We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury down to the finest detail”
Review of Phoenicia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Phoenicia Hotel
Ranked #2 of 114 Hotels in Beirut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I was a guest at the Phoenicia intercontinental in Beirut for two nights in at the end of August while on tourist visit to Lebanon. I have to say that is one of the most luxurious hotels I have ever been to in my life. Here's how my experience went:

Hotel
The building is a massive U shaped hotel compound of three wings overlooking the wonderful Mediterranean sea front. It is extremely well maintained on the outside and ever better on the inside. The hotel dazzles at night when its entire facade lights up and radiates all across the waterfront.
Walking in the halls you will automatically notice the grandeur and the luxury in the finest details. While on the main entrance you are thrown to a huge mansion style staircase decorated with the finest marble. The front desk and the lobby area is simply majestic with all the fine finishing of wood, marble and ceramics.

Rooms
There is no doubt that Phoenicia’s rooms promote the values you would expect from an intercontinental hotel. 5 stars have its meaning in this hotel as it is just a wonderful coupling of modern furniture, with high end luxurious conservative finishing. The bed is large enough and situated at the middle ornate by curtain like tissue that dangles from the ceiling. All rooms are fully equipped with the necessity of relaxation and comfort. From high speed internet to wireless keyboard control of the entertainment system to the coffee makers with a large variety of hot beverages all is offered for your utmost convenience….a real recipe for laziness.

Service
There is no doubt that the service is equally luxurious. You are greeted from the main entrance by bell boys and doormen who greet you with a perfect smile, give you directions in the hotel and will jump at the opportunity to help you with any requirement of the surrounding area. It is well know that Lebanese are hospitable by nature, the service at the Phoenicia perfectly embodies that reputation.

Price
Well the Phoenicia is not your average stay so it will be costly enough to stay in that hotel. But judging by the quality of service and amenities offered i think it is quite explained.

Location
It is located at the heart of downtown Beirut, in the most perfect place to be at downtown is just a couple of minutes away and if the weather is good you can just walk across the old rustic, cultural streets of downtown Beirut. If you are a beach fan, just cross the street and head down to some of the nicest beach fun areas in town and party from dusk till dawn. Hamra street is just North with a huge variety of bars and restaurants, not to mention the proximity to Gemayze street with another large variety of early evening/late night bars and clubbing.

I highly recommend the Phoenicia

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SagaLEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Dear SagaLEB,

Thank you for choosing Phoenicia Hotel for your recent stay in Beirut. We appreciate you taking the time to post such detailed 5 star review and share your experience with so many thoughtful and encouraging comments.

It was a great pleasure reading your post and the excellent compliments you gave to the hotel and to each section detailed. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and found all the facilities and services to be up to the standards and expectations.

We always aim to satisfy our guests and it is a great pleasure to get direct feedback which we communicated to our colleagues and was very well received by the full team, who thoroughly and proudly read it.

We would have wished if you stayed a bit longer and got the chance to witness the fabulous events planned for Eau De Vie with the famous Wine Maker Dinners and the special Mexican promotions at Mosaic, but you can check the pictures on our Facebook page and hopefully you will visit back in the near future and live the Phoenicia experience to its fullest.

Once again, please let us express our gratitude and appreciation for your recommendation of Phoenicia Hotel Beirut and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

514 - 520 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012

My recent stay at the Phoenicia was thoroughly enjoyable. The staff were extremely helpful, Maria on the front desk/concierge in particular. The spa/gym was excellent, indeed probably one of the best hotel gyms I've used. The location of the Phoenicia is an added advantage, as all the major tourist sites etc were within walking distance. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Dear Sara M,

Thank you for choosing Phoenicia Hotel for your recent stay in Beirut and for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had an overall “delightful” experience.
It is nice to read your recommendation of the hotel and the highlights of our staff service in particular Maria from Front Desk.

It is true one of the advantages of Phoenicia Hotel is the location. We are lucky to be situated in the heart of the city and near the top attractions and touristic areas.

We are happy that you enjoyed your overall stay and your gym workouts. Since you are a fan of sports, maybe you will be interested to know that the Beirut marathon is happening this November if you might be inspired to join.

Thank you again for your honest review and for promoting Phoenicia Hotel, we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon among us.

Best Regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

very fancy hotel, pefrect finishing, big rooms with fancy furniture and bathrooms. The amazing rooms are especially those with a see view ... it is very close to Hamra, the down town & ashrafieh where all the pubs, clubs & restaurants are!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicky025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Dear Nicky025,

Thank you for choosing Phoenicia Hotel for your recent stay in Beirut, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and ranked us as one of the best.

It is nice to read your recommendation of the hotel and the highlights of our rooms and location. We are lucky to be situated in the hub of the city and near the best areas and top attractions.
Next time if you want more details and places to visit, please pass by our Concierge desk and they will be more than glad to assist you.

Thank you again for your honest review and for promoting Phoenicia Hotel, we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon among us.

Best Regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The phoenicia Hotel in Beirut is areal luxury hotel with huge conferencing facilities, extremely elegant lobby, rooms, retaurants. the main restaurant (Mosaic) in addition of being very spacious and luxurious offers one of the best food buffets you can imagine . the hotel offers also a very beautiful SPA, an outdoor pool, a very professional business center, a kids club. in one word : my daughter felt as Cinderella !!!

Room Tip: all hotel rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chawkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Dear Chawkat,

Thank you so much for your review, it was a pleasure reading your post and the excellent descriptions you gave to the hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had an overall “Luxury” experience especially with your daughter.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcome you and your family back soon.

As they say in the Cinderella movie … “A dream is a wish your heart makes"

Best Regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Nice hotel but if you go for the rack rate rooms you ll be disappointed (small and view on the construction site behind the hotel).
Unless you are filthy rich you won't get a lot of attention but the personal is quite helpful and always smiles.
Beautifull pool and pool bar in summer, nice top floor bar. Beautifull spa and massages options.
The italian restaurant is ok but you ll find far better in town the top floor restaurant is also disappointing although it s a nice spot and the food is correct, once again better dining options outside.Breakfast is also far bellow expected standards.
My last stay was disappointing as evenhough I always come to this hotel uness fully book for 7 years they don't seams to appreciate it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FRENCHBIZTRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Dear FRENCHBIZTRAVELER

Thank you for your recent stay at Phoenicia Hotel Beirut, we appreciate your feedback and review. It is an honor to have you staying with us every time you visit Lebanon.

We honestly believe that your unfortunate experience is an exception to the service we are accustomed to offering as the Phoenicia Beirut is committed to providing guests with the highest quality of services and facilities but we will surely look in to all the details.

We tried to get in touch with you but it wasn’t possible, so we would appreciate if you can contact us as we would like to hear what went wrong during your stay especially regarding the breakfast and Eau De Vie as we always get perfect reviews about them.

We are happy to see you enjoyed the pool and spa packages; hopefully you will come back again to Phoenicia so that you can see what we are best known for.

Again, let us express our gratitude and appreciation for your loyalty throughout 7 years and stay assured that your comments will not go unnoticed and corrective actions will be taken.

Thank you for choosing the Phoenicia Hotel Beirut. looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Best Regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

EXCELLENT *****
This was my first time staying in this Hotel, but not first visit to Beirut, I tried before other Hotels but this one was the best, actually you have all luxuries 5 star hotel for less money.

Room Tip: I was in the main Hotel Building facing the pool area and i could still see a bit of Sea view, it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janet b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Dear janet b,

Thank you so much for your review, it was a pleasure reading such an excellent post that describes in few words an outstanding experience.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Phoenicia Hotel and had a pleasant holiday.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I want to be fair to this hotel as it is luxury. There is no doubt that from top to bottom, this is a lovely hotel if you really like the old world luxury; this is your place. So on the many positives; the rooms are well appointed, great bathrooms, lovely Occitane toiletries, all the bits and pieces you need included for a wonderful stay. There was a tray of fruit left in my room my second night and a call left on my voicemail from the manager to check to see if my stay was going well. The staff are lovely. There is a 24 hour gym and a lovely pool open quite late. A spa, business facility and the breakfast is just about the best I had anywhere (but, you must note that if not included, it is $34). The hotel is expensive, so be mindful before signing multiple items. There is a hotel taxi service but it is about 2-3 times more than waiving down a taxi outside. If you take a taxi, solo, to most spots, it is 10,000 LBP. If a service, shared, it is 2000. You can negotiate without Arabic but be clear that you are not going to pay more than standard rate and, importantly, have exact change so that you are not hassled for more money or have to negotiate to get change back. Taxi drivers in Lebanon are not great so be careful. Some will be honest, but many more will take advantage. In terms of a hotel pick up, it was arranged for me to be picked up by the hotel and that was excellent. As soon as you exit beyond passport control, you walk out and straight in front of you are 3 hotel counters, of which Phoenicia is one and my name was clearly marked just above. Nice car and driver. So the reason for the 2* for sleep; 2 things. Firstly, this area of Beirut is party central just outside of the window and THE most popular spot for weddings which seem to happen every night. Now the wedding in the hotel is fine as they happen below and it is fine. But the ones outside near St George Bay are ridiculous. Add to this, the Fri/Sat clubbing and the noise is outrageous. So if you are facing the sea, be prepared NOT TO SLEEP. On the Saturday night, the music went off around 2:30 a.m. and on Sunday, just after 1 a.m. Please note that this is not the kind of noise you only hear if you are noise sensitive, this is disco in your room kind of noise that is ridiculous. Either the hotel cannot do anything about it or they have enough traffic that they don't care. I was offered a new room on the other side but it was too late for me to want to switch. But if you insist on staying here, decide if you want to deal with street noise and front of hotel noise (I am not sure what that is like) or the music....or stay elsewhere. A friend was staying at the Rotanda G and whilst not as posh, she slept so well! U decide....As for other things, you are very close to the Corniche (sea) and not too far from Hamra (great area) and the very awful Souq (they took these lovely buildings down and built the equivalent of a mall so if new European stores are your thing, this is the place). So location is good.

Room Tip: Read above, make clear you want to be in a QUIET room and not near where the all night music plays...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CavKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Dear CavKA,

Thank you for your recent stay at Phoenicia Hotel Beirut, we appreciate your feedback and review.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and found all the facilities and services to be up to the standards and expectations. We always aim to satisfy our guests and it is a great pleasure to get direct feedback which we communicated to our colleagues.

In regards to the price of the Taxi, please stay assured that your comments were noted and usually our prices differ because the taxis we use are safer, cleaner and with well serviced drivers. Nevertheless, we regularly do market comparisons to ensure our partners are in line with the market but we will surely pass on these comments to them.

On another note, we were concerned to hear about the inconvenience you have encountered during your stay with us regarding the outside noise, for which we would like to apologize. Please stay assured that your feedback has been communicated and solutions will be suggested. But as you mentioned the noise is from outside the hotel so it is not within our control. Nevertheless, we will make sure that during your next visit you stay in a room on the other side.

One again, thank you for choosing the Phoenicia Hotel Beirut and for your recommendation. We are hoping to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beirut hotels
0.7 mi away
Le Gray Beirut
Le Gray Beirut
#1 of 114 in Beirut
645 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Beirut
3.3 mi away
Hilton Beirut Habtoor Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
#5 of 114 in Beirut
935 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Martinez Hotel, Beirut
2.1 mi away
The Smallville Hotel
The Smallville Hotel
#8 of 114 in Beirut
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenicia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenicia Hotel

Address: PO Box 11, Minet El Hosn, Beirut 846, Lebanon
Phone Number:
Region: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
#2 Spa Hotel in Beirut
#3 Romantic Hotel in Beirut
#6 Business Hotel in Beirut
Price Range: £206 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Phoenicia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Mediterranean Sea with its majesty and grandeur, Phoenicia InterContinental stands proudly at the heart of Beirut, a few minutes from the city’s business and banking district, the major shopping areas and the vibrant downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Phoenicia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Beirut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing