We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Phoenicia Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (825)
Filter reviews
825 results
Traveller rating
568
196
43
8
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
568
196
43
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmosaic restauranteau de viegreat hoteloutdoor poollebanese sweetsthe club loungeluxurious hotelzaytouna baybreakfast buffetholiday innsea viewconstruction sitelebanese hospitalitymediterranean seacomfortable roomsfive star hotellate check
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
592 - 597 of 825 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The Phoenicia Hotel has seen it all: glamorous events, scary times, first line in the civil war strife, windows shattered as a result of the bombing assassination of a prime minister, multinational meetings, and a continuous unremittingly first class management of hotel operations. Occupancy numbers have varied according to circumstances from zero when Beirut became a war zone, to over 98% when calm prevailed. The hotel is home to two excellent restaurants: The Wok W.O.K. offers Asian food from Thailand, China, and Japan (including an excellent sushi bar), and Cafe Mondo featuring Italian specialties. But, the crown of it all is the Mosaic room and its Sunday brunch. There, the Phoenicia takes you around the world with its display of international salads, appetizers, and main course items which take up half of the space while the other half is reserved for traditional Lebanese cuisine. You will find Mloukhieh, Kebbe bil Laban, hummus, and tabbouleh stuffed grape leaves (meat or vegetarian). You certainly will experience the proverbial challenge between your eyes and your stomach especially when you view the mountain of desserts. My favourite Kneffeh Bil Jeben (melted cheese covered with shredded wheat and semolina), a variety of baklava, and the very modest countryside specialty, Debs Bil Tahini (carob molasses mixed with sesame butter). After you have indulged yourself, you may end up on the decorated terrace having cafe noir or blanc (made with orange blossom water). All of this is a perfect fit with the elegance of the culinary and hospitality show especially evident at the entrance where sharp looking parking valets (ant like, always on the move) take and bring back the latest model vehicles of your dreams.
One observation: despite all the petro money that has poured into the safes of the Phoenicia, it has never been influenced by the nouveau riche phenomenon of the Gulf states, but has maintained its Lebanese cachet mixed with international sophistication. Bravo Intercontinental Group!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gabykouchacji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

The Phoenicia Hotel (aka Intercontinental) was a fantastic hotel. The staff were amazing, so helpful, efficient and happy, nothing was a problem to organize or assist with. The staff at the spa were also amazing, the treatments were excellent and the staff were well qualified and really knew what they were doing. The buffet breakfast was outstanding. The delux room was outstanding. The upstairs bar was beautiful, although very quiet, almost tooo quiet hardly anyone there. This hotel I just could not fault in service or quality. These are things you would expect from a 5 star hotel but that is very not often the case unfortunately....but this hotel though, was worth every Lebanese lira.

Room Tip: Balcony room.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey010269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Dear Tracey010269,

Thank you so much for your recent stay at Phoenicia Hotel Beirut. Hope you had a great time in Beirut and enjoyed your stay.

It was a pleasure reading the observations you have shared and it is a pride for us to know that our employees are giving the best guest experience.

As well, we are glad to know that you enjoyed our Spa Phoenicia and the buffet breakfast at Mosaic the newly renovated restaurant that offers an ever changing variety of International and Oriental buffets. Hopefully, on your next visit you can try our Amethyste chill-out lounge next to the outdoor pool that is a different experience from Eau de Vie lounge you mentioned which has live entertainment on the weekends.

Once again, please let us express our gratitude and appreciation for your recommendation of Phoenicia Hotel Beirut and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Pros:
Location, Spacious rooms, view ( on sea-view rooms).
Lobby is very nice overlooking the swimming pool and the outside bar/restaurant. The swimming pool and area around it are also nice and perfectly located within the hotel.
Cons:
Some of the rooms, especially on the old tower ( hotel has two towers) has old or worn-out furniture; only when compared to newer rooms.
Staff: mixed of friendly and not so friendly.
Lobby: although nice overall, gets busy and loud at night. A lot of outside girls hanging out in lobby (could be an advantage or disadvantage depending on your mood and what your in Beirut for)
Overall: very nice, prefer to stay in four seasons or Intercon Vendome, right next to this one,

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bardeesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Dear Bardeesi,

Thank you for your recent stay at Phoenicia Hotel Beirut and for taking the time to post this review.

We appreciate you sharing your experiences in such detail with us, enabling us to do better and hopefully welcoming you back soon.
Please allow us to briefly respond to your feedback as follows in order to assure you that your comments are taken seriously and effort is being undertaken to have you staying with us soon again.
We are pleased to confirm that whilst the hotel’s three Presidential Suites will be completely renewed between Feb – May 2012, all other guestrooms have been undergoing a soft makeover and being equipped with coffee making facilities and wireless internet despite already being soft refurbished only five years ago.
It is a concern for us to learn that the encounters you have had with our employees were not always consistent in terms of friendliness. In order to improve, we have launched a “Phoenicia Culture” program that is being run in parallel to IHG’s Winning Ways to align our associates and deliver the best guest experience in Lebanon.
Dear Bardeesi, we do hope to welcome you back to Phoenicia Hotel Beirut very soon so that you can experience our great service and hospitality.

In case you have any further requests for clarification, please be assured that we would be more than glad to assist at any time.

Once again, please let us express our gratitude and appreciation for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Wonderful hotel. Facilities are top class. Restaurants were excellent with a wide choice, breakfast was particularly good. All the hotel staff were professional, helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Dear Edel T,

Thank you for your recent stay at Phoenicia Hotel Beirut. We appreciate you taking the time to post this review. We are pleased to announce that after your review we were promoted to a number one ranking between the Hotels in Beirut. Thank you so much!

It was a pleasure reading the highlights and we are glad that you enjoyed the facilities, service, restaurants and especially the Breakfast at Mosaic our newly renovated restaurant that offers an ever changing variety of International and Oriental buffets with daily live cooking stations.

Once again, thank you for your recommendation of Phoenicia Hotel Beirut, we highly appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

I visited Phoenicia Hotel last October. I stayed there for 3 days for a conference. When in Beirut, I realised one thing that I havent noticed in any other destination up to that day: Dollars do REALLY count... The hotel service and everything was about money and paying, there was no hospitality mentality, just service and getting what you had paid for. I have to admit that services were really high and professional though.

Before my departure, I went to the reception about an amount charged in my account (limo transfer from the airport that I didnt use) and the reception REFUSED my statement. I had to negotiate with them using tripadvisor as a tool, SO they finally told me ok...

But, the hotel as business service, it was the greatest I had ever been.
TIP: Philoxenia is a mindset, not a business model.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews