We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiny rooms/ Budget hotel/ Nice location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Salmiya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ibis Salmiya
Ranked #14 of 69 Hotels in Kuwait City
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Tiny rooms/ Budget hotel/ Nice location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

I think that I have never stayed in such tiny room. On the other hand, the price is really cheap and the location is very nice. If you are willing to stay in nice location and pay little money on the expense of comfortable size, then go for it. I am not willing to do that.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Khaled_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Salmiya, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Ibis Salmiya Team would like to thank you for your comments posted on Tripadvisor's website.

It is very much appreciated.

Kindly note, that from June 2012, we will add coffee & tea making facilities in the guest rooms.

In addition to that, ibis brand, is going to implement worldwide a new bed top this year, in order to enhance bed comfort.

We definitively look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Bruno Debray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    232
    88
    15
    10
See reviews for
27
21
85
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Province of Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Ive changed brand loyalty on my trips to Kuwait. I used to stay at the Holiday Inn, also Movenpick, but the Ibis is actually very good value for money. Great location alongside shops and seafront. Very clean place and friendly attentive staff. Breakfast quite good. Lunchtime pasta pretty poor though. But free wifi High speed Internet which just works far better than the more expensive hotels I used to frequent. Well done Ibis. One loyal customer back for my second visit.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AB-Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Salmiya, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Ibis Salmiya Team would like to thank you for your positive and constructive comments posted on Tripadvisor's website.

It is very much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you again in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Bruno Debray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

The rooms were extremely small! The bathroom door had no lock! Uncomfortable stay!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madberna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Salmiya, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry to learn that your stay was not comfortable.

I wish I could get some more details in this regard.

Please feel free to contact me and send me further comment, it will be appreciated.

Thank you once again.

Your sincerely

Bruno Debray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

This is a fair hotel with good performance/price ratio. It is economic and is enough for business. Downsides are; no minibar in rooms, no room service, somewhat old decoration. If you are travelling for business, looking for an economic hotel and will stay for short period (one or two days) this hotel is fair for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Landery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Salmiya, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Ibis Salmiya Team would like to thank you for your positive and constructive comments posted on Tripadvisor's website.

It is very much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Bruno Debray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Like all the ibis hotels I have stayed at, this one does what it says on the tin.

Sure food etc. may be better than in other cities - but in a city like Kuwait where eating seems to be obsession, the food has to be good.

My first gripe is moving luggage, it's (complicated) DIY, and the solution would be so simple.

On the ground floor there are trolleys to help you take multiple pieces in one go to the upper levels. Fine.

But what about when you want to check out? Why no trolleys on the different floors, perhaps it would be too much effort to keeping a selection on those floors?

What complicates matters is that check-in is on the third floor, so if you don't do check-out separately you're moving multiple pieces by yourself in and out of the elevator!

ibis is supposed to be about simplicity. This is just silly.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SQ320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Salmiya, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Ibis Salmiya Team would like to thank you for your positive and constructive comments posted on Tripadvisor's website.

It is very much appreciated.

With regard to the luggage and trolleys availability, thank you for the feed back as well.

We look forward to welcoming you again in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Bruno Debray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Besana in Brianza, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

This is the best IBIS i have ever been. In Europe and even in Dubai does not exist something similar. Excellent

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giovanni611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Salmiya, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Ibis Salmiya Team would like to thank you for your positive and constructive comments posted on Tripadvisor's website.

It is very much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you again in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Bruno Debray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Salmiya is an lovely place to see around - the shopping is exceptional - with so many malls right on your door step, and the hotel is a lovely place to stay to take advantage of the area. The Scientific centre and Marina Mall are equal distance on either side - and a comfortable walk (about 15 minutes) either way, and Salem Mubarak street has lots of little snack places and coffee shops. The rooms are small, but certainly big enough for a short stop, I have been here for three days - and its been an ideal location.
I wouldn't stay here as part of a vacation - but that is not the idea of the hotel - so for the market it targets - it serves its purpose well.
My only criticism is that it would be nice to have a kettle in the room.
The bathrooms are great - big enough and everything is spotlessly clean. The beds are comfortable and the staff are helpful and friendly.
Thank you for taking care of me.

Room Tip: Higher up you have the views and hear less of the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HazelandMik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibissalmiya1, Manager at Ibis Salmiya, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Ibis Salmiya Team would like to thank you for your positive and constructive comments posted on Tripadvisor's website.

It is very much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you again in near future.

Yours sincerely

Bruno Debray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuwait City hotels
5.5 mi away
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
Ibis Sharq Kuwait
#11 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mirage Suites
Mirage Suites
#30 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
2.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Kuwait
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
Movenpick Hotel Kuwait
#8 of 69 in Kuwait City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Salmiya
BEST WESTERN PLUS Salmiya
#5 of 13 in Salmiyah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
5.1 mi away
Jumeirah Messilah Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Salmiya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Salmiya

Property: Ibis Salmiya
Address: Salem Al Mubarak Street | Salmiya, Kuwait City 24755, Kuwait
Phone Number:
Region: Kuwait > Kuwait City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kuwait City
#13 Business Hotel in Kuwait City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Salmiya 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Salmiya is located in Kuwait's fashionable Salmiya, overlooking the seafront. Perfectly located close to the heart of the business area on Salem Mubarak street, the most famous and lively shopping and entertainment center. It has 175 airconditionedrooms, interactive TV, Wifi Internet, one restaurant and BBQ terrace, and one bar open 24/7.- Free WiFi, Free Coffee & Tea making facilities and Mini-fridge in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Salmiya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Salmiya Hotel Kuwait City
Ibis Kuwait City
Accor Kuwait City
Ibis Salmiya Kuwait/Kuwait City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing