We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a FEELING............”
Review of Le Gray Beirut

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Gray Beirut
Ranked #1 of 114 Hotels in Beirut
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Finally I had the chance to visit Legray hotel,
A breathtaking hotel in the Middle Eastern gem Beirut, the personal touch of Mr. Campbell Gray the hotel owner is everywhere , a ultra modern decoration that looks like no other hotel. The receptionist told me that Mr. gray likes to build his hotel where he likes to wake up,and you can find him always in the hotel having his coffee or just hanging a frame on the wall ;so during my stay at the hotel I was haunted by the idea of meeting him, but unfortunately I couldn’t identify his picture with any person in the hotel.
I am a Lebanese and Beirut is for me the place to be ,to live ,to breath ,and Legray Hotel gave Beirut a new horizon of modernity , and extreme hospitality .
Le Gray hotel looks like Beirut , genuine ,modern, western ,oriental , peaceful ,rebellion, but mostly vital and magical .
The location is perfect in Down Town Beirut, within walking distance from major landmarks .The highlight of this hotel is the roof top Bar and the swimming pool ,with a stunning view.
I was telling my friend about the hotel pool , I told him in a funny way that if you swim left ,you’ll see the Grand Mosque Al Amin , if you swim right you will find the Martyr square , and if you swim directly you’ll see Al Nahar building.
The rooms are spacious , modern with oriental touch of the ceiling , and a TV in the toilet ( I like it ),and when you enter your room ,a welcome note is hand written by the hotel manager with a basket of fruit everyday ,usually apples(I told them , that they should put the fruits of the seasons and not apples ,they answered me that the apples or the big fruits go with the decoration………)
Finally this hotel is a dream made true by his owner , and Beirut is welcoming every dreamer ………….
RANA TANISSA(LEBANON)

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ranaBeirutLebanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (676)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

611 - 617 of 676 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2010

- very well-located in the middle of the renovated solidere area and within walking distance of the new beirut souks and the facilities of solidere/centre ville.
- noisy intersection at the entrance of this hotel is a bit of a pain although you dont feel it once you're inside.
- the modern styling is a bit clinical albeit classy. a tad more character in the rooms would have been nice.
- the service is exemplary with courteous staff and swift assistance when needed.
- rooftop pool is lovely with an infinity edge and a nice cafe attached. there are about ten to fifteen pool chairs so it could get full at times.
- the rooftop restaurant Aqua is a great place for breakfast and dinner.
- price is a bit on the high end but better value than the phoenicia intercontinental and other similar hotels.
- i personally like the styling and seclusion of the albergo in achrafieh more but this is a welcome change especially considering that the albergo is often full.
- the internet was a major flaw in my opinion. it was free and maybe that's the reason it was extremely SLOW most times. this needs to be fixed.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pendolino77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

We spent 3 nights here before moving to the Four Seasons (for a conference - see my review of that hotel). Le Gray was perfection. Wonderful arrival, beautiful room (we splurged on an executive one with a balcony overlooking the sea). The design of everything was perfect. Great sheets, comfortable bed,and excellent room service. There was nothing we could fault. Would stay there again if visiting Beirut. If you are reading this trying to chose between Le Gray and The Four Seasons. Le Gray is the one to pick without doubt.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

I stayed in the hotel for seven nights with my wife, I got executive suite. The Suite is very big with a massive bathroom divided to shower area and toilet area. Rooms also has espressos machine. Location is good but the main issue is the noise due to high traffic in this area. I have tried the GYM and restaurants in the roof. The view is fantastic but very expensive. the main issue of this hotel is the prices. I paid $ 470 for the room only. What makes this hotel different is the service that is exceptional and very friendly staff in concierge especially Sandra. She recommended us two excellent restaurants that are Mayyas and Tawla (organic food). I highly recommend this hotel for anybody who can afford it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank future2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

A new and trendy centrally located hotel with extraordinary service - some of the best I have experienced in my travels. Warm, friendly and very professional. We stayed in an executive suite that was a haven from the bustle of the city. Great beds, linen, and lots of wonderful touches such as a cappuccino maker that grinds fresh beans. We are spending an extra night just to enjoy the luxury before continuing on the rest of our trip. Great rooftop breakfast that we had included in our room rates.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TZW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

Le Gray sums up the new Beirut, emerging out of the recent bloody history with all the style and finesse the Lebanese are famous for.
This hotel is slick stylish and yet still manages to come across as friendly and approachable.
The location close to the downtown is great for sightseeers or business, there are plenty of facilities in the hotel and nearby.
Rightly deserves is Conde Naste top 60 new hotel place

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

Truly one of the best hotels I have stayed in. Service is beyond anything I have ever experienced--competent, going the extra mile and with a genuine smile and warmth. Location is fantastic (other than the traffic noise which permeates Beirut). Rooftop pool and views are stunning. Proximity to great shopping and pedestrian area is great. Food is excellent. Rooms range between somewhat small and huge (ask for one facing the street) but are well appointed with beautiful furniture and comfortable beds. Really recommend the deep tissue massages, blueberry ricotta pancakes and bacon! I had one of the best meals in my life at a nearby Italian restaurant- Fiona's. Delicious.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedUakari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beirut hotels
0.7 mi away
Phoenicia Hotel
Phoenicia Hotel
#2 of 114 in Beirut
805 reviews
0.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Beirut
2.6 mi away
Hilton Beirut Habtoor Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
#5 of 114 in Beirut
957 reviews
0.4 mi away
O Monot Luxury Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Martinez Hotel, Beirut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Gray Beirut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Gray Beirut

Address: | Martyrs' Square, Central Beirut District, Beirut 1103, Lebanon
Region: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Beirut
#1 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
#4 Romantic Hotel in Beirut
#14 Business Hotel in Beirut
Price Range: £223 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Gray Beirut 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Gray, one of the finest 5-star hotels in Beirut, has 103 contemporary rooms & suites. Many of them can be interconnected for those travelling together. The architecture by Australian Kevin Dash ensures all rooms and suites are soaked in Mediterranean sun, while the central floor-to-ceiling, glass-topped atrium means the building is filled with light from the inside out. The contemporary, clutter-free interior design is by Mary Fox Linton in close collaboration with creator, Gordon Campbell Gray. The palette includes pastel shades of blue, sage green or lilac, with dark grey tile and mosaic bathrooms. 2 restaurants, 2 bars, 3 lounges complete the facilities. Indigo on the Roof for elegant, yet snob-free dining and Gordon’s Café for chic casual all-day dining. Bar Three-Sixty and Cherry on the Rooftop join Beirut’s nightlife scene opening alternately October to April and May to September. The Cigar Lounge offers the best Cuban cigar selection and exquisite cognacs and Armagnac. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Prestigia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Gray Beirut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Gray Beirut Hotel Beirut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing