We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, wonderful pool, good location”
Review of Phoenicia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Phoenicia Hotel
Ranked #3 of 117 Hotels in Beirut
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great room, wonderful pool, good location”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights in April for a friend's wedding and the hotel was quite good. The room was somewhat 'standard' but the bathroom was very nice. We also used the spa, which was reasonably priced and had good facilities.

We had a view of the outdoor pool (which is gorgeous) and the Sea... which was the view you want.

The breakfast, which was included, is probably the BEST hotel breakfast I have EVER had (and I've done quite a bit of traveling) with LOTS of selection, tremendous quality, and great service. If I was staying in Beirut again, I would return just for the breakfast buffet.

We also liked the hotels proximity to the rebuilt downtown, the "Souk" mall and the Zaitunah Bay. All were very close, and a nice stroll.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a Sea View. Breakfast is included - you should definitely try to make it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george_adamidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamara S, Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear george_adamidis,

Thank you for your recent stay at Phoenicia Beirut; we greatly appreciate your feedback and lovely review.

We are delighted to know that you & your wife enjoyed your stay at our hotel and found most of the facilities and services up to your expectations especially the Mosaic breakfast.

As you mentioned, we are lucky to be situated in the hub of the city and near Zaitunay Bay. We truly believe such additions to the surrounding will benefit Beirut and the tourism.

Once again, we thank you for choosing the Phoenicia Hotel Beirut and we hope to welcome you back soon.


Best Regards,
Tamara Salha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    173
    42
    7
    10
See reviews for
98
141
60
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

The hotel location is simply amazing, very central and close to each and every needed destination, a walk to down town and a 15 min taxi ride to the cities hot spots and night life

Rooms are spacious, but you should ask for a high floor, as a lot of construction is going on close to the hotel. The rooms are very clean and well furnished too

The overall service is very good and pleasant. Always greeting you with a smile and doing their best to get you what ever you want

One of the best experiences is the breakfast, its a must try

Room Tip: get a high floor with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nouresm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamara S, Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Nouresm,

Thank you for staying with us at Phoenicia Beirut and for taking the time to share your feedback.
It was a great pleasure to read your overall positive post and your highlight of our Central Location; indeed, we are walking distance from most attractions and hot spots.
We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and in particular our facilities and services especially Breakfast at Mosaic.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you again for promoting Phoenicia Beirut.

Best Regards,
Tamara Salha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I was looking forward to my stay here, this being one of the Grande Dames of Beirut's hotel scene. I had booked an advance payment rate, and emailed a request for transport from the airport to the hotel. Sure enough, the hotel's stand at the arrivals hall had someone waiting to take our luggage to the minivan I ordered. Cost $30 charged to the room, although I believe there is a hotel shuttle but as this was the early hours of the morning that would not have been running I guess.

On arrival the service from the porters was great. At the front desk, I was told they would preauthorise US$4000 for the two rooms and incidentals; I said that I had booked a prepaid rate and I thought it would have already been charged, but apparently it hadn't been. I don't need to have discussions about this at 4AM after a long flight!

I had booked 2 rooms with a front view: as it turned out, only 1 had a front view and the other overlooked the pool. When I queried this the next day, I was told that both rooms had been upgraded to the Phoenica Tower rather than some other part of the hotel because of having a shiny card with Intercontinental Hotels, and that there had only been one front view room available. They offered to see if there was another front view now available but as we had unpacked it didn't seem worth the bother. Actually, the front view was a mixed blessing; yes it had a view over the marina and Zaytouna Bay BUT the double glazing was completely inadequate for the noise of the roads outside; Beirut traffic is terrible plus it is compulsory to sound your horn all the time or ride a Harley! I used earplus every night even though I was on the 9th floor and some way from the road.

The physical condition of the hotel is fine; solid old fashioned hotel and everything seemed to work. Good free wifi throughout. The indoor and outdoor pools were well maintained with lifeguards provided. Very good gym and spa facilities.

I have to say that the service was a bit of a let down: there was always someone to take food and drinks orders but that did not mean that the orders actually arrived reasonably quickly or as ordered. The service at the pool seemed especially disorganised even though there seemed to be adequate staff numbers. I think more evident leadership and management would have helped there. Again at breakfast there were lots of staff but I did not think that the service went much beyond getting you to sign a receipt for breakfast (US$39) even if you were on a bed and breakfast rate. The spread at breakfast was very good though but you had to ask for more than one small cup of coffee! Little evidence of anticipating customers' needs. However, breakfast was delivered to the room with a minimum of fuss and seemed to be at no extra charge so I might do that in the future instead.

The rooms themselves were fairly spacious and my king size bed was very comfortable indeed. The room cleaning and turndown service was very efficient.

Checkout was efficent, and this time the minivan to the airport was US$40 instead.

Overall I would say that the building itself is worth a 5 star rating but the service was not more than a good 4 star would rate. It is a very good location however, in a short walking distance of the old and new downtown area and the corniche. Traffic noise is terrible though so next time I might think about somewhere a bit quieter, with maybe more of an emphasis on service. Although it could have been much worse, looking a the bombed-out former Holiday Inn looming over next door!

Room Tip: Pool view will be quieter. Front view has a LOT of traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hardpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamara S, Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear hardpack,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and share your experience on TripAdvisor. It is always a great pleasure to read such detailed feedback with pros and cons.
We were concerned to read about the inconveniences you have encountered during your last stay with us, for which we would like to apologize.
We strive to make our guests experience one of the best, so please stay assured that your feedback has been communicated and corrective measures have been taken to avoid future repeats. We honestly believe that your unfortunate experience is an exception to the service we are accustomed to offering as the Phoenicia Beirut is committed to providing its guests with the highest quality of standards.

Once again, thank you for your honest review of Phoenicia Hotel, we are looking forward to welcome you back soon among us.
Best Regards,
Tamara Salha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I stayed at Phoenica for 3 nights in May 2013 and I had a great time. The hotel is definitely located in the middle of Beirut and in front of the sea. All around they are developing some luxury high-rise condos (designed by top international architects) which will be completed in a couple of years and Phoenicia will be the centerpiece of the new Beirut.
I suggest to book a seaview-room in the hotel tower, which is exceptional and is a very large and comfortable room. Outdoor pool area is really beautiful both in the day and at night. Best part of the hotel is the spa, with heated pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, large gym which overlooks the outdoor pool. Service is also top quality.
Breakfast is an experience too, there is a huge variety of food with several different counters with hot and cold stuff. The only thing I would upgrade is the quality of the croissants. I am not sure if there is no other solution in Lebanon but the ones at Phoenicia are not really up to hotel level since they are not crispy and fresh. Maybe Phoenicia F&B manager could improve this and look for a different pasty chef of pastry shop to get croissants from.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles-Noble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamara S, Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Charles-Noble,

Thank you for choosing Phoenicia Hotel for your recent three nights stay at Beirut and for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

It is always a great pleasure to read such detailed feedback and share it with the Phoenicia team. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and found all the facilities and services to be up to the standards and expectations.

We are happy to see you enjoyed the buffet, Spa, pool and services; hopefully you will come back again to Phoenicia Beirut so that you can experience how the surrounding area developed even more.

Please stay assured that your comments regarding the croissants were noted and will be communicated to the F&B manager.

Once again, thank you for your honest review and for promoting Phoenicia Hotel, we are looking forward to welcome you back soon among us.

Best Regards,
Tamara Salha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

The hotel location is excellent overlooking Saint Gorge bay which has lots of fine restaurants and cafes. Beirut Souk is only 10 minutes walk with many up scale dining options. The service was impeccable, the rooms exceptional and the staff members very friendly and helpful. They always greet guests with a smile. Breakfast is an 'experience' that is not to be missed. Despite my short stay (one night only, as I was travelling on business) it will be a memorable one at one of Beirut's finest hotels!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Greek_Maestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamara S, Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear The_Greek_Maestro,

Thank you for choosing Phoenicia Hotel for your recent stay at Beirut. We really appreciate you taking the time to post such a lovely review and highlight us as a memorable stay.
We are happy you enjoyed our facilities, service and especially the Mosaic breakfast which you referred to as an “experience”.
Thank you again for posting your feedback and promoting Phoenicia Hotel. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon and hopefully this time for a longer stay.

Best Regards,
Tamara Salha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Very well greeted by MR Roy and well looked after ... He upgraded me to a nicer room with almost sea view as you don't want to be overlooking city view as it faces a demolished building and not yet under renovation ...
Nice gym , pool was ok though a bit small to accommodate all the beach beds and sun only reaches one side of the pool .
Nice breakfast and restaurant on 11th floor . Great location next to the beach promenade and harbor boardwalk with plenty of restaurant .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamara S, Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Herve D,

Thank you for choosing Phoenicia Hotel for your recent stay at Beirut.

We really appreciate you taking the time to post such a lovely review and stay assured that we shared it with the team and in particular Roy.

We are happy you enjoyed our facilities, service and especially the Mosaic breakfast & Eau De Vie 11th floor. As you mentioned, we are lucky to be situated near the Zaitunay Bay and we hope you got the chance to visit most of the surrounding attractions.

Thank you again for posting your feedback and promoting Phoenicia Hotel.
Hopefully you will be visiting us back soon.

Best Regards,
Tamara Salha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

the hotel location is excellent overlooking Saint Gorge bay which has lots of fine restaurants and cafes and the trendy Beirut Souk is only 10 minutes walk with many up scale dining options.
the check-in was fast and the staff are welcoming, and we selected the sea view deluxe room number 1018 ( recommended as the back view overlooking construction site) with an excellent view of the bay and the hotel pool. the room was specious and elegant with all amenities that you would expect from Intercontinental hotels. with complementary fruit basket and assorted Lebanese sweets, and 3 small bottles of water and tea/coffee with daily supply. the hotel is very well kept. although I did not use the pool nor the SPA, it looked tempting. the breakfast is excellent in terms of the quality and variety, the buffet lunch was also excellent, we also had a la cart lunch at the cafe mondo and it was excellent as well. the service was also very good and the wireless internet connection was very fast and free of charge. we will defiantly go back again.

Room Tip: pay extra dollars and get a sea view room, the back view is overlooking a construction site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hatemzaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamara S, Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Hatemzaki,

Wow! Thank you for staying with us at Phoenicia Beirut and for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. It was a great pleasure to read and share your review with the Phoenicia team.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I would like to thank you for such a descriptive post. We are so glad you enjoyed our facilities and services especially the room and Caffe Mondo.

Thank you again and we look forward to having you back in Phoenicia, your home in Beirut, for your future visits.

Best Regards,
Tamara Salha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beirut hotels
0.7 mi away
Le Gray Beirut
Le Gray Beirut
#2 of 117 in Beirut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Beirut
3.3 mi away
Hilton Beirut Habtoor Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Martinez Hotel, Beirut
1.6 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
#8 of 117 in Beirut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Bristol Hotel
Le Bristol Hotel
#5 of 117 in Beirut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenicia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenicia Hotel

Property: Phoenicia Hotel
Address: PO Box 11, Minet El Hosn, Beirut 846, Lebanon
Phone Number:
Region: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Beirut
#3 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
#3 Spa Hotel in Beirut
#4 Family Hotel in Beirut
#6 Business Hotel in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Phoenicia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Mediterranean Sea with its majesty and grandeur, Phoenicia InterContinental stands proudly at the heart of Beirut, a few minutes from the city’s business and banking district, the major shopping areas and the vibrant downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, IHG, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phoenicia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Beirut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing