We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for one night on business...”
Review of Holiday Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Downtown
Ranked #18 of 72 Hotels in Kuwait City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2013

One night in Kuwait so where to stay? Only chose this hotel as it was near where the person i was having dinner with has an apartment. No other reason. But it was all really good. The reception staff were really helpful and offered a complimentary breakfast which had not been booked in advance. They sorted out taxis for the following day and ensured the driver knew where to go as the destination was a little obscure. The bed was super comfy, and the sea view was nice if you ignored the building site in between. Good value too so will definitely choose the hotel next time I travel on business in Kuwait.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKtraveller143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review on our Hotel, and we are looking forward to see you soon again staying with us.

Assuring you our best attention at all time

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

285 - 291 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2013

I always stay there for all my business trips to Kuweit city.
The staff is nice and friendly, and the quality of services is excellent.
They have a nice fitness room and a nice swimming pool with a nice view.
The rooms are large and nice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment and review on our Hotel, Looking forward to see you soon again staying with us.

Assuring you our best attention at all time

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

staying here right now - only basis of comparison in Kuwait is the Marina, which is much nicer (but more $$$) - this is a typical business hotel, nicer than some Holiday Inns but less nice than others. Very typical room, flat screen TV, decent lighting, safe that works, enough storage space, alarm clock. No iPod dock. Room has a remote sea view but construction site + ugly buildings in foreground. No balcony. Everything seems to work. I requested a special pillow & bathrobe & they arrived right away - nice. Main buffet restaurant has very tasty food though it is mostly Kuwait style.... which is good... but repetitive after a few days. Small pool & decent gym on upper floors have nice views. Pool is more for exercise than relaxation, no hot tub etc. Negatives - they have smoking rooms & allow smoking in lobby etc, yuck. Also no "safe" outdoor access - a balcony or roof deck would be a huge benefit in this culture as not recommended to walk alone outside (as a woman, anyway, but really no one seems to walk here) so can feel very "cooped up" after a day or two. Location not very close to restaurants or shopping so no where to walk to anyways. Probably convenient for most businesses tho' we had a long drive where we had to go. Room very worn with stains on carpet & walls, really needs a sprucing up, bit of a dusty smell.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cantravnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for review on our hotel, your comments are so valuable to us,

Our hotel is surrounded with shopping malls and many of international restaurants and we will be so happy to guide & recommend you any requirements or any pleasure destinations you would love to go.

Assuring you our best attention at all time and looking forward to see you soon with us,


Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Super Location, great staff and wonderful large furnished rooms. Good choice of dining options and very good service in all departments. Will definitely stay here again on future visits. The airport transfer service is complimentary and regular on the hour every hour. Front desk made me feel welcome and check out was smooth and efficient. A well run hotel

Room Tip: Ask for high floor and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oscarwildetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment and review on our Hotel, Assuring you our best attention at all time.

Looking forward to see you soon again at our Hotel.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

cool looking exterior but downhill from there

the service was fairly good but the delivery was poor

the suites are behind the elevator shaft, so of course you can hear both their ascent and descent

the same dirty crockery sat outside my door for my entire stay

the hotel driver I had one seemed no sense of direction and of course had no map or GPS, would just stop and ask for directions every few streets

the breakfast was a decent spread but the manager showed incredibly poor judgment when he opened this huge set of drapes directly above a table full of food, knocking food out of bowls and scattering whatever dust was caught in them

the rooms were decent, just seemed a bit dirty

Room Tip: do not accept room behind elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment and review on our hotel and assuring you our best attention at all time.

Looking forward to see you soon again at our Hotel.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed here for one night, finalizing our trip through the Middle East. We used the free shuttle service provided by the hotel. This turned out to be a private limousine service. Kudos to Holiday Inn Downtown Kuwait!

Room: Clean and large rooms in a standard hotel layout. Nice view towards the sea. No complaints whatsoever.

Location: About 10 minute walk to the Souk Sharq mall and 15 minute walk to the Kuwait towards. Taxi’s plenty available and in our opinion not that bad in respect of negotiating fares.

Reception/Staff: Very friendly staff. Only can give compliments to everyone. Everyone treated you in a personal kind and professional way and that was much appreciated.

Breakfast: This turned out to be the best breakfast during our trip through the Middle East. A large selection of delicious dishes!

Overall: I can only recommend this hotel. The breakfast is super, the rooms are clean and most of all the friendly and professional staff gives this hotel that extra touch.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helsinki1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment and review on our Hotel, Assuring you our best attention at all time.

Looking forward to see you soon again staying with us,

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Well maintained and functional.
The food spread and quality in the buffets are excellent.
Location is very convenient.
Friendly Staff.
Health faciilities avaiable.
Overall a good Business or a family hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ravisarkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much and appreciate your nice review on our Hotel and looking forward to stay again with us in our Hotel.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuwait City hotels
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Kuwait
Holiday Inn Kuwait
#10 of 72 in Kuwait City
451 reviews
5.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
#8 of 72 in Kuwait City
692 reviews
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Kuwait City
Residence Inn Kuwait City
#22 of 72 in Kuwait City
43 reviews
15.9 mi away
Safir Hotel and Residences Kuwait
8.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Kuwait
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Downtown

Address: Abdulla Al Ahmed Street | Dasman, P.O Box 22604, Kuwait City 13087, Kuwait
Region: Kuwait > Kuwait City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Kuwait City
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kuwait City
Price Range: £111 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I Enjoy great service in the vibrant heart of Kuwait city center at the sleek Holiday-Downtown hotel.A towering high-rise in Kuwait's thriving business district, Holiday Downtown is easily reached via our complimentary shuttle from Kuwait International Airport, 18km away. Our Fitness Inn Center and pool afford sweeping views across the Arabian Gulf and Kuwait City. Tantalize your taste buds with our restaurants (Downtown International cuisine,Enjoy,The Square Cafe & Restaurant and ) .Choose a stylish Executive room or Suite at Holiday-Downtown to enjoy access to our exclusive Executive Lounge. We offer function space for up to 400 people in our 3 elegant ballrooms and 7 high-tech meeting rooms and there's plenty of complimentary parking for your guests. It's just a short stroll from the hotel to meetings at government offices and leading city center businesses.Head to the enormous Sharq Mall next to the hotel for some serious retail therapy and the biggest in-mall food court in Kuwait. There's even a huge artificial lake behind the mall, where you can hire jet skis and small motor boats.Plan your day with complimentary wireless Internet in Holiday-Downtown's chic marble Lobby, also home to a boutique gift shop and cafe. Massage treatments in our extensive Fitness Center mean you can wind down after a day's business or sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kuwait Downtown Hotel Kuwait City
Holiday Inn Kuwait City
Kuwait City Holiday Inn
Holiday Downtown Kuwait/Kuwait City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing