We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more minus than plus”
Review of Cosmopolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Ranked #63 of 116 Hotels in Beirut
Reviewed 15 September 2013

i stayed for 12 days in this hotel with a lot of positive features:
-friendly staff
-good accessibility for all the city main places.
-good entertainment activities (swimming pool +gym)
-clean rooms

but i have many negative point that i need to share :
- prices varies from guest to guest :my initial stay was for 2 days and i had to extend for another 10 days ..the hotel didnt accept to make any discount mentioning that it was the best price while i asked many guests and found out that i was the highest rate !!

-it is shocking for me to know that parking fees (4 $) are to be paid daily ..so if you have rent a car in lebanon expect this extra charge...this didn't happen in any hotel i stayed before..
.
- on daily basis we suffered power supply discontinuation for a couple of minutes :the management mentioned that it was normal in Lebanon even in hotels!!!! (i doubt it is true..they can simply buy a UPS)

-the A/C was leaking in the last 3 days of my stay and the hotel asked us to move our bags and cloths ASAP to another room .
-the same building includes a radio station ,a clinic and a private club ..so you can imagine how many minutes you need to wait till the elevator comes to your floor.

Room Tip: take the swimming pool side ...the other side is not nice at all (old buildings)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rabihalhajji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoBeirut, Owner at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Mr. Alhajji,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback about your stay at our Hotel, as we believe this is the best way to understand our guests' needs and answer them as much as we can. We're happy to hear about the positive points that you mentioned, but it's the negative ones that we wish to address, as we seem to have not met your expectations:

- We sincerely apologise again about the A/C leakage. Though our maintenance team works hard to make sure all equipment provided in the room operate perfectly, a zero-rate error is hard to reach. But that doesn't stop us from trying! What's most important in such situations are the speed and quality of the corrective measures taken, and I believe the team immediately asked you if you wished to change rooms, and given your choice to stay in the same room, the team worked hard and fast to fix the matter.
- We're sure you know that, in the travel industry, rates vary according to many parameters - length of stay, season, occupancy rates, booking date, volume, booking source... Though not as volatile as airline ticket rates, hotel room rates also vary. Had you made your booking for 12 days from the start, you would probably have had a better rate than booking 2 nights as you initially did. However, we understand that, had you known you were staying that long, you would have done that...
- Regarding the parking charges, most hotels in Beirut actually do charge parking, and generally at a significantly higher daily rate than ours, as this is more and more becoming a rare commodity in our city. Yet we were happy to give you a free week's parking to try to match your expectations.
- We're sorry all the power cuts exasperated you. This is one of the unfortunate realities of Lebanon, and we are as exasperated as you are with it.
- Finally, for the elevators, we do have some short rush periods, during the day, but that is when our guests generally get acquainted with our members and get a true, real feel of Lebanon.

Mr. Alhajji, thank you for choosing The Cosmopolitan Hotel for your stay in Beirut, and we hope we'll have the opportunity to have you again as our guest during your next visit to Beirut.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

The hotel rooms are very clean and spacious The hotel has plenty of facilities available like swimming pool outdoor as well indoor.

This place is very suitable for families as well as business

The reception Team and staff in general are very friendly and really helpful like Manal, Eli, stefani,..

The restaurant needs improvement but the breakfast is generous .
Don't stay as much time in the lobby as there is no air conditionning.
internet is slow .

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoBeirut, Owner at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear Mr. David,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback about your stay at our Hotel. We're delighted to have managed to meet your expectations!
The restaurant does indeed need improvement to match the level of the rest of our property; rest assured that it is indeed on our list of future projects. The lobby however is air conditioned, so your comment is a bit surprising... We'll look into it nevertheless.
Finally, about the internet speed, it's part of the unfortunate reality of Lebanon, but we have seen some improvement lately, and we're hoping we'll see more progress on this front.
Hope we'll have the pleasure to have you as our guest on your next trip to Beirut!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

It was a nice experience I was there with a friend for two days and we enjoyed the stay, the rooms are clean and cozy we stayed in a junior suite the size was perfect for two persons. The mini bar service is affordable if you like midnight snacks.
The staff is super friendly and helpful most of the time we were aided by Ms. Eliana she was very professional and in the same time friendly.
I would recommend this hotel if your looking for an affordable and friendly place to stay at.

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors in the summer because afternoon the pool is filled with kids if you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PRooDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoBeirut, Owner at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear M. PRooDY,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback about your stay at our Hotel. We're very happy that you had a pleasant stay, and look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Beirut!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This hotel is very special. It is not the most luxurious property in which I have ever stayed and it is not the most conveniently located, it suffers from occasionally unreliable internet but it is without doubt the most genuinely friendly and welcoming. As our stay progressed the staff gave every impression of loving their work and always made time for a friendly conversation as we departed on and arrived from various visits and excursions. Nothing was too much trouble and when one of us fell ill the whole team at the Cosmopolitan reacted with genuine concern in the manner of close friends. The room rate for a capacious junior suite was super competitive, the room was impeccably clean with a huge and comfortable bed. Ghina made me feel welcome before I had even arrived though her courteous and helpful mails signed off in special Cosmopolitan style. Top marks to housekeeping who created order out of chaos on a daily basis. The smiling restaurant staff presided over an inclusive breakfast which was simple but generous and fresh. The front desk team led by Eleana were all absolutely out of this world and could offer staff training in customer focus at a lot of the more prestigious hotels I have stayed in. I can’t recommend The Cosmopolitan highly enough for those want an excellent value base from which to explore the fascinating city of Beirut and who want to experience true Lebanese hospitality.

Room Tip: I was able to upgrade very reasonably to a very spacious junior suite, with a large window overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoBeirut, Owner at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear Mr. Paul,

We couldn't thank you enough for your heartwarming review. Our Hotel is a family business, and we try hard to instil a family atmosphere in our culture, and your review confirms that we are being able to achieve this. We are in a people's business, and your naming of our team members is the best proof of that.
We do however apologise about the unreliable internet. This is part of the unfortunate reality of Lebanon, and though we're trying hard to have a constant reliable internet connection, all we can do is be patient, and we're generally back online within a fair time.

Thanks again for choosing The Cosmopolitan Hotel, and delighted we managed to meet your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Visited Beirut for the first time ever and we couldn't have had better accommodation! Huge rooms, affordable mini bar, really nice pool and best of all, Table tennis tables:)
For any band or civilian out there we can gladly recommend staying at the Cosmopolitan Hotel if you're visiting Beirut!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRoyalConcept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoBeirut, Owner at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Hotel. We were delighted to have had you among us, and that we succeeded in meeting your expectations. As a band, you surely travel around quite often, and we hope that we were able to make you feel at home.
Hope we'll have the pleasure to have you as our guests again some time soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Good location, with spacious and comfortable rooms. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel rates represent very good value and I would definitely stay there again and recommend it for business travellers. I have just one request - can we have better lights in the bathroom though please :-)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoBeirut, Owner at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Dear M. MC,

Thank you very much for your review! We're very happy to have met your expectations, and look forward to having you as our guest during your next trip to Beirut, with our improved lights in the bathrooms (yes, we've already taken action on that, thank you for the hint!).
All the best from your Cosmopolitan Hotel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The rooms are quite ok, clean and functional, very good beds, only the lighting in the bathrooms is absolute poor.

The hotel as such is off the main spots for visitors, but if you have buisiness to do in the area, especially in Hazmieh or in Sin-el-Fin as such, it can be a good choice in terms of value for money.

Breakfast has improved quite a bit during the last months, but could still be better. The menu for restaurant and room service is still as poor as always.

The internet is really deplorable - off and on constantly, unstable, nonsense error message when trying to log in and other troubles - frustrating if you have to work there!

What is a strong point in favor is the very friendly staff (especially Eliana and the girls in the restaurant, but also the manager) who provide you with a friendly environment that makes up for quite many deficiencies.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alf_from_Melmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmoBeirut, Owner at Cosmopolitan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear M. Alf_from_Melmak,

We would first like to thank you for having taken the time to provide us with your input on our Hotel, especially since we seem to have had the pleasure to have you as our guest on more than one occasion. We would also like to thank you for your loyalty, and apologize for having fallen short of your expectations.
We have definitely taken note of your positive comments, but what we would like to answer you on are obviously the weak points that you have pointed out.
We're happy that you have noticed some improvement in our breakfast offering, and rest assured that this is only the beginning. We have coupled our efforts when it comes to food, and will soon be introducing a new menu for both the restaurant and room service, while continuing the improvements made to the breakfast. With that, we hope that we will manage to meet, if not exceed, your expectations, and look forward to hearing from you on this if we have the pleasure to host you again during your next trip to Beirut.
Finally, we should definitely find a solution for your internet troubles! Although internet in Lebanon is not very reliable, it is very likely that the problem that you have been facing comes from a compatibility/settings matter between your machine and our wireless network, as you've been our guest on more than one occasion, and chances of internet being down on a national level every time you're in town are rather slim. If you face the same problems next time, please do point it out to us and our team will do its best to help you find a solution.
Summer is just around the corner here in Beirut, so we hope we'll get the chance to have you amongst us very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beirut hotels
0.3 mi away
Urban Central Suites - Beirut
0.7 mi away
Padova Hotel
Padova Hotel
#57 of 116 in Beirut
72 reviews
3.7 mi away
Midtown Hotel and Suites
Midtown Hotel and Suites
#26 of 116 in Beirut
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lancaster Tamar Hotel
Lancaster Tamar Hotel
#45 of 116 in Beirut
142 reviews
4.0 mi away
Elite Duroy Hotel & Spa
Elite Duroy Hotel & Spa
#88 of 116 in Beirut
28 reviews
4.0 mi away
King's Suites Hotel
King's Suites Hotel
#86 of 116 in Beirut
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmopolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmopolitan Hotel

Address: Cityrama, Horsh Tabet, Dekwaneh, Beirut, Lebanon
Phone Number:
Region: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 116 Hotels in Beirut
Price Range: £72 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmopolitan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are traveling to Lebanon for business or pleasure, The Cosmopolitan Hotel give you the opportunity to save on your budget without compromising on comfort, location and leisure. We offer you the best mix between large, comfortable rooms, exciting and dynamic recreational facilities and a convenient location right on the outskirts of Beirut; all at a smart price. It is the latest addition to the overall offering of The Private Club, one of the most renowned sports and recreational clubs in Beirut. As a full package, your stay at The Cosmopolitan Hotel gives you access to the club's tennis, football or basketball courts, dance and aerobic lessons, three pools, gym, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cosmopolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing