We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Business Hotel in Kuwait”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plaza Athenee Hotel
Ranked #64 of 72 Hotels in Kuwait City
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I have stayed at the Plaza Athenee a couple of times while on business trips. The rooms are reasonably spacious, neat and the service is quite good. They arrange to pick you up from the airport if required. The rates are quite reasonable for a place like Kuwait. The breakfast is average - nothing to rave about.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eagertraveller h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

I stayed at the Plaza Athene during a business trip to Kuwait.The hotel arranged my entry visa and I collected it "airside" at the airport which probably saved me close to 1-hr in queuing time.


Once at the hotel the reception wanted to retain my passport and visa...I let them retain the visa (I had a copy) but asked them to photcopy my passport as I didn't wish to travel within Kuwait without some form of official ID.

Facilities are limited to a ground floor cafe and 1st floor breakfast restaurant. The hotel was clean and well maintained, although my colleague complained that his "No Smoking" bedroom was stinking of stale smoke...I suspect this was more to do with a non-conforming guest as opposed to any failure on behalf of the hotel - once brought to the attention of the hotel staff, they immiediatly changed his room.

During my stay, the hotel had a special offer on which allowed an upgrade to a Junior Suite, which was superb for business discussions with my colleague.

Breakfast was a little disappointing, especially on one day when coffee was a DIY affair with Nescafe and hot water. The cooked food was unappetising to look at and fresh fruit limited, suplemented by tinned pears and apricots...it could, with a little effort have been so much better at little/no cost to the hotel.

Free WiFi was throughout the hotel which is great..many of the larger, more plush hotels charge the earth for rooms and then charge again for WiFi...so well done Plaza Athene

Essentially, I used the hotel to sleep in and take breakfast. It was more than adequate and represented good value for money, especially as it provided transport to/from the airport as part of the package.

I have no real complaints...only minor issues which can be overlooked.

Room Tip: Try a Junior Suite...the cost is often not too disimilar from a standard room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eagley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Good value for the money, Reasonable reception, good rooms (stayed at a mini suite). Excellent location and nice view of the gulf

Room Tip: The mini suite was good. selected 10th floor overlooking the Gulf
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PM T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
Thank Burc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mendieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AhabXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuwait City hotels
3.4 mi away
Continental Hawally Hotel
Continental Hawally Hotel
#51 of 72 in Kuwait City
9 reviews
1.6 mi away
Inn & Go Kuwait Plaza Hotel
Inn & Go Kuwait Plaza Hotel
#29 of 72 in Kuwait City
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Tower Hotel Sharq
City Tower Hotel Sharq
#24 of 72 in Kuwait City
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Adams Hotel
Adams Hotel
#25 of 72 in Kuwait City
24 reviews
6.7 mi away
Raoum Inn
Raoum Inn
#9 of 14 in Salmiyah
11 reviews
1.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Kuwait at Burj Alshaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Athenee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Athenee Hotel

Address: Kuwait Bnaid Al Qar - Black 18, Behind Al Manar Complex | P.O. Box 38, Kuwait City 35151, Kuwait
Region: Kuwait > Kuwait City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Kuwait City
Price Range: £47 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaza Athenee Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Plaza Athenee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Athenee Hotel Kuwait/Kuwait City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing