We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury today on the former Green Line”
Review of Le Gray Beirut

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Gray Beirut
Ranked #1 of 116 Hotels in Beirut
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Luxury today on the former Green Line”
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Incredible hotel in the "new" Beirut downtown. Luxury awaits at Le Gray. However, do not be put off by the airport sceening and x-ray at the entrance. Once inside it is all incredible from Indigo (the rooftop restaurant) to the purple-tiled infinity pool. The bed is perahps the most comfortable bed I have ever tried (Four Seasons is a close second) and the bathrooms are over the top in a minimilist way. Free laptop provided during my stay as I did not bring mine and it was connected in my room with free internet. The espresso machine located in the enormous walk in closet was a great touch. If you are in need of luxury and pampering in Beirut than this is your place. I will certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAGVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    91
    16
    5
    11
See reviews for
65
166
63
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
lebanon
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

i stayed with my fiance in " Le gray" ,they upgraded us to a very nice suite on the 3rd floor with a historical side view on downtown Beirut ...spacious,new,high tech hotel,but the lobby is still missing though you can find many restaurants to sit and enjoy...don't miss 360 bar if u're with friends,and the pool on the top floor in summer time...

try to include the breakfast in your package because it's over priced if ordered on the side (50$ for an omelette ,mini croissants plate,2 coffee )

the location is simply the best...in the middle of downtown Beirut..facing the hotel ,you can find the outdoor nightclub # 2 in Beirut (white) that changes to be " eight" in winter time...don't miss " al balad" restaurant with their garlic&bread....

I recommend it for winter time ...for summer time in beirut try direct beach access hotels

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonzLebanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Stayed for 3 nights last week to celebrate our engagement, have to say that all expectations were exceeded.

We had an Executive Suite, it was gigantic and super comfortable. Free WiFi was good quality (not sure the reason for the last reviewers complaints), rooms were immaculantly serviced, everyone we encountered was impeccably attired and offering any assistance they could think of! Really nice to be somewhere where people are so obviously proud of their place of work. Special mention to Rami the concierge, he was superb.

We used the spa for a massage, superb.

Had breakfast both in the room and upstairs at the restaurant, both were great. Dinner upstairs one night was good without being amazing. Gordon's Cafe for late lunch one day was superb.

Only minor complaint was that our shower wet room didn't drain quickly enough meaning a puddle in the bathroom after each shower; no great drama.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisduffeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

- operator takes forever to answer phone. turns out there's just one for 87 rooms!
- rooftop restaurant Indigo is great for dinner
- traffic din of hotel's corner location in Solidere district can get annoying. try to get a room off the main thoroughfare.
- wifi continues to be slow and patchy with no more than 200Kb download at the best of times. it's complimentary at least bit I'd rather pay for faster speeds.
- wifi keeps asking for login too often. annoying.
- rooms vary based on location, configuration so make sure to check if you're particular about things like getting a usable terrace vs. standing room only.
- staff has a well earned reputation for courtesy and friendliness.
- pool is nice but sundeck only has about 10 beds.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pendolino77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebden Bridge
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Le Gray is in the top 10 of hotels in the world we have stayed in.

It is an expensive hotel, but you pay for what you get.

The executive suite on the second floor was excellent and roomy and the roof top pool is awesome.

The service was excellent and the concierge advice as to what to do and where to eat was superb, particularly from Lisa.

We hired a hotel car for trips around Lebanon, which was very expensive, but an excellent way to see the country. Riad, one of the drivers deserves a particular mention.

It is correct that the traffic outside of the hotel is non stop 24 hours a day, but we actually opened our windows and watched Beirut pass us by.

A must for any visitor to Beirut is the 5 hour walking tour organised by Ronnie (website www.bebeirut.org). One of the most fascinating and well done tours we have ever taken anywhere.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hebtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

I stayed at Le Gray after reading all the reviews here and recommendations from friends and I wasn't dissapointed. Although the reception area feels small for the hotel, once you take the lifts upstairs you realize it's a great hotel. I stayed in a executive suite with a terrace, it was very comfortable although I prefer more modern furnishing. The bed was fantastic and i loved the shower area too. I ate at the main restaurant and the cafe by the pool and the food was fantastic both times, the salad nicoise is outstanding. And the free wi-fi and water was another big plus

On the negative side it has to be the pool area. The pool is modern and cool but there are only about ten chairs...and the sun disappears after 3pm. So this is not a place to hang around. And the speakers in the pool area really need a good repair! Also, the breakfast was slightly dissapointing.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LD73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

This hotel is without a doubt, outstanding. The staff are more than attentive, the premises are beautiful. I had an exectuitve suite which was lavish. Very very clean hotel. The restaurant on the roof was great. I would not stay anywhere else if traveling to Beirut again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank byairbysea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beirut hotels
0.7 mi away
Phoenicia Hotel
Phoenicia Hotel
#2 of 116 in Beirut
746 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Beirut Habtoor Grand
0.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Beirut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
#7 of 116 in Beirut
826 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Martinez Hotel, Beirut
1.4 mi away
Le Bristol Beyrouth
Le Bristol Beyrouth
#6 of 116 in Beirut
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Gray Beirut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Gray Beirut

Property: Le Gray Beirut
Address: | Martyrs' Square, Central Beirut District, Beirut 1103, Lebanon
Region: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
#1 Spa Hotel in Beirut
#4 Romantic Hotel in Beirut
#14 Business Hotel in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Gray Beirut 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Gray, one of the finest 5-star hotels in Beirut, has 103 contemporary rooms & suites. Many of them can be interconnected for those travelling together. The architecture by Australian Kevin Dash ensures all rooms and suites are soaked in Mediterranean sun, while the central floor-to-ceiling, glass-topped atrium means the building is filled with light from the inside out. The contemporary, clutter-free interior design is by Mary Fox Linton in close collaboration with creator, Gordon Campbell Gray. The palette includes pastel shades of blue, sage green or lilac, with dark grey tile and mosaic bathrooms. 2 restaurants, 2 bars, 3 lounges complete the facilities. Indigo on the Roof for elegant, yet snob-free dining and Gordon’s Café for chic casual all-day dining. Bar Three-Sixty and Cherry on the Rooftop join Beirut’s nightlife scene opening alternately October to April and May to September. The Cigar Lounge offers the best Cuban cigar selection and exquisite cognacs and Armagnac. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Prestigia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Le Gray Beirut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Gray Beirut Hotel Beirut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing