We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““My Sushi Philosophy””
Review of Osaka Sushi Lounge

Osaka Sushi Lounge
Ranked #119 of 837 Restaurants in Beirut
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Description: Osaka offers unequivocally the widest selection of Sushi in Beirut. The effort invested in handpicking the freshest fish and finest ingredients as well as the attention and care of the Chef and his team guarantees an unforgettable dinning experience.Whether it's for a business lunch or dinner with friends Osaka's trendy atmosphere and friendly staff promises a remarkable time.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
““My Sushi Philosophy””
Reviewed 6 July 2014

From observation; I believe that most Lebanese will eat any Sushi as long as the restaurant is "trendy"; I don't think they're very picky sushi eaters. I am!

While Osaka is not my first choice for sushi in Beirut, it is definitely a good second. While the sushi is overall ok, and more importantly clean...the menu lacks a little bit of creativity(typical American/Mayo and fried based), and the number one problem is that they put WAY TOO MUCH RICE in their makis'!?! I'm not trying to watch my carbs or anything, but there is so much rice in the makis that the pieces are too big to chew, and it takes some of the flavor away from the actual fish. But hence, the sashimis' are really good.

If they would just fix this one issue, I would be there on a weekly basis!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sadek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    28
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Okay but not the best”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is a popular Sushi Place for Beirutis, well located close to Hamra, Ain Mraisse in Kontari. The Sushi is not bad but its the typical american mayo and philadelphia type of sushi. They offer other foods, like fish and tepanyaki but all in all I wouldn´t go back. I think the food is good, but not for me. It is quite popular so am sure they are doing something right.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beirut1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A unique sushi restaurant”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The whole experience starting from the booking , welcoming , ordering , eating and saying goodbye is unique , never witnessed a similar service in a sushi restaurant , and the best part are the jokes that the owner of the restaurant personally say when greeting you farewell

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NasserGhandour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarek M, Manager at Osaka Sushi Lounge, responded to this review, 23 March 2017
Dear Nasser,

Thank you for this lovely review. Osaka is glad that you enjoyed our wonderful experience.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, service, and atmosphere”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

One of the best sushi lounges in lebanon, whether you choose to eat sushi, maki etc.. or have one of the japanese dishes they have on the menu you WILL NOT be disappointed!
What brings me back to the restaurant is not only the good food and menu variety, but also the cleanness of the restaurant
The service is also great, never experienced anything less than excellence when going there
It is not overpriced like what the previous reviews say, it's just like any other sushi lounge in beirut or even less
We usually go as a party of 3,we order shrimps tampura, kani salad and crispy salmon salad (which is great) and an average of 25 maki rolls for about 120$ which is fairly priced compared to other japanese restaurants

Recommended!!

Helpful?
Thank anoud c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarek M, Owner at Osaka Sushi Lounge, responded to this review, 23 March 2017
Dear Anoud,

Thank you for this lovely review. Osaka is glad that you enjoyed our wonderful experience.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tasty but a bit pricey for its setting and food quality”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Food quality and setting in the restaurant is too overpriced compared to its value. We were seated by the window, however the sun kept hitting our eyes and it took 10 minutes for the waiter to kindly put the blinds down.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarek M, Owner at Osaka Sushi Lounge, responded to this review, 23 March 2017
Dear Carine

Thank you for this review. kindly note that our shushi is made with only Top fresh High Quality Ingredient. The price is very competitive considering the quality. We have revamped our restaurant, our staff are more aware about the sun effect onto the restaurant.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osaka Sushi Lounge also viewed

Beirut, Lebanon
Beirut, Lebanon
 
Beirut, Lebanon
 

Been to Osaka Sushi Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing