We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit this museum after you have seen Beiteddine”

Robert Mouawad Private Museum
Ranked #33 of 98 things to do in Beirut
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vietnam
Level Contributor
552 reviews
364 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
“Visit this museum after you have seen Beiteddine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

I went to this museum before I had seen Beiteddine and I wish I had done it the other way around. Some of the ideas for the interior decoration have been copied from Beiteddine. The grounds are lovely and I wondered how the building survived the civil war. On first entering the building I was overwhelmed by the incredibly ornate walls and ceilings and the general interior design. Each individual panel was beautiful, but put all together was way over the top and overshadowed the exhibits. I went at the end of September and it was so hot inside that we cut our visit short. The exhibits are displayed in various rooms and the highlight is the jewellery, including the second largest diamond in the world. Because of the heat it was impossible to admire each piece and artifact. We were given a plain sheet of paper with just a cursory description of what was in each room. A much better idea would have been an illustrated catalogue that you take with you while you are looking at the exhibits and return before you leave. Like you do in art galleries. I went with a Beiruti friend who had never heard of this museum and we both had mixed emotions about how we felt about it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelbugVietnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    16
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Grandiose archade”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

grandiose
the idea of turning a Chateau into a wedding venues
the statues at the entrance
gardens
panorama

Helpful?
Thank MiMoBeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth it for the student price of a $1”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

An ok museum. The highlight appears to be "the world's most expensive bra" Still, if you're bored and in need of some cheap sight seeing, it's worth a look.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maggle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabriz, Iran
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The only place in beirut that should not be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

By writing this title, I meant that the place is difficult to find. Behind the presidential palace (Grand Serail), there is a uphill street, climb it then turn right. There are great items in the yard of the museum, the entrance fee is fair (6USD), they give you a paper including some data on the items. It's got two floors. All items and the rooms, ceilings are great. But the part you should not miss is the most expensive bra designed by the museum owner and presented in Victoria Secret Show!!! The ventilation system is bad though. You get surprised by the number of the items and their quality as this is a private museum not a public or state one. Definitely visit the place.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Golzari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The house as amazing (or maybe more so) than the collection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

The home is over the top and grounds are nice too. Admission is very reasonable and this is a nice compliment to a visit at the national museum.

The collection is uneven however. Jewelery is probably the best--definitely the best curated part of the collection. The porcelain is all over quality wise. Carpets a pretty good.

As is true with most house museums, this is fun for the overall experience rather than the individual bits of the colleciton

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank David Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Robert Mouawad Private Museum also viewed

 

Been to Robert Mouawad Private Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing