We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for!”
Review of Minto Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Minto Suites
Ranked #28 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Beirut
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for!”
Reviewed 29 November 2012

I stayed here for 2 weeks when I moved to Lebanon before I moved into my permanent apartment. It was reasonable for what I paid. I moved from a much nicer (more expensive) hotel round the corner (excess of $100 a night), as I managed to find an apartment in Beirut and just needed somewhere to crash until I moved there.

The location is very central. Plenty of pubs and bars below the hotel. My main advice would be to bring a pair of ear-plugs so you can actually go to sleep. One night there was a live band playing on the street below (small alley-way off Hamra) so I didn't sleep at all! As I stayed for over 2 weeks the owner actually reduced the price significantly. I think I eventually ended up paying $35 a night down from the advertised $50. Despite it's many flaws. i.e. old building, creaky and cold atmosphere etc the management are actually very nice if you take time to speak to them. I found it very easy to negotiate many things with them.

Check the room you get i.e. front facing rooms are prone to noise from the street below so get a room high up. My room was facing the back and there was a shaft outside one of the windows which meant I could smell the fuel from the generator now and again so had to sleep with the extractor fan on!! Make sure you check these small things just to your stay is as comfortable as can be.

The rooms are actually very big and you get beds, table, kitchenette etc over around 30 Sq Metres. I didn't actually use the kitchenette! The room was cleaned each day and I was out for most of the day.

I would only recommend this hotel to anyone on a tight budget or group of friends who want to use the hotel as a base to leave their stuff and will be out most of the time!

Room Tip: Get a room high up and preferably not front-facing. Make sure your room is not between the generator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CulturedNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
1
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The location is great, just off a tiny street from the Hamra and the price is great. The rooms are big, there is air-condition, cable TV, 24-hour hot water, a kitchen, and a comfortable bed. Unfortunately, it is really noisy, due the bars which are also located in the street. But therefore you are directly in Hamra.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Minto Suites is not a completely bad place: it is located in the centre of Beirut near Hamra street, the apartment we had was big, and there was, surprisingly, free internet. But there are several bars next to the hotel, so it's very loud every day until midnight; the room was quite dirty: the windows have not been washed for years and the cutlery and the glasses in the kitchen were so dirty you couldn't touch them; the phone didn't work in the room; staff didn't speak much English (or any other language) so good luck if you want to ask anything. The price we paid was high for the quality, so for our next stay in Beirut we will choose a hotel for a similar price and certainly not stay at Minto Suites.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bldavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Beirut hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

I stayed at the Minto Suites for two nights during mid-June, and came across it by accident. I was quoted 55 USD a night for one person and thought that was a reasonable price to pay for West Beirut’s Al Hamra district. I wanted to like the place, but I didn’t. There’s actually not much wrong with it, but for me, it’s just a difficult place to like.

Location is great – just off a tiny street from the Hamra – and the price is great, and there’s air-con, cable TV, 24-hour hot water, a fridge, some sort of a stove and a fairly comfortable bed.

Unfortunately, it’s not as clean as I would’ve liked – it’s not dirty, but it could be cleaner. The air-con is also a bit of a nuisance not just because it’s noisy, but it makes the air so dry that it made my eyes and skin itch (quite badly) overnight until I turned it off. I couldn’t really open the windows either as it faces a string of noisy bars which don’t close until the early hours, and they are really, really noisy. Also, the sockets were a bit dodgy, and no plugs available for charging cameras and phones etc.

Having seen other places in West Beirut at even lesser prices, I shouldn’t really complain about 55 USD-a-night when I managed to sleep ok. But for me, Minto Suites just doesn’t really cut it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sachahuista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beirut hotels
0.4 mi away
Bliss 3000
Bliss 3000
#1 of 40 in Beirut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Beirut Habtoor Grand
0.8 mi away
Phoenicia Hotel
Phoenicia Hotel
#3 of 117 in Beirut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Le Gray Beirut
Le Gray Beirut
#2 of 117 in Beirut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
#8 of 117 in Beirut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Beirut Al Hamra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minto Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minto Suites

Property: Minto Suites
Address: Hamra Street | facing Eldorado Center, Beirut, Lebanon
Region: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Minto Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minto Suites is a centrally located boutique hotel that offers travelers convenient accommodation in the famous Hamra Street. We are close to American University of Beirut and to all the fun places in Hamra street. Two famous pub restaurants are in same building. All our rooms and suites have kitchenettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Minto Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing