We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious Place but Uniformly Bad Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Holiday Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Downtown
Ranked #18 of 69 Hotels in Kuwait City
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Luxurious Place but Uniformly Bad Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Holiday Inn Downtown Kuwait is located in a fabulous location within Kuwait City, near the Dasman Roundabout which puts it very near the Dasman Palace. The area is posh and traffic-free, and the hotel itself is quite luxurious and comfortable to stay. I was staying on company business and had a corporate booking, so the room rate included breakfast, free Internet and pick-up and drop from the airport. However, the two attempts at eating anything other than the breakfast buffet inside the hotel resulted in uniformly bad experience. One time I ordered Greek Salad from the cafetaria, and the dish was way too salty and impossible to eat. Another time I had ordered Dal Fry with Rice via room service, and the food was disastrously cooked and expensively priced. My recommendation - stay in here but eat out.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, choose a Deluxe room and get all the freebies I've stated in my review. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soumik1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel, your comments are so important to us and we hope you had a great experience with us.

Assuring you our best attention at all time and looking forward to see you soon

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    150
    34
    7
    4
See reviews for
15
10
21
271
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Again Holiday Inn downtown in Kuwait is surprising me, I sent my bag with the driver from airport pick up, and arriving hotel late, my room was assigned, bag in and I am ready to relax, Thanks Holiday Inn for your excellent service.

Room Tip: Executive non-smoking rooms are the best amenties
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank YooFoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel, and thanks a lot for your beautiful words on our hotel and services. this is something our staff takes pride in.

Assuring you our best service at all time and looking forward to see you soon staying with us.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

The hotel was very modern, clean, service is excellent, good gym, nice restaurant with a good breakfast. Ideal for a business trip. Personally Kuwait is not for me as a holiday destination but I could not fault the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CaptainYaYa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for choosing Holiday Inn Kuwait Downtown to stay in, we appreciate and value your review and comments on our hotel, we are glad to know that you liked our hotel and our facilities and we assure you our best attention and best quality of service at all time
Looking forward to see you soon staying with us.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

My visit to Kuwait has been very frequent in 2012, 2013 and now in 2014. This review is for Holiday Inn at Downtown, while they have one at Salmiya, which is excellent to stay at.

Holiday Inn Downtown which was recently opened had a lot more to give. It served the same way that Salmiya served, but I felt the management still requires to more efforts to make people comfortable. It was the second day that I felt there is a change when at the brealfast table, the F&B Manager made a self attempt to provide a good and contemplating service to the guest including me, this change of attempt made my decision of this hotel.

The hotel is absolutely clean and well maintained, spacious and bed was comfortable, bathroom had its excellent accessories. Me being a privelage member of IHG as Gold Elite and the IHG guest services and recognition was seen but could be improved upon.

The only dis-advantage of this hotel that I heard and experienced is the wedding cermony when it is happening, it is very loud and could be heard in the rooms.

I am going again in May 2014, but would be staying at Holiday Inn Salmiya and not at Downtown location as I feel more comfortable.

Room Tip: No choice as most of the rooms you will have is facing the city side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeepakAmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for choosing Holiday Inn Kuwait Downtown to stay in, we value and appreciate your review on our hotel and your comments are so important to us and we promise you our best attention and best quality of service at all time
Looking forward to see you soon staying with us,

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wurzburg, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

A nice business Hotel that's providing all necessary services, clean rooms at fair prices; breakfast service at the restaurant is time consuming - so is the use of lifts once local families have checked in

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hotsch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for Holiday Inn Kuwait Downtown to stay in, we appreciate your review on our hotel and we promise you our best attention at all time
Looking forward to see you soon staying with us,

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

I've had the Hotel membership for almost 2 years and I really admired the perks of watching a football game on the big screen in the lobby and regular swimming in the pool. In my experience the pool has never been busy, the water was just about the right temperature and it overlooked the Gym where I'd frequent at least thrice a week. The view from the top floor is magnificent, both the sea side as well as the rest of the city skyline!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Allan,

Thank you so much for your review on our hotel, we are proud to hear such beautiful words from you on our Gym, Swimming pool or our Square Café & restaurant which is the lobby Café, this is something our staff feel pride in.

We are looking forward to see you soon staying with us and we assure you our best service and attention at all time.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

I stayed during my first visit to the city. The hotel is located nicely with mall at walking distance. The rooms are really spacious and luxurious with all services. Wi-fi is with good speed and allows you to connect with VPN. The menu is detailed and gives you different options across cuisines though its a bit pricey.
The breakfast is complementary and elaborate and you will enjoy it. The staff and service is really good. The shop at the hotel offers basic things like cigs, cold drinks etc. at decent price. Nice place to stay but a bit pricey.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhinavj82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear abhinavj82
Thank you so much for your review on our hotel, we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us,

Our hotel is located in the heart of Kuwait City and we are surrounded with a lots of nice attractions to go and visit.

We are pleased to know that you liked our breakfast buffet and we assure you our best attention at all time

Looking forward to see you soon staying with us

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuwait City hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
#11 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Kuwait
Holiday Inn Kuwait
#6 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Tower Hotel Sharq
City Tower Hotel Sharq
#23 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
#9 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
2.3 mi away
Le Royal Tower Hotel
Le Royal Tower Hotel
#19 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Kuwait City
JW Marriott Hotel Kuwait City
#16 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Downtown

Property: Holiday Downtown
Address: Abdulla Al Ahmed Street | Dasman, P.O Box 22604, Kuwait City 13087, Kuwait
Region: Kuwait > Kuwait City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Kuwait City
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kuwait City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I Enjoy great service in the vibrant heart of Kuwait city center at the sleek Holiday-Downtown hotel.A towering high-rise in Kuwait's thriving business district, Holiday Downtown is easily reached via our complimentary shuttle from Kuwait International Airport, 18km away. Our Fitness Inn Center and pool afford sweeping views across the Arabian Gulf and Kuwait City. Tantalize your taste buds with our restaurants (Downtown International cuisine,Enjoy,The Square Cafe & Restaurant and ) .Choose a stylish Executive room or Suite at Holiday-Downtown to enjoy access to our exclusive Executive Lounge. We offer function space for up to 400 people in our 3 elegant ballrooms and 7 high-tech meeting rooms and there's plenty of complimentary parking for your guests. It's just a short stroll from the hotel to meetings at government offices and leading city center businesses.Head to the enormous Sharq Mall next to the hotel for some serious retail therapy and the biggest in-mall food court in Kuwait. There's even a huge artificial lake behind the mall, where you can hire jet skis and small motor boats.Plan your day with complimentary wireless Internet in Holiday-Downtown's chic marble Lobby, also home to a boutique gift shop and cafe. Massage treatments in our extensive Fitness Center mean you can wind down after a day's business or sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kuwait Downtown Hotel Kuwait City
Holiday Inn Kuwait City
Kuwait City Holiday Inn
Holiday Downtown Kuwait/Kuwait City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing