We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business only”
Review of Phoenicia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Phoenicia Hotel
Ranked #2 of 113 Hotels in Beirut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I had a business meeting in the Phoenicia and that was my first experience with the hotel. And I must admit, I really enjoyed the reception and the ground floor staff was professional.
I didn't sleep in the hotel but was invited for a breakfast/lunch meeting.
And the breakfast was nice. A surprise.
Most important.... Good coffee.
The taste of the hotel interior was not mine but this you see often in the Middle East. A little too old fashion for me. But clean and straight all the way.
If I had to have business relatives over night when visiting Beirut, the Phoenicia would be a perfect choice. Although a little overpriced...

Room Tip: American Coffee is one of the better coffee's I had in Beirut
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The-M0M0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamara S, Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all let us thank you for coming to Phoenicia Beirut for your business meeting, and thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor.

It is with great pleasure that we read about your experience and how you described the service and facilities. We appreciate your input on the décor and interior, stay assured that we shared your feedback with the Phoenicia team.

Once again, thank you for sharing your memorable experience and for promoting Phoenicia Beirut.

We look forward to having you back soon to try staying at the hotel and living the full Phoenicia Experience.

Best Regards,
Tamara Salha
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (803)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

433 - 439 of 803 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Let's begin with the positives:
- Housekeeping's service was wonderful!
- The views from the balcony of the sea were pretty spectacular.
- The pool was really nice (just don't try to get service out there)
- Lobby is lovely

The not so positives:
The rooms were very similar to any old Hilton you might find in the States. Note: this may be one of the nicer hotels in Beirut, but isn't a great hotel.

The wifi is BRUTAL! Rarely could we even access websites, let alone work.

Service when attempting to get coffee in the morning on the deck was horrific. We waited as long as 50 minutes and as short as 20. Really, there were only a handful of others there, so I don't get it.

Service continued to be an issue everywhere we went. We made the mistake of going to the bar - $35USD for a glass of wine; $40 for a cocktail (no joke) and we had to literally beg for service on top of it. Bartender didn't know how to make a martini, didn't know where to find the types of brands. We felt so trapped as there wasn't much around there. Prices were sky high. I was fairly certain it was because we were American and were charged absurd prices. I would rarely make such an assertion. If you order outside on the patio, beware as the glassware is even smaller (plastic) and prices even higher. Service continued to be the biggest issue. Even when we complained (hey - we were there for FIVE days!) we were never give more attention, etc…The staff really weren't trained or interested in their positions.

Final point: Taxis are ubiquitous in Beirut, but from the Phoenicia you have to take one everywhere as there isn't much in the area. No pedestrian traffic, very sterile area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MK1Chicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamara S, Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear MK1Chicago_IL,

Thank you for choosing Phoenicia Beirut for your stay and for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns on TripAdvisor.

We have well received your comments concerning our hotel and we appreciate you taking the time to share your detailed feedback.

We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing.

First of all, we are glad that you enjoyed all in all our housekeeping service, pool and lobby. As for the inconvenience you have encountered with our service, please accept our sincerest apology. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

As for your opinion about our prices, it is extremely important to us and to our service which will surely be taken into consideration. As for the surrounding area, we are in the center of the city and near us Zaitunay Bay which was an added value to Beirut and to our Hotel in particular adding to the already available diverse restaurant options within our premises.

Once again, we appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. For that reason, we assure you that this will be looked into and actions will be taken accordingly.

Thank you for choosing the Phoenicia Hotel Beirut and for your feedback, we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit and you get to experience what we are best known for.

Best Regards,
Tamara Salha
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Phoenicia has been around for several decades yet it has not lost its majestic interior and beautiful terrace overseeing the nearby pier and Zaytouna bay. I stayed in one of the hotel super king rooms. It is so spacious like i have never seen. Sitting in the hotel terrace located on the ground level is so beautiful especially if the weather is good. The service is nice but not that great unfortunately. I believe that at the end political turmoil and security concerns leave their effect on people.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imad_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamara S, Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Imad_13,

We thank you so much for choosing Phoenicia Hotel Beirut for your stay, and for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.
It is with great pleasure that we read about your experience and how you described it as a “Great Hotel”.

We are very delighted to hear that you spent a great time at Phoenicia and that you found our services and facilities were up to your expectations and especially the terrace. We always strive to make every guest feel at home when they come to Phoenicia and experience Beirut to the fullest, we are glad you felt the same.

Hopefully you will come back to Phoenicia for your next visit and thank you again for your recommendation.

Best Regards,

Tamara Salha
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed for two nights as a couple (with friends in other rooms).This hotel is wonderful. One of the Best in Beirut. Nice spacious rooms, very well decorated, luxurious amenities, complementary water,fruits and desserts, coffee and tea-making set. Helpful and respectful staff. Several dining choices within the hotel.
The hotel is very clean except for the phone machine in my room, for some reason it was sticky and dusty.
Like most reviewers here, I was so impressed with the breakfast buffet. Huge variety, so delicious (although it does not exactly reflect the original local taste when it comes to Lebanese food). The same applies to the dinner buffet in the same restaurant, huge variety, so delicious.
Now the bad news. Do never ever ask the concierge for a taxi. They will charge you up to 7 times the original charge. Literally, the taxi that took us from the hotel to a nearby restaurant charged us 28 USD, we took a taxi back from the same restaurant to the hotel and it charged us 4 USD. What a shame Phoenicia Intercontinental. A guest usually stays at a respectful hotel chain in order to feel secure and to be away from tourist traps. It turns out that the hotel itself put us in such a trap. Otherwise I would give the hotel at least 4 stars if not 5.
One last thing I just remembered. Loud music during the whole night. If you are used to sleep with the TV turned on, then no problem but if you are looking for total calmness, this is not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wassim n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamara S, Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear wassim n,

We thank you so much for choosing Phoenicia Hotel Beirut for your 2 nights stay, and for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. It is with great pleasure that we read about your experience and how you described it as one of the “Best in Beirut”.

We are very delighted to hear that you spent a great time at Phoenicia and that overall everything was up to your expectations and especially the breakfast. We always aim to satisfy our guests and it is a great pleasure to get direct feedback which we communicated to our colleagues.

In regards to the price of the Taxi, please stay assured that your comments were noted and usually our prices differ because the taxis we use are safer, cleaner and with well serviced drivers. Nevertheless, we regularly do market comparisons to ensure our partners are in line with the market but we will surely pass on these comments to them.

On another note, we were concerned to hear about the inconvenience you have encountered during your stay with us regarding the outside noise, for which we would like to apologize. Please stay assured that your feedback has been communicated and solutions will be suggested. But kindly note that the noise might have been from a wedding party. Nevertheless, we will make sure that during your next visit you stay in a room on the other side.

One again, thank you for choosing the Phoenicia Hotel Beirut and for your recommendation. We are hoping to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Tamara Salha
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I stayed here one week for business. The hotel is beautiful. Rooms very spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff is great, they will do anything possible to assure the comfort of guests. Great food in the Executive Lounge and at breakfast. The hotel is located in very convenient walking distance to shopping. Great security in the hotel. If you are there for business, there is a great meeting room near the Exec Lounge if you need to have a meeting. I travel throughout the world for business and wish ALL the hotels I stayed in were this great!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WheelzUpGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamara S, Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you so much for choosing Phoenicia Hotel Beirut for your week stay, and for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. It is with great pleasure that we read about your experience and how you described it as “Fabulous in every way”.

We are very delighted to hear that you spent a great time during your week at Phoenicia and that you found our staff welcoming and that the services and facilities were up to your expectations and especially the breakfast. We always strive to make every guest feel at home when they come to Phoenicia and experience Beirut to the fullest, we are glad you felt the same.

Hopefully you will come back to Phoenicia for your next visit and thank you again for your recommendation.

Best Regards,

Tamara Salha
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I Got a high floor sea view ... stayed there in December
the view was amazing ... the room is big, tidy and clean , the bathroom was perfectly clean and good smelling
the stuff is very friendly, helpful and welcoming
breakfast was delicious ... many choices and perfect

the only thing that bothers me was the internet ... speed was slow and signals was always weak ... I complained about it to the reception and I've been told it is under maintenance .... hopefully it is fixed by now !!

Room Tip: Choose a higher sea view Room .. and you will be really satisfied and pleased
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_Kewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamara S, Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear M_Kewan,

Thank you for choosing Phoenicia Beirut for your stay during December and we greatly appreciate your feedback and review.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and found our facilities and services up to your expectations and enjoyed your sea view room and breakfast at Mosaic.

We apologize for the internet issue you encountered, it is true we were doing some maintenance but stay assured that it was taken care of and now the internet connection is fast and working perfectly.

One again, we thank you for choosing the Phoenicia Beirut and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Tamara Salha
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I was there last christmas. Really I liked this hotel. Location was very good. Food was tasty and wifi was very fast.
They have friendly staff who dealed with me like a queen. Really I felt my self as a vip person.
I'd like to thank all of them from Front office to House keeping ...

greetings...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duniai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamara S, Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Duniai,

Wow, what an amazing straight forward review that says it all!

First of all, thank you for staying with us at Phoenicia Beirut during Christmas and for taking the time even after a while to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are very delighted to hear that you spent a great time at Phoenicia and felt like a queen since at Phoenicia every guest is a VIP to us.

We surely shared your review with the Phoenicia team as such words brings us pride and satisfaction.


Again, thank you for your review and commitment to promoting Phoenicia Hotel. Hopefully you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Tamara Salha
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beirut hotels
0.7 mi away
Le Gray Beirut
Le Gray Beirut
#1 of 113 in Beirut
674 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Beirut
3.2 mi away
Hilton Beirut Habtoor Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
#5 of 113 in Beirut
957 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Martinez Hotel, Beirut
1 mi away
O Monot Luxury Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenicia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenicia Hotel

Address: PO Box 11, Minet El Hosn, Beirut 846, Lebanon
Phone Number:
Region: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
#2 Spa Hotel in Beirut
#3 Romantic Hotel in Beirut
#6 Business Hotel in Beirut
Price Range: £190 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Phoenicia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Mediterranean Sea with its majesty and grandeur, Phoenicia InterContinental stands proudly at the heart of Beirut, a few minutes from the city’s business and banking district, the major shopping areas and the vibrant downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Phoenicia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Beirut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing