We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get a Room... in another hotel if its possible. Girls do not go!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Talal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Talal Hotel
Ranked #7 of 45 Beirut B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Get a Room... in another hotel if its possible. Girls do not go!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

I stayed here with some friends in November 2011... the staff and the service was terrible. Nothing much to say... the beds are not confortable... and is somehow not clean.

One of the staff kissed me in the neck when i was in the kitchen...and this was very very creepy.

In the middle of the night the owner kicked at the doors and shouted very loud disturbing and waking everyone! Just because he wanted to wake up a Libyan guy that arrived the day before... and he was closed himself in the room.

The owner threatened us to kick us out of the hotel in the middle of the night...he was very rude and weird....he even smelled at our plates after we had dinner and had washing them.

I absolutly dont recommend this Hotel for anyone, specially not for girls!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariejolie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    45
    23
    6
    14
See reviews for
9
26
50
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

My friend and I stayed here last April for three nights. We knew it was not a fancy hotel, and could put up with the general state of things (blasting night club music next door, not super comfy beds).

I would like to warn you, however, of the staff. Fortunately, my friend and I had no personal experience with this, but two of the girls who were staying in the room adjacent told us they had woken up to one of the staff sitting at the food of their beds staring at them! And one of the girls said he woke her up with a hand massage. Furthermore, the owner is a bit...grumpy, and it's not always clear if he's joking or not. He's fairly bitter about the fact that he spends most of his waking (and some of his sleeping) hours here.

That being said, my friend and I thankfully had no such encounters, and it's hard to find such a cheap place in Beirut. For us, it was worth it so we could spend more money on the delicious cuisine, but if you can spring for a cleaner place with safer staff, I would do so..

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anonymous F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

I stayed at this hostel for 5 days. The friendly staff really made my stay at the Talal Hotel enjoyable. The hotel is located in a great location close to downtown and just a 3 minute walk to Gemmayze (the only downside is you have to cross a highway to get there).

The rooms aren't fancy and quite basic but they are cheap. I always had hot water showers and the bathrooms were clean. There aren't many budget / backpacker options in Beirut so you can't really be picky, but the staff is really nice and will do their best to accomodate you. They also do laundry. Female dorms available. It's probably best to use their airport transfer as it would be difficult to find the hostel on your own, addresses are not often used in Beirut.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st (reception) floor tend to be noisier as it's closer to the common area. Request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nycgirl918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herford, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

I stayed here 5 days in June in a dorm and found it good value for the money. You can use the Kitchen, tea, coffee is available for free, fridge etc. Staff is friendly, on my last day I checked out at 8 pm and they didn't bother. Where else do you find that? Definitely would come back here, highly recommended!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Friedhelm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilagarcia de Arousa, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Near Gemayzeh (pubs and restaurants) and Charles Helou bus station, the hostel is basic, but with unbeatable prices in Beirut, specially the dorms. There are not a lot of budget options. Maybe there's not for everyone, but if you want or need to save, You'll have all you need, and the staff is helpfull.
People comes and go and you always find new people and friendly ambient.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perruaviajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

The location is very nice but it took us an hour to find it but at last we found it and we had a double room , it was very good and clean with a/c and t.v and clean bathroom with hot shower .
the guy at the reception is really funny and helpful he can draw you a map where to go and all the informations you need

Room Tip: Rooms in the 3rd floor of the hotel are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

A very basic, but comfortable, hostel (aint no hotel). Has all the key requirements for a brief stay in Beirut including aircon, hot water, wifi, beer and clean. It is ideally located to a variety of bars, cafes and restaurants to suit all budgets and tastes.
Staff are very laid back but are always willing to assist, albeit with a little reminding and follow-up. They all speak varying degrees of English so it is easy to communicate with them.
Be sure to get very detailed directions as it is well hidden in a small side street and has very poor signage.

Room Tip: Any room with Aircon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigWillyStyle42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beirut hotels
2.6 mi away
Embassy Hotel Lebanon
Embassy Hotel Lebanon
#102 of 117 in Beirut
3.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Gray Beirut
Le Gray Beirut
#1 of 117 in Beirut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Martinez Hotel, Beirut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Coral Beirut Al Hamra Hotel
1.8 mi away
Phoenicia Hotel
Phoenicia Hotel
#3 of 117 in Beirut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Mayflower Hotel
The Mayflower Hotel
#40 of 117 in Beirut
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talal Hotel

Property: Talal Hotel
Address: Ave Charles Helou | Gemmayzeh, Beirut, Lebanon
Region: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Talal Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Talal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing