We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive Staff and Clean room”
Review of Holiday Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Downtown
Ranked #18 of 70 Hotels in Kuwait City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

To be honest, I have spent only 1 night for this occasion but I highly appreciate how much the staff is attentive and smiling. Room's perfect for business stay.

By the way, the transport to the airport is free of charge, the driver is smart and pro and the car is air conditioning :-)

During Ramadan, I could not have experienced the restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sivchea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment and review of our hotel, we are glad to know that you liked our rooms and our services, we hope you had a great experience with us.

Assuring you our best attention and quality of service at all time

We look forward to see you soon staying with us

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 207 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

I checked into this hotel around 10pm on Thursday, July 17th. I was tired, so I brushed my teeth, used the toilet, and went to bed. When I woke up this morning I discovered that the toilet was not working...it did not seem to have refilled from the night before. I also discovered that there was no water coming from the faucet in the bath or shower. I called the front desk who promised to send someone to look at it. I continued to fiddle with the faucets and eventually got water to come out....but i did not realize that the water was brown and very dirty until I got out of the shower and there was a layer of soot in the bottom on the tub. I took a glass of brown water and a white towel that I wiped up some of the soot with to the front desk to talk to the manager. Although they were very apologetic at the hotel...their attempt to compensate me for the experience was very poor. This is without a doubt the most expensive Holiday Inn I have ever stayed at....$315 for the night.....they knew I was checking out...so they offered me a complimentary night for tonight....after I am gone. They then offered me a free lunch and finally came back and told me that they would give me a discount the next time I stay at the hotel. They have hidden behind the fact that I booked through a travel agent as the reason they cannot give me monetary compensation for my troubles. In the end it will cost them nothing....except for the impact of this review (which I hope will be significant). Do they really think I would ever stay here again? PS...I am a member of the IHG rewards program...having stayed at no less than five Intercontinental Resorts around the world in the last four years.....also, this hotel has the worse wifi service....it's as slow as dial-up!

Room Tip: If you want to choose a good room...go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danielq8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Mr. Daniel,

Thank you for taking time to write about your experience with us, we are so sorry to know that you had such problems in the bathroom, when water cuts usually it will come with some dirt’s for a few seconds then water will be clean and normal, anyhow we are sorry that you had to experience such an issue with us.

Regarding the Internet, we at Holiday Inn Kuwait Downtown are offering a very high speed WIFI connection and next time we will be willing to send you one of our IT team to check and solve your slow internet connection.

Assuring you our best attention at all time and we promise you to have a better experience with us In the future.

We Look forward to see you soon staying with us.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I was pleasantly surprised its a comfortable room with a great breakfast buffet , the staff are friendly and helpful and go out of your way to take care of your needs ,.the room is clean and comfortable with free wifi and if your on the exec floors breakfast is included . I have stated in a few of the other hotels and this one was well worth their modest cost

Room Tip: Exec floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Mr. Sam K,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us which is very much appreciated, I am pleased to hear your kind words about our hotel and our colleagues.

It’s nice to know that you feel you received a great service and experience with us.

We Thank you so much for choosing Holiday Inn Kuwait Downtown,

Assuring you of our best service at all time and Look forward to see you soon

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Comfortable and very nice hotel, Very friendly and helpful staff. Highly qualified reception team with excellent front office manager , Conveniently located for business. Very good gym. Rooms not most modern, but very decent and of a good size.The rooms are clean .
The rooms are clean . The food in the hotel was of a good standard and the selection was good. I would highly recommend

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank s_elsheikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear S_elsheikh,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and

that you feel you received great service, we appreciate your kind comments on our front office team,

and it’s really nice to know that you liked our hotel facilities.

Thanks for choosing Holiday Inn Kuwait Downtown, we assure you our best quality of service at all times

Looking forward to see you soon

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

With so many fine hotels in the Gulf you could be easily put off arriving here. Don't be. Superbly attentive staff make your stay very good indeed. This is a business hotel so don't bring the family, but as a hotel to use for coming and going to your place of business it works well. The bedrooms are clean spacious and comfortable, the laundry efficient, the location good and it's well priced. The only awkward feature is the very narrow approach from the street which at busy times can cause a slight delay. It's amazing how good staff can make or break a hotel and they certainly make this one.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank RichardPurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Mr. Richard Purley,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay with us, we very much appreciate you

praising our hotel and colleagues.

This is exactly what Holiday Inn Kuwait Downtown team believes in, we will be proud to pass your kind

words to our team, this is something our colleagues take great pride in.

Thanks for staying with us,

Looking forward to see you soon

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Holiday Inn is a nice respite from the hustle and bustle. Nice food at Diwan restaurant. Loved the 24 hour health club...it has everything you need and more.
I bought the wrong adapter for charging my stuff, and they provided me with one, so it gets a tick from me!

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Theinfielder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel, we appreciate and value your comments.

Assuring you our best attention at all time.

Looking forward to see you soon staying with us,

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Comfortable hotel, excellent breakfast, very friendly staff. Conveniently located for business. Very good gym. Indoor pool. Rooms not most modern, but very decent.You get coffee and your newspaper to your room + robe + slippers

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank TJO1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnDowntownQ8, General Manager at Holiday Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing Holiday Inn Kuwait Downtown to stay in, we appreciate your review of our hotel, it’s really nice to hear that you had a nice stay with us, this is our aim and ambition towards all our guests

Assuring you our best attention at all time and looking forward to see you soon staying with us,

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuwait City hotels
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Kuwait
Holiday Inn Kuwait
#10 of 70 in Kuwait City
446 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
#11 of 70 in Kuwait City
368 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Regency Hotel Kuwait
The Regency Hotel Kuwait
#1 of 13 in Salmiyah
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Kuwait Al Thuraya City
8.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Kuwait
15.9 mi away
Safir Hotel and Residences Kuwait
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Downtown

Address: Abdulla Al Ahmed Street | Dasman, P.O Box 22604, Kuwait City 13087, Kuwait
Region: Kuwait > Kuwait City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Kuwait City
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kuwait City
Price Range: £112 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I Enjoy great service in the vibrant heart of Kuwait city center at the sleek Holiday-Downtown hotel.A towering high-rise in Kuwait's thriving business district, Holiday Downtown is easily reached via our complimentary shuttle from Kuwait International Airport, 18km away. Our Fitness Inn Center and pool afford sweeping views across the Arabian Gulf and Kuwait City. Tantalize your taste buds with our restaurants (Downtown International cuisine,Enjoy,The Square Cafe & Restaurant and ) .Choose a stylish Executive room or Suite at Holiday-Downtown to enjoy access to our exclusive Executive Lounge. We offer function space for up to 400 people in our 3 elegant ballrooms and 7 high-tech meeting rooms and there's plenty of complimentary parking for your guests. It's just a short stroll from the hotel to meetings at government offices and leading city center businesses.Head to the enormous Sharq Mall next to the hotel for some serious retail therapy and the biggest in-mall food court in Kuwait. There's even a huge artificial lake behind the mall, where you can hire jet skis and small motor boats.Plan your day with complimentary wireless Internet in Holiday-Downtown's chic marble Lobby, also home to a boutique gift shop and cafe. Massage treatments in our extensive Fitness Center mean you can wind down after a day's business or sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kuwait Downtown Hotel Kuwait City
Holiday Inn Kuwait City
Kuwait City Holiday Inn
Holiday Downtown Kuwait/Kuwait City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing