We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best hotel in Lebanon”
Review of Phoenicia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Phoenicia Hotel
Ranked #3 of 117 Hotels in Beirut
Certificate of Excellence
Muscat, Oman
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Probably the best hotel in Lebanon”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

This is the grand old lady of hotels in Lebanon. It has great heritage, and oozes charm. One cannot but be impressed with its grandeur - the staircase, the ballroom, and the fact that so many famous people stayed there throughout the past 50 years.

We stayed in the Premium Front View rooms. The room size is satisfactory, and the decor is elegant. The king bed was comfortable, but the twin beds weren't as comfortable. Also, there were stains on the headboards. Balcony is nice, but faces the road so you'll be exposed to the pollution of noise that is typical of Beirut. On that note, while the room windows are double-glazed, road noise still seeps through. Bathrooms are well-appointed, with excellent toiletries. Overall, I believe it is time for a renovation, as the rooms were looking tired for a hotel of this calibre.

Restaurants in the Phoenicia are excellent. The breakfast, lunch, and dinner buffets are fantastic, and the lobby is a great place for a light meal. Mosaic restaurant has splendid views of the sea and marina. What we also loved is that the hotel strictly enforced the non-smoking law, which is a relief as smoking indoors is endemic in Lebanon.

The staff were excellent and impressed in every way. The spa and gym are fantastic, and while the pool is nice, it is rather small. Another gripe is the valet parking service, which is expensive and also applies for hotel guests.

All in all, this is a great hotel, and one should stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sybaritus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
o Dear Sybaritus,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and share your experience on TripAdvisor. it is always a great pleasure to read such comments specially when someone describes Phoenicia with such glamour and appreciation. You should know that Phoenicia has always been called “La Grande Dame” as reflection of its majestic presence throughout the years in the heart of Beirut.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and found all the facilities and services to be up to the standards and expectations. Please stay assured that your comments regarding the rooms and renovation were noted and will be communicated to the concerned parties, keeping in mind that the hotel has and continue to be renovated but in remote phases.


Thank you for promoting Mosaic and for encouraging our implementation for the non-smoking law and for giving praise to our employees. All of this will be communicated for sure with the entire team.

Once again, thank you for your honest review and for promoting Phoenicia Hotel and its location, we are looking forward to welcome you back soon among us.


Best Regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    177
    43
    7
    10
See reviews for
103
145
61
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

The intercontinental chain is probably the best business hotels I have stayed in. They are designed to really take care of the business traveller. The Phoencia is a great hotel, very comfortable rooms and beds plus great service. I did not managed to try any of the restaurants but I am told that they are very good. They had a asian restaurant called "Wok" which unfortunately the one time we wanted to try the restaurants was closed on the wednesday. The bar/restaurant at on the top floor first tower, Eau de Vie is very nice and nearly always quiet during then week. They have a free pool table if your interested and a great view of the harbour.

Room Tip: if you stay in the first tower near the entrance then you get a balcony. if you are in the second tower toward the back of the hotel as my colleague did, there are no balconies.

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear Nick N,

Thank you for your recent stay at Phoenicia Hotel Beirut and for posting such a lovely review.
It makes us proud to read that your stay was perfect and that you rated us number 1.

Please note that we have communicated your 5 star review with the team as a thank you for their consistent work to provide the highest level of service and standards.
Thank you again for your honest review and for promoting Phoenicia Hotel, we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon among us.

Hopefully next time you visit it will be for tourism so you will have more time to visit Beirut and to try out all our Food & beverage facilities.
One again, thank you for choosing the Phoenicia Hotel Beirut and for your recommendation.

Best Regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I was a guest at the Phoenicia intercontinental in Beirut for two nights in at the end of August while on tourist visit to Lebanon. I have to say that is one of the most luxurious hotels I have ever been to in my life. Here's how my experience went:

Hotel
The building is a massive U shaped hotel compound of three wings overlooking the wonderful Mediterranean sea front. It is extremely well maintained on the outside and ever better on the inside. The hotel dazzles at night when its entire facade lights up and radiates all across the waterfront.
Walking in the halls you will automatically notice the grandeur and the luxury in the finest details. While on the main entrance you are thrown to a huge mansion style staircase decorated with the finest marble. The front desk and the lobby area is simply majestic with all the fine finishing of wood, marble and ceramics.

Rooms
There is no doubt that Phoenicia’s rooms promote the values you would expect from an intercontinental hotel. 5 stars have its meaning in this hotel as it is just a wonderful coupling of modern furniture, with high end luxurious conservative finishing. The bed is large enough and situated at the middle ornate by curtain like tissue that dangles from the ceiling. All rooms are fully equipped with the necessity of relaxation and comfort. From high speed internet to wireless keyboard control of the entertainment system to the coffee makers with a large variety of hot beverages all is offered for your utmost convenience….a real recipe for laziness.

Service
There is no doubt that the service is equally luxurious. You are greeted from the main entrance by bell boys and doormen who greet you with a perfect smile, give you directions in the hotel and will jump at the opportunity to help you with any requirement of the surrounding area. It is well know that Lebanese are hospitable by nature, the service at the Phoenicia perfectly embodies that reputation.

Price
Well the Phoenicia is not your average stay so it will be costly enough to stay in that hotel. But judging by the quality of service and amenities offered i think it is quite explained.

Location
It is located at the heart of downtown Beirut, in the most perfect place to be at downtown is just a couple of minutes away and if the weather is good you can just walk across the old rustic, cultural streets of downtown Beirut. If you are a beach fan, just cross the street and head down to some of the nicest beach fun areas in town and party from dusk till dawn. Hamra street is just North with a huge variety of bars and restaurants, not to mention the proximity to Gemayze street with another large variety of early evening/late night bars and clubbing.

I highly recommend the Phoenicia

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SagaLEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear SagaLEB,

Thank you for choosing Phoenicia Hotel for your recent stay in Beirut. We appreciate you taking the time to post such detailed 5 star review and share your experience with so many thoughtful and encouraging comments.

It was a great pleasure reading your post and the excellent compliments you gave to the hotel and to each section detailed. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and found all the facilities and services to be up to the standards and expectations.

We always aim to satisfy our guests and it is a great pleasure to get direct feedback which we communicated to our colleagues and was very well received by the full team, who thoroughly and proudly read it.

We would have wished if you stayed a bit longer and got the chance to witness the fabulous events planned for Eau De Vie with the famous Wine Maker Dinners and the special Mexican promotions at Mosaic, but you can check the pictures on our Facebook page and hopefully you will visit back in the near future and live the Phoenicia experience to its fullest.

Once again, please let us express our gratitude and appreciation for your recommendation of Phoenicia Hotel Beirut and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2012

My recent stay at the Phoenicia was thoroughly enjoyable. The staff were extremely helpful, Maria on the front desk/concierge in particular. The spa/gym was excellent, indeed probably one of the best hotel gyms I've used. The location of the Phoenicia is an added advantage, as all the major tourist sites etc were within walking distance. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear Sara M,

Thank you for choosing Phoenicia Hotel for your recent stay in Beirut and for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had an overall “delightful” experience.
It is nice to read your recommendation of the hotel and the highlights of our staff service in particular Maria from Front Desk.

It is true one of the advantages of Phoenicia Hotel is the location. We are lucky to be situated in the heart of the city and near the top attractions and touristic areas.

We are happy that you enjoyed your overall stay and your gym workouts. Since you are a fan of sports, maybe you will be interested to know that the Beirut marathon is happening this November if you might be inspired to join.

Thank you again for your honest review and for promoting Phoenicia Hotel, we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon among us.

Best Regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

very fancy hotel, pefrect finishing, big rooms with fancy furniture and bathrooms. The amazing rooms are especially those with a see view ... it is very close to Hamra, the down town & ashrafieh where all the pubs, clubs & restaurants are!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicky025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear Nicky025,

Thank you for choosing Phoenicia Hotel for your recent stay in Beirut, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and ranked us as one of the best.

It is nice to read your recommendation of the hotel and the highlights of our rooms and location. We are lucky to be situated in the hub of the city and near the best areas and top attractions.
Next time if you want more details and places to visit, please pass by our Concierge desk and they will be more than glad to assist you.

Thank you again for your honest review and for promoting Phoenicia Hotel, we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon among us.

Best Regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tripoli, Lebanon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The phoenicia Hotel in Beirut is areal luxury hotel with huge conferencing facilities, extremely elegant lobby, rooms, retaurants. the main restaurant (Mosaic) in addition of being very spacious and luxurious offers one of the best food buffets you can imagine . the hotel offers also a very beautiful SPA, an outdoor pool, a very professional business center, a kids club. in one word : my daughter felt as Cinderella !!!

Room Tip: all hotel rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chawkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear Chawkat,

Thank you so much for your review, it was a pleasure reading your post and the excellent descriptions you gave to the hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had an overall “Luxury” experience especially with your daughter.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcome you and your family back soon.

As they say in the Cinderella movie … “A dream is a wish your heart makes"

Best Regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUBAI
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Nice hotel but if you go for the rack rate rooms you ll be disappointed (small and view on the construction site behind the hotel).
Unless you are filthy rich you won't get a lot of attention but the personal is quite helpful and always smiles.
Beautifull pool and pool bar in summer, nice top floor bar. Beautifull spa and massages options.
The italian restaurant is ok but you ll find far better in town the top floor restaurant is also disappointing although it s a nice spot and the food is correct, once again better dining options outside.Breakfast is also far bellow expected standards.
My last stay was disappointing as evenhough I always come to this hotel uness fully book for 7 years they don't seams to appreciate it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FRENCHBIZTRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear FRENCHBIZTRAVELER

Thank you for your recent stay at Phoenicia Hotel Beirut, we appreciate your feedback and review. It is an honor to have you staying with us every time you visit Lebanon.

We honestly believe that your unfortunate experience is an exception to the service we are accustomed to offering as the Phoenicia Beirut is committed to providing guests with the highest quality of services and facilities but we will surely look in to all the details.

We tried to get in touch with you but it wasn’t possible, so we would appreciate if you can contact us as we would like to hear what went wrong during your stay especially regarding the breakfast and Eau De Vie as we always get perfect reviews about them.

We are happy to see you enjoyed the pool and spa packages; hopefully you will come back again to Phoenicia so that you can see what we are best known for.

Again, let us express our gratitude and appreciation for your loyalty throughout 7 years and stay assured that your comments will not go unnoticed and corrective actions will be taken.

Thank you for choosing the Phoenicia Hotel Beirut. looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Best Regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beirut hotels
0.7 mi away
Le Gray Beirut
Le Gray Beirut
#1 of 117 in Beirut
591 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Beirut
3.2 mi away
Hilton Beirut Habtoor Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
#9 of 117 in Beirut
776 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Martinez Hotel, Beirut
0.9 mi away
Le Bristol Beyrouth
Le Bristol Beyrouth
#4 of 117 in Beirut
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenicia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenicia Hotel

Property: Phoenicia Hotel
Address: PO Box 11, Minet El Hosn, Beirut 846, Lebanon
Phone Number:
Region: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
#3 Romantic Hotel in Beirut
#3 Spa Hotel in Beirut
#4 Family Hotel in Beirut
#6 Business Hotel in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Phoenicia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Mediterranean Sea with its majesty and grandeur, Phoenicia InterContinental stands proudly at the heart of Beirut, a few minutes from the city’s business and banking district, the major shopping areas and the vibrant downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Phoenicia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Beirut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing