We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Customer Service”
Review of Talal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Talal Hotel
Ranked #9 of 45 Beirut B&B and Inns
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad Customer Service”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Abysmal customer service. Receptionist was very arrogant and rude. I had come from a very long and tiring day from Baalbeck and I was visibly tired. The receptionist took this personally for some reason and was consequently very rude to me and essentially asked me to leave the hostel and find a better place to stay. Rooms were over priced as well, dirty and the bed sheets had cigarette burns on them.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dancatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    45
    23
    6
    15
See reviews for
9
26
51
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

The staff was very friendly, communicative and helpful. We always got a lot of useful advices when we asked about something. The atmosphere in the hotel is very friendly in general between people: both staff and guests. The location is comfortable - near the Downtown and next to one of the Beirut bus station. It is easy to get the other ones. The last but not least the price is reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agnieszka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nitra, Slovakia
Level Contributor
583 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I have been so many times in Talal. Owner is a nice guy, maybe now a bit tired by running a hostel but still. It is very near to downtown - 10 min walk. It is maybe the cheapest accomodation in Beirut. I liked more the old location (all hostel had moved some 150m from its original location). Rooms are small and many are dorm - like. Place to meet people but not reccomended to people with many expectations or olders.

Room Tip: Ask to have a look and choose afterwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilao, Bulacan, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We all know that this hotel is the cheapest in town so I don't expect much bec I have to pay less. But they attend to their guests professionally and very helpful beyond what is expected.
The Talal staff will provide you with anything and everything about lebanon. They were very warm and friendly. The rooms are decently clean. We have sharing bathroom but never been a problem. Its clean with water and electricity 24/7.
They help me maximized my stay by suggesting where to go, how to go, and the transportation fees. They even advice me how to negotiate with taxi drivers. How cool is that!
Definitely a place for backpacker in Beirut.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Efren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2012

A good quality hotel, conveniently located in one of the best areas in Beirut. Rooms are clean, functional, pleasant and had all we needed. Wonderful staff and owner with a great sense of humor are very helpful, knowledgeable and take care about the guests. There is always someone to help with any questions, give travel advice, ready to draw a map (even twice a day) to make sure you won’t get lost. They even teach how to make Arabic/Lebanese/Turkish coffee (hard to identify any but after a lesson it tastes great). Owner speaks Arabic, English, French, Spanish and is very popular among Polish tourists. The staff made our days, we felt there like at home and had a most enjoyable stay.We had a lot of fun there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Best place to stay in Beirut! People! Amazing helpful and supportive owner. Location is great in the heart of the city and when you ask about direction people know the place. detailed directions of places to explore and visit they are very flexible and ensure you're all safe and sound.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My friend and I stayed at The Talal for four nights. We had a great time.
This was mainly due to the staff/manager, who had a lot of humor and relaxed attitude to handeling the guests.
My friend and I felt at home right away. There was always someone to help you with your questions, plans and travel advice.
The room was good with A/C (witch is essential in Beirut) with private lockers , and the shared bathroom clean.
The Talal is well placed in terms of exploring the city and transport out of the city.
For the price of US$13 a night this is great value, and we would gladly recommend this place for people, who needs a really good (if not the best) hostel in Beirut.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelExperience74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beirut hotels
2.6 mi away
Embassy Hotel Lebanon
Embassy Hotel Lebanon
#102 of 117 in Beirut
3.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Gray Beirut
Le Gray Beirut
#2 of 117 in Beirut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Martinez Hotel, Beirut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Coral Beirut Al Hamra Hotel
1.8 mi away
Phoenicia Hotel
Phoenicia Hotel
#3 of 117 in Beirut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Mayflower Hotel
The Mayflower Hotel
#37 of 117 in Beirut
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talal Hotel

Property: Talal Hotel
Address: Ave Charles Helou | Gemmayzeh, Beirut, Lebanon
Region: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Talal Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Talal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing