We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good by Beirut standards but its the small things...”
Review of Dunes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dunes Hotel
Ranked #39 of 117 Hotels in Beirut
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good by Beirut standards but its the small things...”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Staff very helpful, particularly in Galleria restaurant. Venue for the training was excellent and well managed. Good location but NO BARS anywhere. Only restaurants. 10$ taxi ride to Hamra Street or Manara if you want seafood or a pint of draught. Beer in the restaurants is expensive. The exec room was excellent and the hotel was generous with water or anything needed. TSC supermarket sells everything. A 20 minute walk north up Verdun Street if you want beer! Be warned! The chinese restaurant is SUPERB. The rooms are very quiet at night and the bed is amazing. Downsides... the breakfast is too basic. Not a patch on Hilton. steam room and jacuzzi are really awful and smelly. The fitness centre needs completely overhauling. Its old and rank frankly. Internet connection while free, is SLOOOOW and I had constant problems getting my room key to work. I preferred the Radisson SAS.

Room Tip: The executive rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Bei... D, General Manager at Dunes Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Mr.Matt,
Greeting from Holiday Inn Beirut Dunes. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.
It was a pleasure knowing that you enjoyed our rooms and that they were up to your expectations, that the location of our hotel was convenient and that our attentive staff has contributed in making your stay a good one.

On another note, we have well noted your additional comment about our breakfast buffet and our fitness club.

We looking forward to see you in the near future,

Best Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    58
    26
    5
    3
See reviews for
18
21
17
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel service is very good. The room service is fast. The food isn't delicious however its well decorated. I didn't like the location of this hotel. There is so much traffic in the site. They gived me a mountain view room which is not good. I dont know if they have a sea view rooms. The staff are good and polite. Thank you

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Georgesleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Bei... D, General Manager at Dunes Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Mr.George,

Greetings from Holiday Inn Beirut Dunes

We would like to thank you not only for choosing our hotel but also for taking the time and leaving your comment on Trip Advisor.
We are glad to hear that our staff and services has been helpful but have noted your feedback about your room allocation in addition to your comment about the taste of our dishes and be assured that we will take action accordingly so when you visit us next time we would be up to your expectations.
We certainly look forward to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel for 4 nights on a business trip. The hotel is well maintained, the rooms are very clean, the linens too, the light in the room are enough, the bed and pillows quality are really comfortable, the size of the room is good for a 4 star hotel.
Quality of food in the breakfast and lunch is really good . The food is yummy.
The service at the reception is really good and efficient.
The staff is very friendly in the hotel and they really care about you and your stay.
I used the gym during my stay, it will do the job for a short trip.
The location is the middle of Verdun,
They don't have a bar.
The bathroom is very clean and the bathtub is spacious for 4 star hotel because the installed the shower curtain smartly.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank FadiHaddadin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Bei... D, Manager at Dunes Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

First and foremost, I would like to thank you for having selected our hotel for your visit to Beirut and for taking the time to post your comments. We are delighted to see that you have enjoyed your stay, the friendly team, the location, the food and the hotel as a whole.
Looking forward to welcoming you back for many visits to come.

Best Regards
Maha Bourachi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tripoli, Lebanon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

- Good location: lots of nearby shops, restaurants, pubs. Yet you may still need a taxi to get to the "Down Town" area.
- Clean.
- A little bit noisy: there were some building constructions nearby... and oh heavy traffic.
- Good internet connection, specially for downloading. You may face problems if you want to upload a file (even small ones).
- Staff are so and so. Polite yet not very friendly or responsive.
- They have problems with slippers .. We reserved a double room but had only 1 slipper and 1 bathrobe. I asked for additional ones several times during my two-night stay but I left the hotel without being delivered.
- Breakfast is edible. Just edible, no more no less. We had in-room breakfast.
- The Most Important Part: Do Not Buy the Executive Room. It promised more space, In-room breakfast, a basket full of fruits and chocolates, free internet connection. What you really get:
1- no more space
2- The receptionist will try to convince you to go to the 1st floor to have your buffet-breakfast. When you insist to have what you paid for they will tell you need to call them not the room service in order to get your meal in-room. You call them next morning and they will start to divert you from one personnel to the other before you finally reach the room service and order your meal which turns to be not tasty at all. You may try any of the nearby restaurants for a much more tasty one.
3- The Basket "full of fruits and chocolates" (as mentioned on the hotel website ) turns to be a small dish with one banana and 2 oranges.
4- You get a free internet connection that cannot be used to upload files.
Stick to the standard room...

Room Tip: I reserved the executive room, nonsense, stick to the standard room. Check the last paragraph in my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wassim n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Bei... D, General Manager at Dunes Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Mr. Wassim,

Greetings from Holiday Inn Beirut Dunes.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Beirut and for taking the time to write your review on trip advisor.

I am sorry that your experience at the Holiday Inn Beirut Dunes did not meet your expectations even though you appreciated the location of our hotel and the spirit of our team.
I would like you to know that I have well noted your additional comments regarding our services whether the in room breakfast or the house keeping issue and will be taking actions accordingly.
As your feedback is extremely important to us, I would be grateful if you could contact me at your convenience, by email at maha.bourachi@ihg.com to further discuss your concerns.

I certainly look forward to hearing from you and hope we can get the opportunity to gain your confidence back in the future for an enhanced experience.

Kind regards,
Maha Bourachi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The Hotel is well maintained, located in Verdun inside and near good shopping malls.
The restaurant/café Casper & Gambini located near the Hotel lobby has always beautiful peoples.
The service at the front desk is very professional and in line with all IHG standards.
Breakfast is also good with a wide variety of Lebanese food. Don't arrive too late because you might find some dishes empty.
We wanted to try the Japanese restaurant of the Hotel but he did not accept to give us a table because it was fully booked and we did not book a table 1 day prior to our arrival. We explained that we were hotel guests (a lot of table were empty but supposedly booked), he suggested that we stay at the bar (we had our 7 month old child with us). It was for a dinner during the week.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed there at the end of november in a business trip. It was a very good accomodation in such clean hotel with a very good location located inside the dunes mall. The hotel is very clean and very well furnished with a smiley and helpful staff. Hope to return in my next visit to Beirut.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank wdz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I stayed at the hotel for more than one week and every time i needed something there was someone who really listens and ready to help.From the moment you check in, it clicks. Friendly and generous staff, very clean, a double bed room that has got all what you need and more, delicious food as well friendly staff...you cannot really not notice how these people really care about you.
I totally recommend the hotel and surely will come back.

Room Tip: Check the room, if you dont like it, they will change it for you.amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cesar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamilBakhos, General Manager at Dunes Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Cesar M
Greeting from Holiday Inn Beirut-Dunes!
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share with us your comment about the hotel and staff and for recommending holiday Inn Beirut-Dunes on Trip Advisor.
We are very pleased to know that staying in our hotel was a great experience and that you enjoyed all our facilities!
We look forward to welcome you back with us in the near future.
Kind regards,
Jamil Bakhos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beirut hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Le Verdun
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Beirut
Crowne Plaza Hotel Beirut
#27 of 117 in Beirut
452 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Beirut Downtown
Ramada Beirut Downtown
#23 of 117 in Beirut
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Raouche Arjaan by Rotana
0.4 mi away
Dolphin Royal Suites
Dolphin Royal Suites
#57 of 117 in Beirut
6 reviews
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Beirut
Staybridge Suites Beirut
#14 of 117 in Beirut
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Hotel

Property: Dunes Hotel
Address: Verdun Street | Dunes Center, Beirut 13-5904, Lebanon
Region: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Beirut
#39 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Beirut city centre at the stylish Dunes hotel, next to the Dunes mall on fashionable Verdun Street. Situated on a lively avenue of shops and cafes, the sleek Dunes Hotel is 7 minutes by taxi from Beirut Airport. You'll receive a warm welcome from staff in the strikingly lit marble Lobby, where you can check into your spacious, air-conditioned Guest room and connect to high-speed Internet(WIFI). Conveniently close to embassies and major companies on dynamic Verdun Street, Dunes Hotel is just 2km from UNESCO and 5km from Biel exhibition centre. Back at the hotel, you can host seamless functions in our 5 naturally lit meeting rooms and catch up on emails in the 24-hour Business Centre. Dunes Hotel is just steps from Verdun Street's smart boutiques and restaurants. Relax with a stroll along the Corniche promenade, just 10 minutes' walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dunes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Beirut Dunes Hotel Beirut
Beirut Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing