We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not an Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Country Lodge Club & Resort
Ranked #53 of 117 Hotels in Beirut
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“This is not an Hotel”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This is not really an Hotel, It’s a private members club. The reception staff are VERY rude. The rooms are very dark and my room had a big crack in the wall due to dampness or subsidence. The menu is very “junk food” orientated. The pools are lovely but they only had around 7-10 mattresses to put on the sun beds. The club is used for lots of parties inc. a children’s party around the pool area, with unbearable noise.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrine1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    18
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
21
5
2
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The lodge runs around $240/night in summer and $150/night in winter. My wife and I spent 4 nights here for part of our honeymoon. Our room was excellent with nice views. They decorated our bed and brought champaign with fruits. The front desk staff was NOT friendly but the cleaning staff was extremely friendly. The facilities were excellent. The food was excellent.

Room Tip: get as high as you can and request an end of the hall room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Domirnald729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

After the hopelessly poor Summer we have been afflicted with the the UK, maybe I am biased towards Lebanon and this hotel for our sunny and enjoyable stay. The pools are great and huge, so even when there are lots of people around, there is space to swim, sun bathe or just cool off. It is a little out on a limb, but there are a few local shops and restaurants but bear in mind you are only a 20 minute cab ride to downtown Beirut and all that offers. Best restaurant we "found", along with loads of locals, Al Falamanki. Great gardens, service, atmos & food.

We would definitely stay here again and was really excited to see my first tarantula, in the wild here. Only one though, outside and from a distance - it was still huge & awesomely from another era. Don't let that put you off!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I have stayed in this hotel a few times for work, I would say it is fine for visiting the gum & outdoor/indoor pools, but is not a great hotel to stay in. I agree with the previous poster that the reception staff are not friendly & can barely even say hello/welcome & goodbye, the housekeepers however are more friendly. There is also and odd smell that comes from the drains in the hotel, not all rooms have double glazing and it is loud outside. The hotel is also stuck on top of a hill not local to centre of Beirut so need to book taxis to get to most places. All there is up the road from hotel is a couple shops, beauty parlour & chicken shack (literally) The hotel also has limited room service, they didn't even answer the phone when I called severall times and there isn't much choice of food.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I have stayed here a couple of times so I pretty know the standard now.
Hotel is in Bsalim on a hill, mountain and basically in middle of nothing.

The good stuff first:
Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Mini Suites.
Pool area is great, 2 great pools.
Modern newish hotel.

The bad stuff:
Rooms, bathroom gets a whiff of drainage now and again.
Pool area crowed with people off the street using it, loads of screaming children.
I assume they have membership or pay a day rate to use it.
Best get down early before the over 100 sunbeds go.
Food is awfull.

The worse thing about this hotel is the staff. Reception staff have so much attitude. Unfriendly and can't be bothered attitude. Worse I have ever experienced in hundreds of hotels I have stayed around the world.
The pool side restaurant staff is also useless. Had to ask several times for menu. Wated ages for our drinks and food. That's not just once. Many times. Ask for ketchup etc and by the time it arrives you done with your food, if it arrives.

I find being European they treat you much worse. If you local or Speak Arabic you get better service.

I do feel like I am there on some free stay, That they paying me to stay there. Thats why they think they can have such awfull ignorant attitude towards us.
No freebie here!! It's a paid stay.

The staff need to get there stuff sorted and loose the chip on your shoulder.

Only thing I would say is that the housekeepers, cleaning ladies are very friendly. When you see them in the hallway, corridor they always smile and say Hello. Typical Asian friendliness.
The rest of the staff can learn from them!!

To sum up.....

If you want rude, attitude frontline staff, Please stay here.

Room Tip: Full of attitude
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank attie1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We have stayed here twice, once in August 2011 and recently in June 2012. Both times we have been happy with our stay. The rooms are very spacious and clean, pool is wonderful and the breakfast is our favorite!
This past visit we did have a little trouble getting into our oom, it wasn't ready on time but they did upgrade us to a beautiful suite because of this. They allowed us to use the facilities in the meantime while waiting for our room.
It can be noisy on the weekend due to the weddings so if you don't tolerate noise try to go on a weekday....very peaceful.
A visit to Lebanon would no longer be complete without a few nights at Country Lodge...we will be back next year!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank juliec303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Situated in Metn this hotel opened a couple of years ago within the well established resort that the Lebanese families like to visit for the weekend.
The sports facilities are excellent with swimming pools and Squash courts and there is a big sports lounge which I am told is used mainly in the winter.
The restaurant is large and lacks atmosphere although it is possible to have breakfast served on the ground flor of the hotel (off reception) but the hot food arrives tepid! The food is rather bland which is a shame as the Lebanese food is famous. Service is lackadaisical in the resort but the hotel staff do try to promptly sort out any problems. Mr Akoury was particularly helpful.
The evening parties and wedding reception was noisy but some rooms have double glazing - mine did thankfully.
Overall it is more a family resort hotel rather than catering for a businessman

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Resource_inspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beirut
3.3 mi away
Urban Central Suites - Beirut
6.7 mi away
Padova Hotel
Padova Hotel
#60 of 117 in Beirut
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
7.6 mi away
Cherry Blossom Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Park Lane Furnished Suites
Park Lane Furnished Suites
#90 of 117 in Beirut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
2.0 mi away
Al Bustan Hotel & Spa
Al Bustan Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Beit Mery
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.5 mi away
Warwick Stone 55 Hotel
Warwick Stone 55 Hotel
#12 of 117 in Beirut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Lodge Club & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Lodge Club & Resort

Property: Country Lodge Club & Resort
Address: Bsalim-North Metn | Jal el Dib Highway, Beirut, Lebanon
Region: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 117 Hotels in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Country Lodge Club & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Country Lodge Club & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing