We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Holiday Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Downtown
Ranked #18 of 69 Hotels in Kuwait City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Great room, good food and complimentary transfers from/to the airport.

On the day i arrived there was a wedding party being held at the hotel so to avoid the noise i was given a complimentary upgrade to a suite at the top of the hotel.

Great service, friendly staff and the food for dinner and breakfast buffet is fantastic!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rolphy220689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Rolphy,

Thank you so much for choosing Holiday Inn Kuwait Downtown, We appreciate your comment and review of our hotel, assuring you our best attention at all time.

Looking forward to see you soon staying with us.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    150
    34
    7
    4
See reviews for
15
9
21
271
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

From start to finish I found the staff very helpful, my colleague had booked a smoking room by mistake, they were very accommodating as they moved him to a non smoking room plus upgrade as we are both platinum members! I had an issue with the WIFI signal in my room this was sorted very quickly...

Breakfast is excellent fresh and tasty.

Thank you for making my first business trip to Kuwait a comfortable one.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Keith,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel, it’s really nice to hear that we made your first business trip to Kuwait a comfortable visit by providing you a great service from us, we are so proud to hear that.
Assuring you our best services at all time.

Thanks for choosing Holiday Inn Kuwait Downtown and we look forward to see you soon staying again with us,

sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

The service and the services at the hotel were exceptional. From having a representative looking out for me at the airport to provide transport to the hotel, to their determination to make the stay as smooth, relaxing and pleasant as it could possibly be. Everyone was really friendly and helpful and even called to apologise before my room service was a few minutes late! I will definitely stay there next time I'm in Kuwait!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shaun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Shaun,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel, we proud to hear that you feel you received a great service from us, and you liked our services at the airport and in the hotel, and we assure you our best services at all time.

Thanks for choosing Holiday Inn Kuwait Downtown and we look forward to see you soon staying with us,

sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

A very good business hotel - clean, well-equipped rooms, great gym, indoor pool. For me the best thing was the staff - everyone extremely helpful and friendly, from reception to restaurant to gym to concierge staff. Very good breakfast buffet - good selection of fresh fruit, cereals and hot food. Bread choice disappointing. Buffet dinner ok, Italian rstaurant nothing special

Room Tip: Rooms near lifts are rather noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Peter,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel, your comments are so important to us and all will be taken in consideration.
It’s appreciated to hear that you feel you received a great service from us, it’s something our staff takes pride in, and we assure you our best services at all time.

We look forward to see you soon staying with us,

sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Holiday Inn Kuwait Downtown service is outstanding. Customers are at the core of the organization. It starts with minor details that make a huge difference. My experience started in the airport where the Asistant Airport Services Manager did impress me immensely with his level of service and attention to the Customer: impeccable service.
At the reception desk I was greeted with a friendly and warm welcome, making my experience absolutely unforgettable. Impeccable once again.
The hotel is extremely comfortable but this you can find relatively easily (as long as you can afford it!). But what really makes the difference is the Service. In my humble opinion, it's just OUTSTANDING!,

Room Tip: The higher the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pedro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Pedro,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel, we appreciate kindness in your comments on our hotel and our services,

it’s appreciated to hear that you feel you received a great service from us, we hope you felt you were at home while you staying with, and we assure you our best services at all time.

We look forward to see you soon staying with us,

sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Kuwait Downtown for 8 weeks during January and February 2014 whilst working on a short assignment in Kuwait.

The hotel is in a good location for access to both the business district and the entertainment and leisure facilities further along the Gulf Road. The facilities of the hotel are very good, including access to a good quality gym, pool, steam room and sauna. The rooms are more than adequate - even for a long stay - and the free Wifi facilities performed very well for the vast majority of the time. The restaurants served food of a very good standard, and of enough variety to keep a long term resident interested.

Most importantly, however, the service was consistently excellent. Every member of staff was friendly, professional, welcoming and extremely helpful. I cannot speak highly enough of each and every one of them, and I commend the hotel management and staff for providing an excellent overall experience. Well done - and thanks to all of you.

I highly recommend the hotel for any business or leisure stay - short or long term.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Mr. David,

It’s nice to hear from you, you are one of our valuable guests that we proud to have you staying with us, we really wants to thank you so much for choosing Holiday Inn Kuwait Downtown as your business hotel destination and many thanks for your review of our hotel, it's really great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received such a great service from our side. It's something the staff and the management takes great pride in, we value your feedback. And we appreciate your kindness,

Thanks again for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

I have stayed at the Holiday Inn Downtown many times since opening. The rooms and service is always excellent but most importantly layout of the rooms is good and everything is very clean. I like the fitness center also. Machines are relatively new and reliable.
The only issue with the hotel is crossing the road to the car park. There needs to be an island in the middle of the road as it is too dangerous otherwise. The speed bumps have only a minimal effect when you are crossing 4 lanes of traffic. There is very little room to wait in the middle.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear James,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel, it's really great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received a great service from our side. It's something our staff takes great pride in, we value your feedback. And we appreciate your kindness,

And regarding your comment on the parking, This is a very important point to us and in regards to that we do give a free of charge valet service to all our guests to avoid our guests from crossing the street, we will be glad to help you with anything you will need in your next visit to us,

Thanks again for staying with us.
We hope to see you again soon!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuwait City hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
#11 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Kuwait
Holiday Inn Kuwait
#6 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Tower Hotel Sharq
City Tower Hotel Sharq
#23 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
#9 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
2.3 mi away
Le Royal Tower Hotel
Le Royal Tower Hotel
#19 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Kuwait City
JW Marriott Hotel Kuwait City
#14 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Downtown

Property: Holiday Downtown
Address: Abdulla Al Ahmed Street | Dasman, P.O Box 22604, Kuwait City 13087, Kuwait
Region: Kuwait > Kuwait City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Kuwait City
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kuwait City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I Enjoy great service in the vibrant heart of Kuwait city center at the sleek Holiday-Downtown hotel.A towering high-rise in Kuwait's thriving business district, Holiday Downtown is easily reached via our complimentary shuttle from Kuwait International Airport, 18km away. Our Fitness Inn Center and pool afford sweeping views across the Arabian Gulf and Kuwait City. Tantalize your taste buds with our restaurants (Downtown International cuisine,Enjoy,The Square Cafe & Restaurant and ) .Choose a stylish Executive room or Suite at Holiday-Downtown to enjoy access to our exclusive Executive Lounge. We offer function space for up to 400 people in our 3 elegant ballrooms and 7 high-tech meeting rooms and there's plenty of complimentary parking for your guests. It's just a short stroll from the hotel to meetings at government offices and leading city center businesses.Head to the enormous Sharq Mall next to the hotel for some serious retail therapy and the biggest in-mall food court in Kuwait. There's even a huge artificial lake behind the mall, where you can hire jet skis and small motor boats.Plan your day with complimentary wireless Internet in Holiday-Downtown's chic marble Lobby, also home to a boutique gift shop and cafe. Massage treatments in our extensive Fitness Center mean you can wind down after a day's business or sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kuwait Downtown Hotel Kuwait City
Holiday Inn Kuwait City
Kuwait City Holiday Inn
Holiday Downtown Kuwait/Kuwait City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing