelly, old and tired. The adventure continued when I asked about getting a ride back to the airport the next evening to catch our flight. I was told to call reception 2 hours ahead of time and give them the time of pickup. Called for a 9 pm pickup and then waited an hour and 40 minutes (10:40 pm) with multiple phone calls being told a bus was on the way before a hotel employee took pity on my family and took us over to the airport in a Kuwait airways bus. While I thought I was giving myself plenty of time to get something to eat and check in, we had 20 minutes before going thru security. The excuse at the NAS desk was that they had no buses, to which I said, then why did you tell me 5 times a bus was on the way? He then keeps repeating he had no buses. You give up on logic at that point. My family was panicky and almost in tears and we have never been so glad to get out of a hotel and out of an airport to date. I wish you luck if you have to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ankara
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Without my control, I had to stay in this hotel. Bed sheets,pillowcases covered with previous guests hairs.Room service very poor, no red meat available at the hotel at the time of visit.Food delivered to room with plastic spoon, plastic knife and plastic fork .
If you order a coke, thy do not bring glass ... you have to order it seperatley if you like to drink your coke in a glass.Shoe prints in the shower tub.
There is not even a small bottle of water available in the minibar...

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank snrksknr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 487 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

Would I stay at this hotel again? No. Would I recommend this hotel to friends? No. The only reason you would stay at this hotel is if you were flying on an outward bound flight from Kuwait City  and your flight was been canceled and the airline put you up in this hotel.

The best thing this hotel has going for it is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, even in your room.

The only restaurant is a small buffet line -  there is no à la cart dining. There also is no store inside the hotel to buy snacks or conscience items. You're not allowed to leave the hotel because you're literally in the middle of the runway system (see photos).

I will say our room and bathroom were clean, sheets were clean, and the linen was clean. The staff tried to be helpful but they just weren't very competent.

I have uploaded some photos of this hotel. If you found this review helpful please let me know by clicking the helpful button thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ToonTowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuwait City
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Continental Farwaniya
#2 of 2 in Farwaniya
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City
0.0 mi away
Safir International Hotel
Safir International Hotel
#28 of 69 in Kuwait City
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
#11 of 69 in Kuwait City
357 reviews
0.0 mi away
Safir Hotel and Residences Kuwait
0.0 mi away
Flora Park Hotel Apartment
Flora Park Hotel Apartment
#38 of 69 in Kuwait City
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safir Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safir Airport Hotel

Property: Safir Airport Hotel
Address: PO Box 24851, Kuwait City 13109, Kuwait
Region: Kuwait > Kuwait City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 69 Hotels in Kuwait City
Hotel Class:3 star — Safir Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Also Known As:
Safir Airport Hotel Kuwait/Kuwait City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing