We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay, downtown Kuwait”
Review of Holiday Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Downtown
Ranked #18 of 69 Hotels in Kuwait City
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay, downtown Kuwait”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Perfect stay, no complaints. Good services, great breakfast and decent data speeds.
Overall I would recommend for anyone needing to do business in downtown.
It was my 1st time in Kuwait - so nothing to compare it with.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank anhCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamer F, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review and recommended the Holiday Inn Kuwait Downtown, your encouraging comments are noted and we hope to continue with the same level of service, We are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Krikor Kukeyan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    152
    34
    7
    4
See reviews for
15
10
22
278
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Just a one-night stop over in Kuwait, but the hotel seemed to be quite good. Check in and check out were certainly very quick and staff friendly.

Room was clean and comfortable, and free wi-fi always appreciated. Breakfast was not too bad, and typical for a Gulf business hotel. Only issue would be the smoking in the lobby restaurant - really noticeable these days when so many places are smoke free. Otherwise good hotel and good value, so will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voight-Kampf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on our hotel, your comments are so valuable to us, and sure we will be taking it with high importance.

Assuring you our best attention at all time and looking forward to see you soon with us,


Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2013

most beautiful thing about the hotel is its staff.they helpmed me a lot during both times i stayed in there.location is good as well.its just 10 mins far by foot from souq sharq,also close to the hospital in case of an emergency.maybe the only negatives are poor wireless signal in rooms.but you can use cable internet 24 hours a day whichs speed is good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous20130613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for review on our hotel, your comments are so valuable to us,
Assuring you our best attention at all time

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I visit Kuwait very frequently and I always stay at Holiday Inn Kuwait Downtown. The staff, especially the front desk/reception are very friendly and immediately recognize that I'm a frequent guest. They accommodate my requests, specifically my late check-out requests since my flight out is usually late in the evening. The ambience is good and the facilities are good as well. The fitness center is well maintained. The only issue I have noticed is that the chef and key staff at the breakfast area in the morning not very friendly. They need to improve and learn from their colleagues at the front desk.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Raghu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for review on our hotel, your comments are so valuable to us,
Assuring you our best attention at all time

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I've staged conferences here for ambassadors and large groups of students and the service is impeccable and the food delicious. Carlos, the General manager here made everything run like clockwork. Nothing was too much trouble. There's a nice cafe off the foyer where you can watch the football too.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artiemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review on our Hotel and looking forward to see you soon again staying with us,

Assuring you our best attention at all time.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

However, please chose this hotel if your business is Downtown, otherwise I suggest Holiday Inn Salmiya. Instead of writing about the Downtown facility I am doing a little comparison between the two of them. The selection of restaurants is much bigger at Salmiya. There is an outdoor swimming pool at Salmiya, The staff is bigger in numbers or at least they appear to be at Salmiya.

If you can live with the differences between the two and your business is in the downtown region please chose this hotel, otherwise chose the one in Salmiya.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterGustafssonDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on our hotel,

Holiday Inn Downtown & Holiday Inn Kuwait Salmeya are the same brand providing the best quality of the 4 Stars hotel services.

Looking forward to stay again with us,

Assuring you our best attention at all time

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I have just begun a month long stay at this hotel, courtesy of my company. As part of the deal, the hotel provides a drop off and pick up service to my work, which is in an area with lousy taxi availability. Well its day 5 or so, and not once, I repeat not once, has the car been available on time. I make all my bookings the day before so time is not the issue. Today I have waited more than 1 hour for the pick up. I understand that they have to save costs by sharing the car, which is perfectly OK, but for that I can give a maximum of 10-15 minutes allowance. 75 minutes delays are unacceptable and points to chaotic scheduling and more likely, an inability to tell the truth to someone yelling at the counter or someone deemed more important. I am starting the process with the company of talking about alternative accomodation if available, even if I have pay a bit extra out of my pocket. I can lose my job if I consistently show up late. Nobody seems to really care; they believe smiling and saying 'sorry' will somehow fix it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boltfromheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you so much for your review on our hotel, second thing I would like to let you know that such late from the driver to pick you up to your work is not acceptable to us at all and at any reason so kindly contact me or to pass by my office at any time, I will be willing to solve any problem happened to you during your stay with us.

Assuring you our best attention at all time

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuwait City hotels
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Kuwait
Holiday Inn Kuwait
#9 of 69 in Kuwait City
440 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
#11 of 69 in Kuwait City
357 reviews
15.9 mi away
Safir Hotel and Residences Kuwait
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Kuwait
0.3 mi away
City Tower Hotel Sharq
City Tower Hotel Sharq
#21 of 69 in Kuwait City
39 reviews
6.3 mi away
Symphony Style Hotel Kuwait
Symphony Style Hotel Kuwait
#2 of 69 in Kuwait City
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Downtown

Property: Holiday Downtown
Address: Abdulla Al Ahmed Street | Dasman, P.O Box 22604, Kuwait City 13087, Kuwait
Region: Kuwait > Kuwait City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Kuwait City
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kuwait City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I Enjoy great service in the vibrant heart of Kuwait city center at the sleek Holiday-Downtown hotel.A towering high-rise in Kuwait's thriving business district, Holiday Downtown is easily reached via our complimentary shuttle from Kuwait International Airport, 18km away. Our Fitness Inn Center and pool afford sweeping views across the Arabian Gulf and Kuwait City. Tantalize your taste buds with our restaurants (Downtown International cuisine,Enjoy,The Square Cafe & Restaurant and ) .Choose a stylish Executive room or Suite at Holiday-Downtown to enjoy access to our exclusive Executive Lounge. We offer function space for up to 400 people in our 3 elegant ballrooms and 7 high-tech meeting rooms and there's plenty of complimentary parking for your guests. It's just a short stroll from the hotel to meetings at government offices and leading city center businesses.Head to the enormous Sharq Mall next to the hotel for some serious retail therapy and the biggest in-mall food court in Kuwait. There's even a huge artificial lake behind the mall, where you can hire jet skis and small motor boats.Plan your day with complimentary wireless Internet in Holiday-Downtown's chic marble Lobby, also home to a boutique gift shop and cafe. Massage treatments in our extensive Fitness Center mean you can wind down after a day's business or sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kuwait Downtown Hotel Kuwait City
Holiday Inn Kuwait City
Kuwait City Holiday Inn
Holiday Downtown Kuwait/Kuwait City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing